We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor Trooper
Ranked #19 of 24 Windsor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

4 of us booked a suite in this pub/hotel. 3 beds, one bath and a little kitchenette. We were delighted with the authentic horse stables renovated into hotel rooms. The room was up a narrow flight of stairs with a little door about 5' high cut at an angle. We laughed, made tea and used the wifi that came with the hotel. We had parking too, which was not easy to locate in Windsor. It was good fun and the bartender was a delight.

Room Tip: You'll want the authentic nature of this hotel, likely built in the 1800's! It's right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyTheMilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent two nights in this little pub after two days flying. We found the location wonderful and were able to park the car off the street. We stayed in the flat with the kitchenette but didn't end up using it although it would have been very useful had we had the energy. The trooper is a very short walk to the castle and an even shorter walk to a variety of restaurants. We found this handy. It was good to be able to have a drink and a light meal on the night of our arrival. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was a wonderful central location for visiting the town of Windsor. We had been walking around the town all day, so after changing we were pleased to just walk a few yards up the road to a very good Indian Restaurant. When we returned we were delighted to find a very good band playing at the pub for the evening. We had a wonderful time. Our rooms were in the main building, and had been recently decorated. We had a very nice room and ensuite bathroom. Cannot complain at all, a big bed and great white bedding. I would not hesitate in staying here again. The following morning we had a full English breakfast which was great. Highly recommend this.

Room Tip: From reading other reviews, choose rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband booked this pub over the internet as we had friends coming over from California, they were joining a cruise and we were spending one night with them before they joined their ship. They love English beer, so we thought a pub would be an ideal setting. The pub itself is ok and looks good outside with the cascading flowers. We had to pay up front before we saw the room, so not sure what we were going to. We were sent to a small chalet block where we had a double and single bed, they were clean but the room was in desperate need of some TLC. The decor was very outdated, the bathroom was in need of a complete refurbishment. The shower was old and the tray was damaged in several places. The toilet did not flush, my husband reported it twice, but to no avail. My husband ended up turning the ball cock off and on to enable the pan to be flushed. It was leaking all over the bathroom floor and would have flooded if he had left it. Our friends room was smaller than ours, they had a room over them where people were staying, they said they were very noisy and could hear them banging around. Their bed was lumpy, ours was good, but too soft for my husband. The staff were pleasant and the food we ordered at lunchtime was pretty good, the full English breakfast was nice according to my husband and our friend. I had the continental breakfast which consisted of a large amount of fruit, cold Readybrek and a few pastries, so all in all it was not too bad. My husband's coffee was cold, the rest of us had hot chocolate which was lovely. The location is good, within walking distance of the town. On check out we asked to speak to the land lord, the pleasant young waitress eventually found him, my husband said once again about the toilet, he replied "oh yeah I'm getting the part today to sort it". My husband said that we were disappointed in the accommodation, especially as we had paid £105.00 for each room. He said that he was sorry, that it wasn't that good and was due to be refurbished in Nov/Dec time, that's why it only had three stars. I do not think it even has that! We were hoping to be able to park there for a couple of hours until there were new guests arriving but that was a no no, we left at 09.30. Do not bother with this B & B, there are some beautiful hotels in the town, which you may only have to pay a little more for, it is worth it!!! We felt a little embarrassed about the place as we had tried to get somewhere really nice for our American friends.

Room Tip: Ask if you are in the chalet block, if so ask to see before you pay. The rooms in the pub may be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 570Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a meeting nearby so decided to stay over, found the Windsor Trooper online. It was friendly, clean and well situated for the town and castle. Added bonus of having free parking behind it. The breakfast was good and they gave us a time that suited us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned from a girlie weekend at Windsor races.
All staff were friendly and they made us feel very welcome, with a special thanks to Tony the barman, who was on duty the whole weekend.
We stayed in the apartment which suited our needs, it was clean & comfortable. The apartment is quite small and cosy - sleeps 4 comfortably, but a little short on living space.
We ate in the pub for both breakfast & lunch, the food was excellent. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we stayed for one night, at a weekend, and we were both very happy with the room. It was clean, well decorated and a very comfy bed! it was about a 10 mins walk into the centre of Windsor and with the extremly high cost of parking in Windsor ,the pub car park was a bonus!! We arrived long before our check in time and they were more than happy for us to park in the car park. Although there was a band playing in the pub it did not disturb us and we were in a room directly above the pub. Over all a great place for a short break, breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb47Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
#11 of 19 in Windsor
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Trooper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Trooper

Address: 97 St Leonards Road, Barkshire, Windsor SL4 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: £79 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Trooper 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Windsor Trooper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Trooper Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing