We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food as a snack, but the shop is becoming less good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai & Far Eastern Foods - CLOSED

Thai & Far Eastern Foods
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Popular cafe, inside the Thai Supermarket on the High Street. Freshly cooked original Thai Curry and Thai Noodles every day for lunch and dinner, plus satay, spring rolls and Pad Thai. Eat in or take away. Seating available inside and outside.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice food as a snack, but the shop is becoming less good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice snacks at decent prices, which is wonderful. However, the fresh ingredients part of the shop is starting to suffer. It's really hard to find the right range of fresh ingredients at the right time. Sometimes one item is available and not others. Sometimes the freshness leaves a lot to be desired. Food that's wrinkling, moulding or drying should be removed or put on special offer, not sold at premium prices.

In the restaurant, it would be good to see a little more generous use of the Thai vegetables and herbs.

Excellent to have this shop and restaurant locally, but I'm concerned that the quality of the shop is dropping quickly. Also, it's important to have staff who really understand the products. Some clearly don't, which isn't helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Thai & Far Eastern Foods, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we are not hitting your expectations at this time. During mid December to mid Jan we reduced the service due to staff holidays and a deep clean, stopping the hot food for 2 weeks. During this time, we deep cleaned the kitchen and shop, redecorated etc. the supply of fresh vegetables from Thailand was also cut back. We are now fully operational, up and running with all the fresh vegetables in the shop and a full set of hot food to try, with some new things to try as well.
See you again soon.
Thai Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I love this place and my 9 year old daughter makes me drive 20 miles to the shop on a weekend so she can get her noodle soup fix. I lived in Asia for a year and this is one of the only places to eat authentic Thai food and then stock up on provisions for my home cooked Asian Fayre. The service is great and I keep going back. There are more tables now but it does get busy at lunchtimes. The choice is normally red or green curry with rice, fried chicken and vegetables, pad thai, ka prow gai and the mandatory spring rolls. The prices are £ 4 - £6 a meal which does fill you up. They also stock the Thai energy drinks M150 and Whiteshark for all of you who remember these either on their own or with with Thai whisky. If you're expecting a restaurant then think again, if you're thinking food stall Thai Style then you're on the right track. Cheers AJ

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thaibog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very tasty. Great value for money. The restaurant is inside a Thai supermarket so after eating you can do some shopping.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nikko1974UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Real Thai cuisine and real friendly staff. Really enjoy my visits to Thai & Far Eastern Foods. They stock most Asian ingredients at reasonable prices. Not sell a selection of curries that blend taste with spicy perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Thai & Far Eastern Foods, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review and happy that you like the curries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I eat here quite often either in the shop or more often take away. The food and service I find always to be good and the value for money is excellent.
This is a little gem in Maidenhead and one not to be missed for a quick lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NIgel_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Thai & Far Eastern Foods, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai & Far Eastern Foods also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing