We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great Mixed Grill, complimented by some very fine Red wine”
Review of Windsor Grill

Windsor Grill
Ranked #5 of 265 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £35 - £60
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our passion for "simple, honest, food using only the finest ingredients" continues. Serving dry aged 35 day hung Surrey Farm Beef and a large choice fish and shellfish. Windsor Grill is a real gem, just a stone's throw from Windsor's Long Walk and two minutes from the town centre. A warm welcome greets any visitor, a cosy ambiance is created by pretty wall lights and table oil lights which gently illuminate the abundance of wall hangings and soft furnishings. For meetings and social gatherings our private dining room is stylish and a discreet hideaway. Open Wednesday to Saturday dinner from 5.00pm. Due to government instructions we will be taking last bookings at 8.30, last food orders at 9pm and guests have to vacate the restaurant by 10pm
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Whilst entertaining a client one evening we ate at the Windsor Grill and were suitably impressed.
The olives and Sesame Chicken Wings is always a good way to start the meal.
As my wife does't like liver or kidneys we never have these at home, so the signature Windsor Grill had to be my choice and I was not disappointed at all. Every item (Rump Steak, Pork Sausage, Lamb’s Kidney, Calf’s Liver, Bacon, Lamb Cutlet, Black Pudding, Chorizo, Pork Belly, Tomato & Mushrooms) were cooked to perfection and supremely complimented by the Chunky chips and Buitenverwachting Cabernet-Sauvignon-Merlot red wine...

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Milton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We were staying at The Castle Hotel in Windsor for a long weekend, after reading numerous restaurant reviews, including MPW, we decided on the Windsor Grill. What a truly lovely find. The staff were attentive without being intrusive, the food was sublime. We will definately go back when we return to Windsor later in the year!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 451he
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We left before dessert as I started to feel faint from heat, leaving half a bottle of wine and having paid a ridiculous amount of money for a sub par experience - left to boil in a downstairs cubbyhole with a group of 10 by us and a window that opened an inch and a half. We then walked to the river side and had dessert from an icecream stall so I could sit in the cool air.

Certainly the food was not good enough to warrant the money and the experience nearly saw me pass out.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We found this by accident - really tasty steak and we thought reasonably priced. However, for what is trying to be quite an up-market food place, inside could do with some love. The carpet was disgusting! Mr W-T needs to spend some money!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 629gemmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Wow! Went here with friends and we were totally amazed how lovely the food and staff are, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the food came out quite quickly and everything was very tasty, very friendly staff helps when you can't decide what piece of steak to have, we enjoyed our meals and would thoroughly recommend this hidden little gem of a Grill to all who enjoy good cuisine. I don't want to tell too many people as we might not be able to reserve a table next time we visit, but need to let all who are contemplating and looking for something special this is the place!! 👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ailem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Windsor Grill also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.