We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Sunny Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Cottage
Ranked #5 of 21 Maidenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in Sunny Cottage last Saturday. It is the best place to stay close to Bray and its Michelin stars restaurants. Vreni, the Sunny Cottage owner, welcomed us warmly and made us feel comfortable from the first moment. The cottage is impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. The English breakfast Vreni prepared was excellent, with great choice of fresh fruits, delicious muesli and pastries.
If you are going to The Fat Duck or any of the other Bray restaurants, or you are on a business trip in this area, we would hihgly recommend staying in Sunny Cottage. It is very close to the main rounds leading to London, Windsor, Heathrow and around, and at the same time offering the peace of the countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veska2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Can't speak highly enough of Sunny Cottage. Vreny is the perfect hostess, warm, welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was fit for a King, we almost felt guilty at the size and quality of what greeted us in the morning. Vreny should be charging more for this little gem. Highly recommended to anyone thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Vreny is very friendly and knowledgeable about what's going on, local restaurants and events etc. It's a lovely house and garden, and the room we stayed in was bright, clean, comfortable and attractive with a vase of flowers from the garden. Amazing breakfast, served at the time that suited us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Vreny is the consummate hostess, Taking trouble to book us a good pub for dinner in the most convenient location. The rooms and facilities are great and we really appreciated her getting up extra early to ensure we had breakfast before we left at 6am. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Sunny Cottage in early June 2013. We chose this location due to its close proximity to Heathrow and only stayed for one night, but we wish we could have spent more time here. Vreny was so friendly and warm and made sure that all of our needs were tended to. The room was spacious and nicely furnished, with beautiful views of the backyard garden. One of the highlights of our room was the large bathroom with full tub- this was the only B&B we stayed in during our 2-week trip that had this luxury! After a busy day of touring the countryside, a relaxing bath was just what we needed. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, I couldn't get enough of the yogurt and muesli! This was also the only B&B that had the morning paper on the table for us to read, which was a nice touch.

Vreny also offered to book us a cab to Heathrow and provided us with information about how the Queen's 60th coronation celebrations might impact our tour of London. This level of attention and care was much appreciated. We can't recommend this B&B highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gold Room with a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kweiland06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

From the moment we arrived Vreny was the perfect hostess even letting us check in early so we could get changed on our way to The Fat Duck for birthday celebrations with our son and daughter.
We had two rooms both were spotlessly clean and very well decorated with lovely fluffy towels
Breakfast was something else I would say the best we have ever had in a Bed and Breakfast . The variety and quantity was amazing fresh fruit home made muesli pastries cheeses yogurt and much more plus a delicious huge full English breakfast.Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Both the twin and double were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Dear Vreny
I just wanted to say thank you for making me so welcome on my recent stay (9 May 2013). I loved your B&B one of the best I have stayed in - my room was beautifully decorated and the furnishings were so beautifully chosen and displayed. The room was immaculately clean and was a treat to get a proper cup of tea made on arrival.
Breakfast was delicious and I wish I could have spent more time taking full advantage of it
I would certainly come back and stay with you again.
Lisa

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
1.6 mi away
River Arts Club
River Arts Club
#2 of 21 in Maidenhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grenfell Arms
Grenfell Arms
#9 of 21 in Maidenhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Cottage

Property: Sunny Cottage
Address: Sunny Cottage Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sunny Cottage, a Swiss-run Guesthouse situated in a rural location surrounded by fields and wildlife yet only 1 Mile from Maidenhead train station and within easy reach of the M4 and M40. Ideal for people who work in Vanwall Business park and Maidenhead town centre. Close to many attraction, such as Windsor, Eton and Henley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunny Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Cottage Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing