We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Who knew"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thames Riviera Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Who knew"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and must say I thought it was really charming, would definitely stay again. Lovely location and it will be really lovely in the summer. Excellent value for money and the food in the restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor, the stairs were quite narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_42-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Ronnie

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was very pleased that you found us excellent value for money and enjoyed the food in the restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    249
    158
    74
    59
See reviews for
111
276
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

stayed at this hotel en route to eating in Marlow . We had a good room overlooking the Thames.
the room was a good size and comfortable and served the purpose we needed. All the staff seemed friendly and we would use it again . Taxi into Marlow was £15 so overall still proved to be good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Pauljudith

Thank you for your recent review and I was really pleased to hear that you found all the staff friendly and had a good stay. I will pass on my thanks to the team and I know they will appreciate your kind comments.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent a weekend here recently with the family. Family Room was great with a view overlooking the River Thames. Food was first-rate and plenty of it. An enjoyable stay.

Only 'downer' was that we were above the bar area and they had live music on Friday nights and some form of disco on the Saturday. This was quite loud and when there was a beat, we could hear it quite clearly.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and not above the bar area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Craig W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time and found the food first rate.
I do apologise for the disturbance caused to your family by the live music which I am currently reviewing as it is also key to us that whatever we do does not affect our residents in house. I will investigate the disco music on the Saturday night and will take corrective action on this as should not have happened.

I do hope we welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the Thames. The cocktails were lovely and the whole atmosphere was great. Will definitely go back in the Summer and make use of the gardens and surroundings

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Amanda H

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear that you loved the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the summer where I am sure you will enjoy your cocktails out in the gardens admiring the lovely views we have.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdlae, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I recently stayed here for two weeks on business in Maidenhead. Hotel is a short 10-15 minute walk to the town center. You have to make sure that you get the room that you want, as they were very inconsistent. My first room was very tiny and did not have a chest of drawers for me to store my clothes, and was not offered an alternative. I finally changed rooms one week into my stay after the toilet broke. My new room was more spacious and did have a chest of drawers, but right above the restaurant parking lot where all of the after hours and drink conversations could be heard. Next time I stay there I will make sure that I get the room that I want. Kudos to Simon on the staff who was friendly and very helpful while I was there. Although the Blue River Cafe is a part of the hotel, I will review that separately. The view of the Thames and the old railway bridge is lovely, and the ducks bring a charm to the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: Every room is different, especially the single rooms, so ask around and be specific as possible when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Robert F

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 2 week stay with us. The hotel does have a number of different room types and they all vary in size and location within the hotel grounds. When you visit us again please let us know where your preference is and subject to availability my reception team will do their best to accommodate. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused by maintenance issue but pleased that Simon sorted a room move for you efficiently.

We do indeed have wonderful views and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very Impressed with the hotel, fab view over the river,
the staff were all extremely helpful, especially Millie who went the extra mile and bought a goody basket up to the room once she found out we were celebrating my birthday.
We ordered the breakfast to come to the room, it was just what the doctor ordered to cure a hangover,
Room was very clean and tidy as was the bathroom,
there was plenty of tea and coffee making facilities,
The bar was busy and lively, we stayed in the lodge adjacent to the hotel, which was quiet,
plenty of free parking and we look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: i would choose a lodge room again as most seem to have a balcony overlooking the river,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 442paulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear 442paulman

Thank you for your recent review and I was delighted to hear that you had a great birthday weekend with us. I know my team take great pride in looking after our guests and it is so pleasing to see that being recognised, I will personally pass on your kind comments to Millie and rest of the team with thanks.
I do look forward to welcoming you on your return visit

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed overnight when in the area on business.

The good:
Easy to find
Plenty of car parking
Nice spot on the river
Decent bar/restaurant
Very friendly staff
Good value for area

The bad:
Room was in the annexe/building across the car park and had an odour of stale smoke
Sound proofing was quite poor so could hear any movement in adjacent rooms
Wifi was quite slow

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Raymond

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We do value all the feedback we get from our customer's as that enables us to see what we are doing well at and also where we need to work on. I was pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and that we were good value for the area. I can assure you I will investigate and implement corrective action with regard to the stale smoke and speed of Wifi with immediate effect and I apologise for the inconvenience that caused.

I do hope we welcome you back to the hotel soon

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
1.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thames Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Property: The Thames Riviera Hotel
Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Thames by Maidenhead Bridge, this splendid Edwardian building provides the gateway to Maidenhead, just half a mile away. Car parking for guests. Housing a total of 52 bedrooms, with 18 situated in the Waterside Lodge which is sited to the rear of the main building. Many of the well appointed bedrooms offer superb river views and others balconies, which overlook the terraces and River Thames. The Hotel has a renowned restaurant and bar in The Blue River Cafe which has been the place to be for over a decade with its fantastic food and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing