We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Afloat with the best

A belated thanks to French Bros of Windsor for hosting one of our most popular group events of the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Geoff A
,
Yateley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Brilliant way to see loads of interesting stuff

We were debating whether to take the 45 minute trip but opted for the 2 hour excursion. Glad we... read more

Reviewed 15 December 2018
John M
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Read all 976 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Windsor
from US$29.38
More Info
from US$58.76
More Info
from US$45.70
More Info
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
524
236
73
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
236
73
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip cream tea minute trip top deck hour cruise boveney lock lovely trip interesting commentary pre recorded commentary steam boat running commentary friendly crew recommend this trip windsor racecourse return journey magna carta hampton court
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

Went here for my sisters 21st birthday and despite turning up on time for the last journey, we were turned away as the session had been privately booked, but we were never told this. Therefore all the money we spent getting to Windsor was for nothing. However, this we could deal with. On the other hand the rudeness of the staff member who dealt with us was appalling. My poor sister was told to F*** off on her birthday, and my mother called a b****. All of this, just because my mother pointed out the staff memeber was being sarcastic when she explained the inconvenience of the situation in terms of the travel, and of course my sisters 21st. Our day was ruined and my sister was left close to tears as a result of it. Furthermore, the office memeber who dealt with our complaint took 2 months to give us a proper reply only to say we were not deserving of a reimbursement for our troubles due to ‘video footage’. If there even was footage I can’t understand what possibly could condone this response. Fair enough our reply to being sworn at wasn’t exactly polite, but being a customer we shouldn’t have been in this situation to start with! Overall, we were treated like absolute vermin by the worker with died red hair and a nose ring (yes that’s right, you being outed), and rudely dismissed by the office staff/owner (whoever answered the emails and phone calls). PLEASE do not use this company, they are horrible and do not deserve your money!!!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank m-l-mcroy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Manager at French Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you for your review.

Readers of this review should understand that the version of events described in the review are completely different from the results of the investigation made by the Management of French Brothers involving several staff witnesses and critically CCTV footage.

It is correct that the last trip of the day did not run but a full refund was made to the customer the following day so it is not the case that we “took 2 months to give us a proper reply” providing reimbursement at the earliest reasonable opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Booked French brothers for our Christmas party and although we had a good night as it was a great bunch of people we shouldn’t have bothered with the boat and had it somewhere else.
The food was awful, a grilled turkey breast in a slightly stale bun with an unexciting salad; no veggie option meant the vegetarians in the party paid £48pp for some lettuce leaves!
Head height is an issue, two guys over 6,3” couldn’t stand up straight anywhere on the boat.
The boat was run down with old plastic chairs and no loo roll for the first 30mins of the trip!
Simply not worth the money!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank FarAway801612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Manager at French Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Thank you for your review.

We cater for the individual dietary requirements of guests on each event to ensure that their dietary needs are met. The dietary requirements were confirmed to us on the 30th November. This included dairy free and gluten free meals along with a vegan. The meal as prepared was suitable for dairy and gluten free diets, and the vegan was provided with a Portobello mushroom, sweet potato and stout pie. To reiterate I have checked and all of the special dietary elements ordered were on board.

As there was no request for any vegetarian meals, of course none were provided. We feel it is really unfair to criticise the catering on that basis of a lack of an element that was not physically requested.

To put things into perspective the Christmas party at £48 per person that was booked consists of the following:

Exclusive private charter of a vessel for 24 guests
Disco with live DJ
Christmas decorations
Hot BBQ meal

The menu consisted of:
BBQ turkey,
Hot new potatoes,
selection of 3 salads
(waldorf salad, crunchy coleslaw and tomato and grape),
Roll and butter,
Chef's selection of desserts

We are confident that readers of this review will agree that this is outstanding value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2018

had a wonderful saturday dinner time ride down the Thames. Well worth the £9.00. Drinks on board not over priced and the staff were very friendly. Evan though it was raining well worth a visit.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

There Is much Better places in Town
I will not suggest It.......
Cheap food cheap service...boring Place
Not returning...avoid

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank argentinao2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Manager at French Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

You have appeared to review us by mistake, we are a boat company and not a restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Such a good price for a 40 minute boat trip. Good pre-recorded commentary telling you about what you can see.... although there was a loud group on our boat so struggled to hear it at times. Beautiful views of the castle from a distance but sadly not up close

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank foodiedwkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews