We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little find in glorious surroundings!”
Review of Sheephouse Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheephouse Manor
Ranked #6 of 21 Maidenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little find in glorious surroundings!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night as we are moving to the area soon and I was attending an interview. My partner has stayed in many of the mainstream budget hotels recently and I wanted to find somewhere with more character but within budget. The rooms here were lovely and the bed very comfortable. Caroline suggested a local bar/restaurant to eat for the night, which was only a 10 minute walk away - Boulters Lock. Again a lovely location, on a little island on the Thames, and the food was out of this world!

A continental breakfast is served in the farmhouse kitchen, which makes you feel very at home. The only problem might be that there was no shower in our room, just a bath, but that suits us fine. I think some of the other rooms may have showers if that's your preference so just ask when you book. On the whole, a fantastic stay! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valkyrie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Now in 2016, we rarely do B&B, having turned mostly to short lets in the cottages and the West Wing, from 1 week, to 6 months.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    25
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
31
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I was in Slough and High Wycombe on business and needed somewhere handy for both places. I always look for something a little different and as I am self-employed, I can stay where I want within reason. This was for 4 nights and as soon as I saw the website I thought it would be fine.
I booked for B&B, on arrival, was shown to an immaculate en-suite room in this lovely old farmhouse. Everything was as promised and the coffee at breakfast was superb! Also the bed was excellent too. Both things I really appreciated, along with free WiFi.
Better still [for me anyway] was the kitchen area at the back of the breakfast room was available for me to use in the evening - provided of course that it was left as found. Home from home really, and as I spend so many nights away it was really good to be in somewhere more relaxed. The grounds are lovely and all this 30-odd miles west of London! Caroline is charming and helpful, but this is quite a relaxed place and all the better for it in my view. Would I go back? One word,Yes.

Room Tip: Not all en-suite rooms have a full shower, check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just beyond the M25 but oh what a world away from the bustle of London: this is such an oasis of calm and countryside. Excellently placed for a leisurely exploration of the villages of Cookham, Cliveden or the slightly bigger conurbations or Marlow or Maidenhead, this B&B was a delight. Caroline, our hostess, could not have been more welcoming or charming: everything was just as it should be: a comfortable room, a great breakfast, (more than ample and a refreshing change from a stodgy cooked breakfast) and a lovely ambiance; what more did one need for a romantic weekend away? I'd stay there again at the drop of a hat and probably will in the coming months.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you for your review.
We offer mostly self catering short lets now in our 5 cottages. From 1 week to 6 months.
See you again hopefully,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We originally were going to stay self catering at the manor, but then spotted that the owners also have Southlands Cottage in Cookham.

We have just returned after a great stay, the cottage is compact, but all that we needed. very well furnished/decorated and had everything we needed.

We took our dog and the walks around the village, were just fantastic,.
We all had a great time and I have already recommedned to a friend of mine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed our lovely cottage in Cookham.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Room was ok, pretty small but done the job for one nights stay.
The reason I am writing this reiview though is due to the poor attitude of the lady in charge.
We were told it was a continential breakfast and just helped ourselves to 2 boiled eggs, a small cube of cheese, 2 waifer thin slices of ham and 2 toast. When the lady came into the breakfast room she looked at us and said there's another customer to come down so don't have any more ham!! Then requested we paid whilst eating our food. Poor poor service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommyski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your views. I am sorry that your experience was not a good one,
We want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us and we have taken your comments on board .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I was visiting Maidenhead with a friend on a business trip. We didnt want to stay in yet another faceless hotel so booked in at Sheephouse Manor.
We enjoyed it very much. We were b and b but stayed in a cottage. It was spotlessly clean and all the facilities we wanted. We both had a bedroom and bathroom each. Loads of hot water and a very good breakfast. We knew hot meals were not available but there was plenty of everything we wanted. I loved the outdoor space and had a couple of wanders around the grounds.
I think people should realise that this is a farmhouse and there will be unlit areas and animals about, for our part we really liked it and will stay again if we go again if in the area. I am also thinking of taking my daughter and grandson there for a trip to Legoland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It is a pleasent B & B with lovley gardens and in a great area. I was in cottage 3 away from the main house. I could not get the internet from this room. But the room was large and had plenty of space. I also had my own kitchen and fridge which was ideal as I could a lovely Thai meal from Thai Boathouse takeaway. No shower in this room but over all i was happy and I was allowed a late check out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosellamatt, Owner at Sheephouse Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Thank you for your comments.
We have now in 2016, installed a large walk in shower in Cottage 3 and improved the wifi so it is vert good now.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
1.0 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
701 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,010 reviews
5.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
248 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheephouse Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheephouse Manor

Property: Sheephouse Manor
Address: Sheephouse Manor Sheephouse Road, Maidenhead SL6 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Sheephouse Manor, we offer a friendly and warm welcome to all our guests. In 2013 ,the whole property underwent extensive renovations and now we proudly offer our guests a lovely warm "Home from Home"experience in our cosy renovated and updated cottages and in the three bedrooms in the West Wing. Our 6 cottages can sleep from 2-6 people and are available to let for a week or more. The West Wing comprises 3 double /twin bedrooms with en-suite or private bathrooms and sleep a total of 6 people. In The West Wing there is a private entrance, and use of own kitchen/dining room on a self catering basis, with flat screen TV in the dining area. To our B&B guests we offer a healthy and nutritious continental breakfast. We accept pets for a small extra fee in the cottages. Dogs must be kept on leads within the property at all times. There is a dog run. We have flexible check in days. Any length of stay over 1 week is welcome. There is plenty of off street parking, and complimentary wi fi. We have a children's play area, and free roaming chickens. Local to us are some fabulous foodie favourites, including the famous Waterside Inn, and The Fat Duck in Bray Village. We are close to public transport: the local bus runs to Maidenhead train station,from where a train to central London is 30 minutes. Sheephouse Manor is a few minutes walk from the Thames Path.Famous local attractions including Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington, and Windsor Castle, Ascot, Eton Dorney - 2012 Olympic rowing venue, and Henley are 15 minutes drive. We are easily accessable from M4, M 40, and M25. Off peak and long let deals are available. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sheephouse Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheephouse Manor Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing