We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good 1950s Cafe”
Review of Dave's Place - CLOSED

Dave's Place
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Really Good 1950s Cafe”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place rocks our world when we want a good, unpretentious, filling breakfast with endless tea & coffee. The relaxed, 1950's, middle-of-America atmosphere is fun and we always feel welcome, as though we're old friends of Dave! It's difficult to find Eggs Benedict but Dave's got 'em. A Full English made to order? Yep. Today's newspaper, available to dissect & review whilst waiting? Sure thing. We love Dave's on those mornings when you just want to have a hot breakfast somewhere that's really casual, inexpensive, and filling. Parking can be a little iffy since it's near the High Street on Bridge Road, where they're undergoing road works.

Good spot for hang-over mornings...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondechick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited this cafe after reading other reviews. We were not disappointed. We were spoilt for choice but ended up ordering the smoked salmon eggs Benedict. Wonderful. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingerIlfracombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Great, fun decor and well kept place : clean floor n tables etc

Good menu ... As others say eggs Benedict good.
Some ingredients esp the Sausages are cheap crap.
Pancakes and maple syrup yum.

But despite that, this place really hits the spot... A gem in the town.

Helpful?
1 Thank chappers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“B+ B, review contractors digs.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

stayed in the b+b upstairs, breafast is downstairs in the cafe, could not fault the breakfast or service. Entrance hall to the b+b is tired , smells of cigs and could do with a tidy up, twin room was small with a poor small tv, to high up on the wall, beds very comfy and clean, room was not serviced during our four day stay, same towels for four days , bins not emptied at all. kitchenette was clean and had microwave toaster kettle and fridge, all clean ,no tea towel, missing utensils and crockery, prob stolen or broken and not replaced. Bathroom plenty of hot water, no loo brush !, We enjoyed our stay and its in a great location for getting food after work. The staff were very friendly, THIS PLACE IS FINE FOR CONTRACTORS BUT JUST NEEDS A BIT MORE TLC and take some bits with you

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Proper cafe”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Dave's cafe is as classy as east Enders. But it's all the better for it. Wonderful staff and one of my favorite full English anywhere. I love it. The only reason I don't go more often is because my trousers wouldn't fit.

If its open and your hungry it's well worth a trip to the end of the high street. You'll get a friendly welcome and some deliciously unhealthy food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barroi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dave's Place also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing