We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...shame”
Review of 1423 China Kitchen

1423 China Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
1423 China Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 258 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: US$7 - US$46
Description: At 1423 you will find a very friendly and professional team offering the best modern Chinese food and a wonderful customer experience here in Windsor. 1423 China Kitchen is dedicated to promoting genuine traditional Chinese cuisine to local Windsor people. We are willing to provide a channel for exchanging cooking cultures of China and UK. Here we offer you quality Chinese food that is low in sodium and free from artificial flavourings as we use fresh ingredients and local Sichuan flavourings. With a professional chef team, we promise that each dish will be prepared by at least 5 professional chefs before delivery. We will start to prepare new dishes rather than pre-cooked ones as you make an order. We have 3 floors cross the building and easily catering up to 80 people. Dates, family gatherings, company parties, or business meetings are all available here. Handmade furnishings with classical Chinese style are made by 12 descendants of inherited royal carpenters for nearly 4 months.
Restaurant details
Description: At 1423 you will find a very friendly and professional team offering the best modern Chinese food and a wonderful customer experience here in Windsor. 1423 China Kitchen is dedicated to promoting genuine traditional Chinese cuisine to local Windsor people. We are willing to provide a channel for exchanging cooking cultures of China and UK. Here we offer you quality Chinese food that is low in sodium and free from artificial flavourings as we use fresh ingredients and local Sichuan flavourings. With a professional chef team, we promise that each dish will be prepared by at least 5 professional chefs before delivery. We will start to prepare new dishes rather than pre-cooked ones as you make an order. We have 3 floors cross the building and easily catering up to 80 people. Dates, family gatherings, company parties, or business meetings are all available here. Handmade furnishings with classical Chinese style are made by 12 descendants of inherited royal carpenters for nearly 4 months.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend wanted to go this place a long time ago and finally we did. For a starter we ordered Won Ton soup, dumplings and steam bun and "complimentary" very unhappy and unplesant young waitress... starters and soup was tasty - except waitress. As a main dishes we've order noodles and SIGNATURE DISH 1423 AUBERGINE - masive JOKE! Noodles were JUST alright bearly could taste any spices (no garlic or chilli) and the SIGNATURE DISH was shocking! Intead of aubergine with peppers, fungus, garlic, ginger we've received aubergine covered with oil and... thats it and we have paid for that almost £14!! It looked like side dish and was burnt :/ It is shame we didnt took any photos to proof and when I complained about it they started arguing with me. I've said politelly that I will never come back there. Wht a shame really. Just tasteless food and really bad service but thats only my experience.

1  Thank Mariusz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Best Chinese Resteraunt I have every been too.

Best Chinese restaurant I have ever been too.

Absolute must when in Windsor.

Service food fantastic.

Thank Niall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1423ChinaKitchen, Owner at 1423 China Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Niall R,
I must start by thanking you for choosing 1423 China Kitchen for your party, we are so very honoured.
Wow, your comments are brief but so very kind - genuine, heartfelt thanks from all the team here.
Hope to see you all again very soon.
With all kindest wishes,
Ying

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really helpful staff with lots of good recommendations - one of the best chinese I have been to in a long time

Thank 926rajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1423ChinaKitchen, Owner at 1423 China Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 926rajb,

So very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us here at 1423 China Kitchen – and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Your headline - Real Chinese food - pretty well sums-up our philosophy when opening our restaurant and it is most thrilling to get the ‘thumbs-up’ from such as knowledgeable guest.
We would love to see you again very soon when maybe we can offer some further recommendations.
With warmest regards,
Ying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited 1423 on a beautiful sunny afternoon and dined outside. The setting in in the heart of Windsor in very close proximity to the castle. Our waitress SIHEM was very professional, friendly and informative. The food was outstanding, I can highly recommend the special schezwan chicken and the crispy chilli beef. Looking forward to returning.

Thank mezzab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1423ChinaKitchen, Owner at 1423 China Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mezzab123,

Well of course we all remember you both, such a delightful couple, if you don’t mind me saying.
It is a genuine honour and pleasure to serve guests such as yourselves and so your very high praise is accepted with great humility - and a thousand thanks - on our part. Oh, and by the way, Sihem sends her thanks and very best wishes too.
Looking forward to seeing you both again very soon.
With kindest wishes,
Ying

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Interesting to read the mixed reviews on here. We really enjoyed the food and the staff were very helpful in assisting us with selecting the dishes, what complimented other food etc. Its set in a wonderful old building and is very comfortable..
Yes, it was quite expensive BUT it is a dining experience - and you get what you pay for.
Sweet and sour chicken served in a hollowed out pineapple - delicious!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandracul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1423ChinaKitchen, Owner at 1423 China Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear sandracul,
Thank you so much for your delightful, considered, balanced yet honest review of your visit to us here at 1423 China Kitchen – we really do appreciate it.
Thank you also for your very complimentary remarks about our lovely old building, we are very proud of its long history and it means a lot to us to read your kind thoughts.
As you say, our staff are always very happy to offer suggestions/help, if required. We feel an extra responsibility as we have whole sections of dishes on our menu that may be unfamiliar here in the UK and the last thing we want is for any guest to choose something not to their taste.
Having said that, sweet and sour chicken in a pineapple boat continues to be a particular favourite - so very pleased that you enjoyed it so much, along with the rest of your meal.
Thanks again and it was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to doing so again in the very near future.
With warmest regards,
Ying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1423 China Kitchen also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to 1423 China Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing