We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect town centre pub”
Review of Hand and Flowers

Hand and Flowers
Ranked #21 of 149 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: European, Pizza, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Hand and Flowers is where you go regardless if you want a well conditioned ale, great wine or fantastic home cooked pub food. The Hand and Flowers happens to make the best pizzas in town as well as all the usual pub classics. You wont find any TV screens in this little gem, just great food and drink and some classic music from the 60's to modern day.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A perfect town centre pub”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love this place, three of us had a meal and some beers there last night. There are no gambling machines or TVs, just quiet music played in the background, so the ambience was just right to sit down and have chat, which is what pubs are all about. They always have a couple of cask beers, and a cask lager. They have a simple food menu, the food is cooked to order and not in the microwave. Our food was very good for a pub. The service is excellent, I wish more pubs were like this. We will definitely go again next time we are in Maidenhead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding local pub”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a really outstanding local pub. The beer, wine and music are all excellent, but the real star is the food. Classic starters include deep-fried whitebait and the chef's own twist on scotch eggs. Main courses include excellent pizzas, pulled pork, burgers etc. My own favourite is the weekly-changing fish course - restaurant standard at pub prices.
Add in friendly staff and a great ambience. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terryniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bloody Marvelous!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I used to be a regular at The Hand and Flowers. Now im not a local anymore but miss it popping in. I say "popping in", you cant help but be lured in by the charm of Phil and Maddie, the excellent selection of drinks on offer and delicious food! What starts off as a quick drink after work, can easily turn into staying til the end where you will have been fed and watered and enjoyed good proper hospitality!
The food has gone from strength to strength. You can be sure to have a unique dining and or drinking experience here. Theres a cosy fire in the winter and lots of light coming through the big windows. "The hand" as Phil likes to call it, is full of warmth and character.
I would go as far to say...its the best local I've been in, this side of the Watford Gap!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThumbelinaDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

One of my favourite places in maidenhead to drink , love the atmosphere and the staff are always friendly .
Shame it's not open later !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Loopyloo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Gastro Pub Food!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Was taken here as a treat for my birthday. Despite rather a late table (21:45pm) the service was great and there was still a fantastic atmosphere in the resteraunt. The food from the appetisers to the dessert were all incredible and beautifully presented.

I highly recommend this to any foodies!Will definately be back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hand and Flowers also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Hand and Flowers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing