We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly and welcoming.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Thames Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for one night and I'm glad we did! The staff are all extremely friendly, polite and welcoming. On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded (for free!) to a room over-looking the river, which was beautiful.
The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The décor and furniture are dated, but we thought this gave a nice traditional feel to the place. Also, despite it being freezing outside, our room was wonderfully warm and cosy!
It also offered an outside smoking area with heaters which was a nice bonus in the cold weather!
The breakfast buffet was also very nice.
The only bad thing I could possibly say about this place, is that it could do with a lick of paint in places to freshen it up, but overall we were extremely pleased.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    63
    58
    32
    15
See reviews for
32
72
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I am disappointed. We 've been on dinner with my family. The restaurant is fine, but an old man with glasses in the pub was not nice, he look like insane and was nervously. It is so rude to shout to a parents because kids are playing together. I felt bad.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naola1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maidenhead hotels

St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Slight feel of the fawlty towers with a dated decor and a bit of nuisance such as window not closing etc but it was good value for money with a decent bar in a scenic location. People were nice though cannot vouch for breakfast as so stuffed from Tom kerridge meal the night before. A real value for money hotel in a vastly overpriced area.

Room Tip: Book by price not expectation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

booked the hotel through last minute site and paid for superior room with balcony ...arrived hotel and eventually receptionist came who was friendly...room was large and clean and had a view of the thames but who wants a large dinning room table and 4 chairs in the room i certainly don't ...trying putting a sofa in its place than a tacky table with a vase of plastic flowers..ate in the bar and food was good....bed was comfy and slept till the man in the room above decided it was his time to get up and have shower and then sounded like he was doing his morning workout above me ...if the hotel spent some money and upgraded the rooms and put a bit of thought into the decor it would be a lovely place ..was looking forward to stop overlooking the thames but left feeling disappointed

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerwent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed 1 night on business. Staff really willing and helpful,
Location good, parking fine.
Because of warm welcome, I did not stress out over noisy pumbing interuptions to a good nights sleep. or lack of quality on breakfast offered. Again. Staff willing , but poor basic ingredients did not match price. ( £80 ppn inc breakfast) .
Room decor is a bit dated but clean, so not a deal breaker. Sort plumbing and breakfast and I would stay again.........

Room Tip: Top floot to avoid noise from people staying above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I booked 2 double rooms for one night, one with cot for 2yr old grandson. Both rooms were a good size with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite in one room was very good but the second room had a bathroom with bath, washbasin and loo and literally no room to swing a cat. This was ok for one night, but if return again for longer time would ask for larger bathroom. Bedding, towels etc very clean but I think it could benefit from some re-decoration. The cot was a good quality travel cot and the toddler slept well. I too slept well but my daughter in law found the bed hard - a personal preference I guess! We stayed second week in September and we were experiencing a cold spell of weather, and we found one room in particular cold. We did ask if central heating would be coming on later. We were told that the heating generally had not been needed but they would sort to come on - it never was put on during our stay, but we slept ok! Breakfast was excellent. Our son and wife are veggies and plenty of options for them too! Overall I would say this was very good value.

Room Tip: Was going to book through latebookings.com but when I rang hotel to check re cot, booked with them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingLotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

stayed here as went to fat duck which is about 1/12 miles away lovely view of thames from bedrooom window and staff really helpfull quality hotel for price lovely breakfast and really good location cant see why people slagging hotel off

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daz789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.2 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
1.5 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Property: The Thames Hotel
Address: Ray Mead Road, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead
The Thames Hotel Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing