We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Break in Maidenhead”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Thames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thames Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick Break in Maidenhead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We found a lovely, quiet place by the river in this refurbished hotel (faint smell of fresh paint) and was within easy walking distance of town centre. Our breakfast was included in the on-site restaurant and it was a good (though not extensive) buffet with hot & cold choices. Tea & coffee (& cocoa) in the good sized room. We had a nice time and the room was very clean. We'll be back when we next visit Maidenhead.

Room Tip: We liked our room; on a quiet side of the hotel so it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    65
    58
    32
    16
See reviews for
32
75
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you are looking for a place, good, clean and comfortable, you have to go to this Hotel! It is cheap, and clean, I know personally the owner, ad he is a very kind person, his Hotel is always very ordered, you can not have bad experience in it! Beleve me! I hope you will take it when you come to visit Maidenhead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the English breakfast is great, the staff are friendly and helpful and it has a great pub!

The only negative I have, is the noise level. I've slept here a few times and you can hear the creaky floorboards in the room above you and when someone walks in the hallway.

I have also been kept awake by snoring in the room next door or by their television .

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor and do ask for another room if someone's snoring is keeping you from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincom_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

As I live nearby I frequent the hotel bar regularly especially during the warmer months as it has a terrace overlooking the river. It’s a busy road but somehow this does not distract from the interesting view of the river and its craft passing by. I almost always order some of their bar food, its great value and a wide choice with specials on a daily basis. The staff are friendly and service is good although the bar can become quite busy at times. I can’t answer for the rooms and other facilities as I have never stayed there but it seems busy enough at the reception. There is a car park and also street parking. In short a superb place to enjoy a beer and grub on a summers day and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris551953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I live in Maidenhead and members of my family have stayed at the Thames Hotel a number of times over the past 5 years or so, formerly with pleasant results. However, this year, prices have gone up and standards have gone down. We'd paid for an executive room, but I can't imagine many executives would have been pleased with this offering. A few of the things that were wrong were:
- A tablet found on the floor the first evening - an indication of how well the room had been cleaned.
- Dead flies lay on the window sill, and dead wasps on the floor, throughout the stay.
- Light above bathroom mirror didn't work. This was mentioned to reception, who said it would be fixed, but it never was.
- Shower gel etc wasn't replenished when empty. My parents had to specifically ask reception to bring some up.
- The bed was not properly made. The quilt was thrown up but the sheets underneath were ruffled.

These are only a few of the things that were wrong. Worst of all though, was the fact I wrote to the hotel twice about these issues and my complaints were never acknowledged. It seems the poor service received by my parents during their stay was extended to me in the aftermath. In summary, if you can avoid it, don't stay at the Thames Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maidenhead hotels

vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here visiting relatives before heading back to Canada. Our room (1st floor) was large with Balcony overlooking the Thames river. It was comfortable with coffee, tea, biscuits, etc.& a small desk. (Also 2 sitting chairs & small table) It took us awhile to figure out how to turn on/change TV channels (probably would have saved time if we called the front desk!). There was a small fan that proved useful on one hot day . . . that is, until we learned how to open the Windows! (Some things are different here.) The bathroom was fairly large with tub, shower sink, but lacking extra shelving to store razors, toothpaste, deodorants etc. Buffet breakfast was available in the Trevi restaurant serving warmed bacon, sausages, eggs, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice and so on. We had a lite lunch in the on-site Pub that was satisfactory tho' I don't recall what we had.
Staff were friendly . . . to the point where one young lad lugged all our luggage (large suitcases, backpacks) from curbside to room without being asked.
For us, while not an American 4, or 3 star, it was a delightful taste of ole' Britain which we thoroughly enjoyed & would love to come back to some day.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the river with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar2dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for one night to go to the Cliveden Rocks concert. I booked it purely on location to the event and cost.

Very professional reception when we booked in.

Lovely terrace overlooking the Thames where we enjoyed a glass of wine watching the boats go by, very relaxing. We had taken a picnic with us to enjoy at the concert but if we hadnt I would have been very tempted to try the bar food. They also had an Italian restaurent that looked very welcoming as well.

On returning from the concert we could enjoy the rest of the evening sitting on the terrace with a night cap, there didnt seem any rush to send us to bed from the bar staff which is always a big plus.

The room was on the small side, but I had only booked the standard double, but saying that it was adequate and well arranged. More importanty everything was very clean - including the bathroom. Hotel manual informative, they seem to take their Fire precautions very seriously.

Breakfast was buffet style, lots of choice - could not fault it.

I would say that this is the best value hotel I have stayed in for some time. I was very impressed and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
0.4 mi away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Maidenhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.5 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Property: The Thames Hotel
Address: Ray Mead Road, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead
The Thames Hotel Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing