We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheephouse Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheephouse Manor
Ranked #6 of 23 Maidenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I was visiting Maidenhead with a friend on a business trip. We didnt want to stay in yet another faceless hotel so booked in at Sheephouse Manor.
We enjoyed it very much. We were b and b but stayed in a cottage. It was spotlessly clean and all the facilities we wanted. We both had a bedroom and bathroom each. Loads of hot water and a very good breakfast. We knew hot meals were not available but there was plenty of everything we wanted. I loved the outdoor space and had a couple of wanders around the grounds.
I think people should realise that this is a farmhouse and there will be unlit areas and animals about, for our part we really liked it and will stay again if we go again if in the area. I am also thinking of taking my daughter and grandson there for a trip to Legoland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    24
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
31
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

It is a pleasent B & B with lovley gardens and in a great area. I was in cottage 3 away from the main house. I could not get the internet from this room. But the room was large and had plenty of space. I also had my own kitchen and fridge which was ideal as I could a lovely Thai meal from Thai Boathouse takeaway. No shower in this room but over all i was happy and I was allowed a late check out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you for your comments.
We have now in 2016, installed a large walk in shower in Cottage 3 and improved the wifi so it is vert good now.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed in 2 bedroom self catering cottage.Our arrival was not acknowledged but were 'greeted' by 2 dogs barking and jumping all over us - we were tired and not in the mood! A shower would have been very nice but that was not to be. The water was barely tepid, the shower head hard to control and the bath dangerous to climb in and out.
The owner, Caroline, was less than helpful when we finally managed to locate her and left us with the impression we were a big nuisance to bother her. All in all- the place was uncomfortable, unclean and unwelcoming. Never again. DONT GO THERE.
This is a very kind rating. NO TV RECEPTION

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank val_mal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry your experience was not a pleasant one.
At Sheephouse Manor we want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us, and we have taken your comments on board to improve things in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

All same complaints as those before, they simply do not care about you, demand money up front and have no cares about your comfort at all. We were told washing would be collected on a certain day everyweek, stripped beds, and no one came, then told, they did come but couldnt find the huge pile we left in the middle of the floor, then told the owner would collect it. Raced back to the house to meet her, she never turned up, apparenlty having no need to visit that evening after all.

Washing was never collected on day it was supposed to be, one morning she even walked another potential customer thru the cottage at 8am because I had no responded to her one call on my mobile ( during usual morning activities I had missed the call). We said the heating didnt work, she gave a vague disinterested attempt to fiddle with it then said " well you dont want it too hot".

The cottage we stayed in was decorated dreadfully, dark, miserable and a snail left its trail across the floor nealry ever night! ON puling out the furniture to try and find it, we noticed huge amounts of dust and dirt. Its a shame as a lick of paint would have made a huge difference.

We were not made to feel welcome, more like an irritant, and I would not recomened this place to anyone who works hard for their money and wants to spend it on value and quality. I always consult Alister Sawday guides when we go away, I have never ever put a foot wrong with them, the people who run guest houses seem to be natural hosts and geuinly seem to want to meet and spoil people with hospitality.

We only ended up at this place because our house was flooded.

Dont do it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizeratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry your experience was not a pleasant one.
At Sheephouse Manor we want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us, and we have taken your comments on board to improve things in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Having had a quick look through past reviews it seems nothing has improved at the place for years even after repeated complaints & the owners being aware about major problems.

We stayed in one of the cottages, and though at first everything seemed fine, over time there were a lot of things that made things unpleasant. The cottage was fairly clean, beds comfortable and the kitchen well equipped.
Outside there was play equipment for kids and a table to sit at in front of each cottage.
The bus stop into Maidenhead is quite close too.

BUT: The main thing that was really annoying was that the shower as mentioned by several people is impossible to use comfortably or even safely. It just switches from boiling hot to freezing cold. I ended up washing my hair in the kitchen sink, which is not exactly what you expect when you pay good money! The tap in the kitchen is also dangerous for children, as there is too much pressure on it, and when you turned it on on hot boiling water could easily scald you. I am amazed this place is allowed to run things like this and not get shut down by health and safety!
Re safety there were also some loose stones and lots of holes in the garden, which could be dangerous too,, esp. at night. The area guests walk through to the cottages is also the run of the owner's (I presume..) dogs... They were always jumping up at you as well as trying to come into the cottage and nick your things. More funny than anything to us, but not ideal if someone is afraid of dogs or actually wears clothes which don't go with muddy paw prints.
The other slight nuisance was that there was no door (or at least curtain) between the living room and kitchen, which meant if you slept in the living room/sofabed you woke up as soon as it got light. The other problem was that due to the lack of a door/curtain the fire alarm went off as soon as you were frying anything in the kitchen (and I mean frying, not burning..).
The internet also was not accessible from the cottage, according to the booklet in the cottage access was variable and best in the lounge in the manor house itself. To me this is quite misleading, as I am sure it was advertised as having internet access in the cottages.
Also there were an awful lot of bugs in the cottage itself, including a whole swarm of moth in the bedroom which came out from behind the furniture every night.
All this would have not been so bad, if the owners of the place would have been more helpful or available, it just seemed like they either get so many complaints that they choose and run away as soon as they spot a guest from the corner of their eye (which was actually what it seemed like!), or they are so busy with whatever else they do, but running the guest house definitely does not seem to rank very high on the list of their priorities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biotash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Manager at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review.
I am sorry this experience was not a positive one for you.
We at Sheephouse Manor want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us, and we have taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Travelling as a single parent with an 8 year old daughter to Maidenhead, mainly to visit Legoland and other child-friendly attractions in the vicinity, we were initially delighted to see Sheephouse Manor. We arrived quite late in the evening, and Caroline, the owner, was there to show us the self-catering cottage we had booked. It all appeared to be very nice. and there was plenty of garden space in which my daughter could play, including a trampoline, zip wire and a small outdoor swimming pool.

We stayed in cottage number one for 6 nights. I like to shower at least a couple of times a day and from the start the shower was temperemental. Initially, it veered between freezing cold and boiling hot. I eventually managed to locate an acceptable temperature on the first night, but the tendency for the switchover without warning made it dangerous to shower my daughter without constant monitoring. On the second morning there was no hot water whatsoever. The shower was stone cold and very unpleasant to wash under. I did tell Caroline, and her response was that it would be fine once other people had stopped using the water, and once the washing machine had completed its cycle in her laundry room. It wasn't and I didn't think this was a satisfactory answer, nor did she enquire about it for the rest of our stay. It became a thing to dread, especially for my daughter who takes a bath or shower each evening

Unfortunately, my car broke down on the third day of our stay. Although I am quite self-sufficient, I felt at a bit of a loss, and I asked Caroline if she knew of a bus route to Legoland. She replied that she did not and suggested we take a taxi. Being on a strict budget I could not afford to do so and just found my own way through trial and error.to Maidenhead Centre, on to Windsor, then Legoland. Of course, this was not her responsibility, but had I been the proprietor of such a business I'm sure that I would have been concerned about the well-being of my guests; to secure future business if nothing else.

Sheephouse Manor is located in a very pretty area of England and it's such a shame that for me there was nothing of the personal touch about our stay. My initial response to the surroundings was one of joy, which soon gave way to disappoinment and a desire to travel home as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ave40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Sheephouse Manor. I am sorry that we did not fulfil your expectations. We take all guest comments seriously, and have put strategies in place to resolve similar future issues. I hope that if you visited us again you would have a very pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

I found my accomodation really comfortable! I had cottage two, which was a self catering unit, but stayed as a B & B guest! I was welcomed & offered a choice of rooms. The room was clean & had everything I wanted. I had a lovely breakfast, with a home produced egg for breaky! If I was to complain about anything, the layout of the place is confusing and as I arrived in the dark I couldn't find the guest entrance door! Could be my poor powers of observation! I would definitely stay again! Sheephouse is ideally situated close to Moor Hall & so I stayed the night before I had a course there! Free access to the internet, so beats the cheap hotel ranges!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueblueruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you for your review. We have addressed the lighting and signage issues.
Hope to see you again.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
1.6 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheephouse Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheephouse Manor

Property: Sheephouse Manor
Address: Sheephouse Manor Sheephouse Road, Maidenhead SL6 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Sheephouse Manor, we offer a friendly and warm welcome to all our guests. In 2013 ,the whole property underwent extensive renovations and now we proudly offer our guests a lovely warm "Home from Home"experience in our cosy renovated and updated cottages and in the three bedrooms in the West Wing. Our 6 cottages can sleep from 2-6 people and are available to let for a week or more. The West Wing comprises 3 double /twin bedrooms with en-suite or private bathrooms and sleep a total of 6 people. In The West Wing there is a private entrance, and use of own kitchen/dining room on a self catering basis, with flat screen TV in the dining area. To our B&B guests we offer a healthy and nutritious continental breakfast. We accept pets for a small extra fee in the cottages. Dogs must be kept on leads within the property at all times. There is a dog run. We have flexible check in days. Any length of stay over 1 week is welcome. There is plenty of off street parking, and complimentary wi fi. We have a children's play area, and free roaming chickens. Local to us are some fabulous foodie favourites, including the famous Waterside Inn, and The Fat Duck in Bray Village. We are close to public transport: the local bus runs to Maidenhead train station,from where a train to central London is 30 minutes. Sheephouse Manor is a few minutes walk from the Thames Path.Famous local attractions including Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington, and Windsor Castle, Ascot, Eton Dorney - 2012 Olympic rowing venue, and Henley are 15 minutes drive. We are easily accessable from M4, M 40, and M25. Off peak and long let deals are available. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Sheephouse Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheephouse Manor Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing