We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Reviewed 19 May 2010

this hotel and staff are absolutely top class, staff so helpful and friendly and the hotel is just spotlessly clean with all the facilities you need it was just the best for a family of five going to legoland and return to the pool, sauna and restaurant after a long day of entertainment and walking just the remedy for relaxation and great nights sleep ready for next day. we all just loved it and definately will be back

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

I just finished up a 10 day stay here at the Holiday Inn Maidenhead for business, so I was able to get a good grasp on the hotel's ability to meet the needs of guests. Unfortunately they don't pass with flying colors.

To start, location is about 3/4-1 mile walk from train station & downtown Maidenhead, which isn't too bad - but is certainly not convenient for a quick meal away from the hotel. The outside of the hotel leaves alot to be desired as well. The first room I was given upon my check in was on the ground floor and was absolutely tiny. In fact, this was the smallest hotel room I've actually ever been in (including the small rooms you will find in cities like London & New York). To be honest, even my cabins on cruise ships have been larger. There was a double bed, and barely enough room to walk around the sides, and even the desk chair in front of the bed could not be pulled all the way out, without hitting the foot of the bed. Finally on day 3 I decided to try for a bigger rom and the front desk was able to accomodate by giving me a slightly larger "corner room". Within the rooms the TVs are small (17") boxes with only 10 channels. They charge something like 70 pounds to use the in-room internet for a week, which is highway robbery. Furthermore, as previous posters mentioned, it uses the dreaded ibahn system with the tiny ethernet cable, which means you are handcuffed to the desk with your laptop in order to get a connection. As far as the staff goes, I appreciate the fact that they moved me to a larger room, but it's unfortunate they didn't have the foresight to give me a large room in the first place given that I am a priority club member and was there for a 10 day stay. Furthermore, they gave me this corner room after whispering amonst themselves that they would not give me an "executive room" because you have 30 pounds more per day for those rooms because of slippers and robes. Can you imagine paying an additional 30 pounds a day for slippers and a robe? My final poor experience with the front desk came when I asked them to mail a postcard for me and just asked the cost so I could pay. They responded to me by saying that they would have to wait until later in the day "when the office opened" to tell me how much. In all my business travels I have never encountered so much resistance to such a simple task!

In summary, I'll be looking at the Fredrick's spa right next door for my next trip. Even though I love the hotel points, I don't at the expense of poor hospitality. Rather than ending this on a bad note, I will say that the in-house restaurant and lounge does have a decent menu and food, and the pool/gym is above average as well. Other than those 2 features, every other aspect of the stay was quite poor.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The hotel has been refurbished but it not 100 per cent suitable for disabled, a point I always check.Only some places are and the leisure centre is not. I had trouble with keycards not working and it would have been nice if radio was accessible via the T.V. Meals are buffet style which might cause a problem for disabled groups though the staff offered to help anyone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The hotel was full so check in and check out was slow and took about forever.

Otherwise, the hotel and room was fine, although the room was quite cold (but that is usual for British hotel rooms). The room overlooked the swimming pool and was very quiet.

We ate at the restaurant which was okay but nothing special.

The bar is a bit impersonal and too open but the service was good.

Breakfast was fine with a good choise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

It seems Holiday Inn have spent a fair amount of money on refurbishing thier hotels. The Holiday Inn in Maidenhead is no exeception, the reception, bar and lounge areas were very modern. Likewise the leisure facilities were clean and well run. The good points were the attitude of the all of the staff - very friendly/helpful and the facilities for the children - free all you can eat buffet in the evenings and complimentary juice, milk and cookies in the bar area. The only negative point was that the bedding looked old. The room itself had a new bathroom and carpets but a re-decoration was in order. The hotel seems to cater well for the Legoland trade and therefore there were many families staying (was the school holidays when we stayed after all!). With a new hotel due in Legoland in 2012, the hotel may have some of its trade under threat but all in all we would return with the family if visiting Legoland again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keen_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I have just returned from a three day trip to Legoland with 5 Adults and 5 Children. We booked into the Holiday Inn as part of a package which included two day tickets to legoland!! Well I was truly amazed by hotel. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. On arriving there was colouring pencils and pads for the children to play with while we sorted the check in and milk and cookes on our return every evening from the park. The swimming pool was also very nice at the end of a tiring day - The children loved it!!! The restaurant in the hotel was excellent! We ate there every night as children ate free and while I am usually worried by childrens menus, they catered for every taste bud! Pasta, Fish, Ham, Chicken, Potatoes, Vegetables and of course CHIPS!! The staff couldn't do enough for us and they are sooooooo child friendly its fantastic!!!!! I would definately use the Holiday Inn group again and again! Thanks for a wonderful LEGOLAND experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aineos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Double room met the needs of overnight stay, but very cramped.
Shocked to find hotel had charged twice for the accommodation!
Response of hotel did not reflect the professional standards experienced at other Holiday Inns UK.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FayeEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#9 of 11 in Maidenhead
725 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
7.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range: £55 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing