We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bakehouse Guest House
Ranked #1 of 21 Maidenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The facilities are very good and I would recommend The Bakehouse as it has a charming 'home from home' feeling and Laurent makes you feel very welcome. It is not far from the town centre and train station yet the accommodation is very quiet and peaceful. Excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Stella
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you did enjoy your stay and you found The Bakehouse to be homely. I am looking forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Maidenhead.
Best wishes
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    39
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
66
97
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

On arrival was a great drive from London Heathrow terminal 4. Taxi service was good and cost £25. Upon arrival at guest house had a quick chat with owner and a friend of his Michael. Both owner and Michael great persons,seems we never wanted to go to our rooms to sleep as we had a good conversation on Malta.the guesthouse is simply perfect would recommend it and its good for business travelers coming up in this area. You have no regrets,good customer service and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattyMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hello Neil
Thank you for having taken the time to review the Bakehouse. Neil, Michael is one of the regulars but I suppose you can refer to him as a friend too :) .
For your benefit and of prospective guests, if you contact me next time you need a taxi from the airport, I will give you the details of a company charging £20.00 to collect from Heathrow but more importantly, the driver will not spend all the journey time on his mobile phone whilst driving!
I am looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Maidenhead.
Best regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Bakehouse in June while on business in Maidenhead. Laurent provides a first class accommodation. The breakfast and room are both excellent.
Thank you Laurent for making us so welcome.
Highly recommended!!
Best wishes
Bernadette and David

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingphotographers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hello Bernadette and David
Good to hear from you both and thank you for your kind review. I hope we will have the opportunity to meet again should come back to this area.
Best regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed three nights at The Bakehouse in September and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Laurent could not have been more welcoming or helpful. He provided great advice, maps and other assistance as we planned a couple of day walks along the Thames River.

Both the breakfasts and the room were very good. The ample parking at the rear of the property was also very convenient.

We would have no hesitation in recommending The Bakehouse as a base for exploring the nearby sections of the Thames Valley. It is within walking distance of Maidenhead Railway Station which provides excellent links to nearby locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredcouple03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hello Chris and Janelle
Thank you very much for having taken the time to relay your experience of The Bakehouse. I am glad you've enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am currently staying at The Bakehouse B + B I am enjoying the hospitatility so much I have booked to come here again. Whether you are looking for a business stay long or short or having a holiday in the area forget the expensive over rated hotels, this place will definitely tick all the right boxes. Clean tidy fresh and as other people have said It is like home from home. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
I used to live in Maidenhead all my live and I never even knew this place existed but know when I need to come back for work or pleasure I will always use this place as others I have tried do not come any where near to the mark.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you Michael for your kind review. I am glad you've found a new home when you need to be in Maidenhead for business and you are enjoying all the offerings of The Bakehouse.
See you later.
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have been staying at The Bakehouse for over 7 months now and I have come to regard it as "My Second Home". Having previously rented a flat for business use, I decided to opt for a B&B after being relocated to Maidenhead. This was the best decision I have made for some time! The Bakehouse is faultless with rooms and facilities that are immaculate. The food is delicious and as a host, Laurent is quite excellent; indeed, I have come to regard him as a friend. I have no hesitation in recommending The Bakehouse to anyone who is looking for a short stopover in Maidenhead or even longer - you will not be disappointed!
Laurent, thanks for all your care and attentiveness - looking forward to more of the same in the coming months!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Ian,
Thank you for your generous review; I am glad you have been enjoying your time so far at The Bakehouse. Have a good weekend and see you next week :)
BR
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at the Bakehouse for 10 months whilst down working in Maidenhead and I can honestly say this for me was as good a 'home from home' as I would never have thought possible in this day and age. Lauren's hosting (and friendship) was really valued and the facilities are first rate. Spotless rooms, clean fresh laundry, friendly guests in addition to Laurent's consistent attention to detail and customers well being for me means that I would warmly endorse the Bakehouse as number one B and B I have ever been to! Thanks Laurent for everything and hope to see you again in the future.
ps le mange et dans l'arbre, au revior...

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent p, Owner at The Bakehouse Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Lawrence
Thank you for your great review; it is so nice for me to see my guests having their life away from home being made a little bit easier by what I provide. I am already missing our little chats and your sense of humour. It was a pleasure having you here and hope to meet you again at some stage in the future. Final French lesson until next time: le singe est dans l'arbre ;)
Best wishes
Laurent
NB: I like the photo! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidenhead hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
1.5 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.5 mi away
River Arts Club
River Arts Club
#2 of 21 in Maidenhead
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse Guest House

Property: The Bakehouse Guest House
Address: 31 Wellington Road, Maidenhead SL6 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously a bakery in the early 1900s, The Bakehouse Guest House provides modern accommodation in Maidenhead's quiet residential area of St Marks. You will enjoy a small oasis of tranquillity only 15 minutes walk from both Maidenhead town centre and the railway station.Mainly catering for business people, The Bakehouse Bed and Breakfast is within a short commutable distance to Slough, Windsor, Bracknell and High Wycombe. It is also within easy reach of the popular tourist centres of Windsor, Henley on Thames, Cookham, Marlow and Ascot.Owned and managed by ex-hotelier Laurent Petas M.I.H., The Bakehouse concentrates on offering comfortable accommodation with quality pocket sprung beds, quality bathrooms with power showers and a cooked breakfast prepared healthily, making this guest house an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bakehouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Guest House Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing