We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
welhamgreen
1 review
“just what we needed”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

great weekend, great staff lovely room very very nice quiet spa area

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnWelhamgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    165
    77
    53
    32
See reviews for
88
268
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Colleagues and I ran workshops in the function suite one weekend and the standard of service was amazing, and excellent value. We were lucky for early Autumn and at breaks and lunch time those attending the event could eat the lovely buffet lunch in the Winter Garden or outside on the terrace. Everything worked like clockwork - none of the usual running around to find someone to move stuff, and when one projector failed to talk to a laptop another was instantly produced. The location is easy to find (by car or rail and foot), plenty of parking. And a high standard of facility well priced, with a very professional conference crew.

In common with other guests we were greeted with complimentary bubbly, wine or other drinks.

We also stayed two nights, on the delegate rate. Not sure I would pay full rack rate (but who ever does???) Room was quite spacious, slightly dated decor although with some interesting features and small but functional bathroom. Good sized desk area and free wifi that worked. Also free chocs and nice fruit bowl and water. BUT as remarked by others no tea or coffee facilities in room. Bed soft. The hotel is small and was very quiet. Good flat screen TV although limited range of channels.

Dinner the first night superb, and breakfast the first morning (hot dishes cooked to order, cold dishes on a buffet table); on the second night the dinner was good although a bit more OTT and the second morning the hotel seemed to be very full and breakfast OK but not nearly as good - no separate hot breakfast menu - everything on a much bigger buffet, and while fresh there were inevitable delays as fresh eggs were cooked etc. The quality of the produce used was excellent - had some absolutely extraordinary British cheeses - and the staff attentive and efficient. The hand made petit fours with coffee in the evening were amazing, and the wine list from good value to silly prices - but all well chosen. The Maitre d is both attentive and has a GSOH.

My husband enjoyed the spa while we worked - he definitely felt very relaxed and pampered, and enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room - also some sort of really weird sound and light accompanied shower!

We want to go back for a short non work related break - but will choose the timing very carefully. I have already recommended the venue thoroughly to numerous work colleagues for any sort of small conference, training event or workshops - that is absolutely top notch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary; we were disappointed with the room and the meal in the fine dining restaurant. Although spacious and clean, the room had a very dated typical hotel decor, which had somehow been well disguised on the website. At night the room was quite noisy as the walls seemed to be quite thin and we could hear people shouting. The meal was also very disappointing; miniscule portions (as one would expect with this type of fine dining) and just not very tasty or exciting - we were both agreed on this. A poor selection of desserts. When we arrived we had not had lunch and wanted to order a sandwich from room service; there was nothing vegetarian on the room service menu so I asked for an egg mayo sandwich, only to be told, 'it would take too long to boil an egg' !! Apart from this, on a positive note, all the staff were very polite and helpful and the spa treatments were good. Cost for a 1 night stay with dinner, room service sandwich, breakfast and 2 spa treatments was a whopping £450.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeecreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredsGM, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

The egg mayo sandwich was not on the menu and you were advised it would take 20 minutes, to boil an egg and cool it to the guidelines with which we work and serve it. We do not mix luke warm eggs with mayonaisse as it can cause adverse reactions.

The manager on duty also offered you a number of alternatives which could have been served in a shorter period of time which you chose to decline.

When working with dairy based products we do have to be careful and stay true to Fredricks philosophy in that everything is prepared fresh and to order.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and for the future if you do not feel a portion is staisfactory please bring it to our attention at the time and we will assist in any way that we can.

With kind regards

Stuart Portlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We last visited Fredricks last October for an overnight “Dream Bath” experience, which is one of the packages they offer. As we enjoyed that so much we returned this month having bought the same package as before.
Initial check in went smoothly with a welcome glass of sparkling wine which was appreciated. We had booked a suite having stayed in the Ascot suite last time. There were some issues this time about the room but following a chat with the manager these were more than adequately dealt with and I must commend the manager for his customer focus.
The dream bath experience was great and we both enjoyed the use of the spa. It is small but cosy and the staff very friendly.
We had dinner in the main restaurant and enjoyed a meal from the a la carte menu. The food was superb and to the same very high standard as before. The waiting staff too were attentive and keen to please. The restaurant manager is a font of knowledge when it comes to the wine list and the menu which inspires confidence in the food.
During our last visit the only issue we had (& some other reviews highlighted) was breakfast which was a buffet and spoilt by the tepid temperature of the food. I am glad to say that this has been rectified and that the hot food is now cooked to order with a cold buffet on the table. Much improved!
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here for one night - very friendly and attentive staff and nice touches such as glass of wine or bubbly offered on arrival. Although on the downside the bedroom was dated with plastic taps and stains on the carpet - although we may have been given this standard of room as we were on a special rate for a group booking. The breakfast is adequate but beware if you have a big appetite after a swim and order sausage and tomatoes - you will get just that - one sausage and ONE cherry tomato on your plate! The one major annoyance was the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This should be as standard or at least a notice saying that you can order from reception. The only coffee/tea was on the room service menu priced at 4.20 plus a 4.00 delivery charge ( although this is with cake - but who wants cake at 8.00am?! Overall a good standard hotel but could do with a few improvements.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank negan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stay away on business a lot with my work and have to say this is one of the few hotels that I will definitely come back again to with my partner when we have some free time. Staff so friendly, I had a problem with my laptop and the general manager sorted me out with a new wireless card during my stay as mine was faulty. The food was simply excellent a wonderful dining experience, all the plaques and rosette plates outside the restaurant are clear acknowledgement of the standard at this hotel. Most pleased with the spa, availed of a last minute massage before my evening meeting and the therapist was very attentive and highly trained. Going on holidays in three weeks time out of Heathrow so will be booking an overnight stay before and after!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNSHINE4ALL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend to have a day away from it. the hotel is very nice and sophisticated. the spa facilities are lovely, but not very large, luckily we went on a day where the weather was nice, so were able to sit outside and enjoy the outdoor part of the pool more. A word of warning though, dont venture towards the spa without wearing your robe and slippers, or you most certainly get frowned upon!
We didn't have any treatments or really eat in the hotel as it was fairly expensive to do so. we did venture into Maidenhead and ate at a nice restaurant called Jonathons, so if you want a cheaper alternative i'd head down that way!
overall, the stay was very pleasant and i would recommend this to others, but not necessarily to other couples in their early 20s such as us, we ust felt a bit out of place

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa

Property: Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Address: Shoppenhangers Road | Crescent Dale, Maidenhead SL6 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Edwardian building with it's own private gardens and swimming pool. Ample free car parking and great road access to the M4, M40 AND M404. Heathrow less than half an hour away and London also. Great location for Ascot, Kempton, Sandown, Windsor, Newbury and Lingfield racecourses. Close to Henley, Kingston Upon Thames,Windsor and for all major visitor attractions around The Central Thames Valley. 2 AA Rosetted Restaurant, Large Function Room and Spa Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredrick`s Hotel Restaurant Maidenhead
Fredricks Hotel Maidenhead
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing