We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very professional”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I ran a conference here so do not have experience of the rooms but the conference room, the snacks provided and the service which was all excellent. Staff could not have been more attentive or responsive

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear SueSpencerKnight,

Thank you for your very kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I hope to see you back again soon.

Thank you for your very warm praise regarding The Team here at Fredrick's.

Regards,

Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    172
    80
    56
    34
See reviews for
88
278
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I didn't expect much during my short stay at Frederick's. Unfortunately, the service fell well below even my expectations.

While making reservations, the hotel had informed that they would charge a half day for the 3 pm checkout which was desired, but while checking in, they informed that they would charge the full day.

I arrived at the hotel after a long flight, and asked the front desk if they had room service. However, after I washed and changed, and tried reaching both the front desk and room service to no avail. In fact, I couldn't even reach the operator by using my cell and the external line. I was too tired to go to the restaurant so had a protein bar and went to bed.

The next day, I returned from business and went for a shower before leaving for another long flight. There were no do not disturb signs, or door latches which could be closed from the inside. The housekeepers entered the room despite me calling out and they propped and left the door wide open. I basically had to kick them out while in my towel.

On checking out, I told the reception that I was unable to reach them, and was told they couldn't figure out something with the phones without apology.

I won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vmpublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear vm public,

I am very sorry to read your words and the disappointment that you felt following your stay with us.

I understand that there were some issues locally now with the telephone lines, which no businesses were aware of, but I am naturally very sorry that you endured this.

I am at a loss as to your comments regarding the housekeepers, they are usually very discreet and we have do not disturb signs inside every door?!

I am sure that we are better than a 1 star experience and I am genuinely sorry that you feel this way about Fredrick's.

Regards,

Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here after booking through Secret Escapes for a 2 night mid week spa break in April. The whole experience was excellent, including the room (Balmoral Suite), spa treatments, restaurant (superb food), and professional and helpful staff. We will certainly be returning and would highly recommend your hotel.

Room Tip: The Balmoral Suite is adjacent to the spa was very convenient. It was spacious, clean and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSL174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
PSL 174,

Thank you very much for your kind words and review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to see you back again soon.

My kindest regards,

Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a wonderful relaxing weekend in April, staff very friendly and extremely helpful, excellent food in the restaurant, spa facilities great - came home feeling relaxed and refreshed. Would definitely go back

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 on the ground floor which was ideally situated between the spa and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Lesley M,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
It means a lot to us all that you have taken the time to let everyone know how much that you have enjoyed yourself at Fredrick's!

My kindest regards,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night so we could visit the Hinds Head Inn in Bray. On a recommendation we stayed at Fredricks. First thing is that I cannot comment on the Spa facilities. They seemed very nice but we didn't really have chance to use them. Good points: Hotel is incredibly easy to find and well placed for the train station and the surrounding area, there's plenty of car parking and very friendly staff, the reception and dining areas are very well presented and the bed was very nice and comfy.

A couple of disappointing points were that the room itself was looking a little dated and looked like it needed a bit of a refresh. Admittedly, there was a big stonking flatscreen TV in the room which was great but no sign of any tea or coffee facilities. For amusement value, a mini-bar price list had been left in the room but when we went to take a look at the bar itself it was not only empty but missing completely! - an empty cupboard where the bar should be. The shower curtain needed a bit of TLC as the rail was coming apart and the shower curtain kept getting jammed - not really a complaint issue but just something that detracted from the rest of the general niceness of the bathroom.

On a final note, I found the prices in the bar a little frightening and almost actually slightly more expensive than the exclusive restaurant we visited elsewhere that evening. Given that the beer was not that special and a little flat, this was a little disappointing.

Overall though, we had a pleasant night but I'd not necessarily commit to rushing back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear cjpants,

Thank you for your review, we have checked out the issue with your shower rail and as you stated, there are a couple of mini bars that we are currently replacing.

I am delighted that you enjoyed everything else about the hotel and hope that you will come and try another room when visiting the area,

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here through Secret Escapes offer on 26th April for 1 night. Had a very pleasant experience. We had Spa treatments which were fantastic. We also had a 5 course tasting menu which was delicious and lovely breakfast in the morning.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4chrissy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear 4Chrissy8,

Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is one of the best Spa hotel I have ever been too. To give you some background I am a young professional who has visited with family, friends and with my partner. I have been to Fredrick's 5 times in 3 years. I go on about 3/4 Spa breaks a year and I like to try new places but I also do come back to Fredricks for a visit.

I have stayed in 3 different types of rooms, all very different but all lovely with great bathrooms, good beds and amenities. If I go with my friends we usually stay by the Spa but my partner and I have had a suite on a few occasions.

Check in is always lovely, the staff are very polite and always helpful. On my last visit the bill was completely wrong and it took quite some time to sort out as they added treatments and food which I never had.

The food here is absolutely fabulous and I have never had any complaints, it's always at a very high standard. The service is great, your not rushed and your not left waiting. Most of the time we have a bottle of prosecco at the bar before dinner and baileys after.

The spa area is fantastic, the pool is heated and also goes outside. I have been lucky enough to go in good weather and been able to sunbath outside. The treatments here are excellent a special thank you to Annalisa who is very experienced and really knows what she's doing she even convinced me to change my products at home. A BIG THANK YOU.

Another great thing about the spa is they allow you to have drinks by the pool, they also offer a great lunch service so you don't need to leave and go to the restaurant.

I always give Fredricks great reviews but in Feb I booked a Spa break for me and 6 of my friends for March 17th(Monday). Booking in treatments was a nightmare and I was told we couldn't come until 3pm so it was impossible for all of us to have our prepaid treatments. I explained I have been 5 times before and I always arrive around 11am but I found them so unhelpful I actually cancelled my stay.

Since I started going to Fredricks management has changed but it changed about 18 months ago. I never noticed a change until Feb when I had to cancel the trip. It was a shame as I raved to my friends about it and we ended up at Saville Court in Windsor.

I'm hoping they do let people use the Spa from 3pm going forwards otherwise I unfortunately won't go. I still recommend Fredricks and a lot of my friends and family have been.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLynnPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy d, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear EmmaLynnPerry,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you felt that you had to cancel your Spa visit and stay and I have spoken to the team regarding all of this.

We would normally try to fit everyone in our area and as we have 37 residential bedrooms, it can sometimes become a wee bit of a challenge.

I am sure that this was a one off, especially as it was also a Monday and I would ask you to contact me personally in the future, so I can make sure that your booking is taken care of without any further fuss.

Many thanks.

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,264 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa

Property: Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Address: Shoppenhangers Road | Crescent Dale, Maidenhead SL6 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Edwardian building with it's own private gardens and swimming pool. Ample free car parking and great road access to the M4, M40 AND M404. Heathrow less than half an hour away and London also. Great location for Ascot, Kempton, Sandown, Windsor, Newbury and Lingfield racecourses. Close to Henley, Kingston Upon Thames,Windsor and for all major visitor attractions around The Central Thames Valley. 2 AA Rosetted Restaurant, Large Function Room and Spa Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredrick`s Hotel Restaurant Maidenhead
Fredricks Hotel Maidenhead
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing