We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dee & Steve's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dee & Steve's B&B
Ranked #13 of 22 Windsor B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Amazing location, incredibly friendly owners, amazing cooking and a great social environment around the breakfast table. The B&B is a short walk from the train station, town, and castle. This small B&B is comfortable, cozy, and truly a gem. Dee & Steve gave us water and snacks each day as well as setting out some breakfast for us when we had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight. Highly recommended for anyone who will be staying in the London area.
-Seth & Rebecca

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sethme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
22
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at Dee&Steve's B&B during Royal Ascot for three nights. We had two single rooms, one ensuite, one with shared facilities. The ensuite was in fact a double room, but we paid just the single room price. The rooms were quite small (as expected in an english B&B) but spotlessly clean. They got cleaned every day and were equiped with everything you need (WiFi, TV, tea/coffee, a bottle of water, towels, hair dryer...) The shared toilet and bathroom was also very clean, but bring slippers, as the carpet on the floor can get wet.
The people who run the place are lovely! Never met nicer people in any other place. They can give you many tips where to go, what to do, they will book taxis for you or just chat with you during breakfast. Made us feel like being part of their family.
The breakfast war great, fresh and delicious. We got fruit salad every morning, not just the "standard" with apples and bananas, but also with strawberries, rasberries, blueberries... They have a menu from which you can choose your favorite breakfast (bacon, eggs, creals, muesli...)
The B&B is very good located as it's just a few minutes walk to the town centre, the railway station (only 30-50 minutes to London Paddington) and Windsor Castle. The street is ve4ry quiet, almost no traffic. There are also many nice pubs just around the corner, ask Dee for tips!
We plan to go to Royal Ascot again next year and we will definitely stay again at Dee & Steve's B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclomania1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

You get the warmest of welcomes Dee and Steve’s that you can be assured of, however it is by far from the best B&B at I have stayed in, for the same money and location, I was very disappointed.

The single room was very small, the bed was placed under the slopping roof in the attic of the house, which ensured that every time you got up you banged your head, the window was in the roof with a blind which did not block any light out and might as well not have been there.

The kettle was on the floor, hidden behind the set of drawers, nowhere to plug in the laptop let alone work, no chair, a cramped room with a basin.

The bathroom was tired and need of update, the shower was terrible and dirty, the carpet on the floor was wet from other peoples use, not nice, I personally hate carpet in a bathroom.

Breakfast was around the breakfast bar in the kitchen, you watched the lady cook in front of you, not for me, the lack of sausages was annoying.

Sorry but this is an experience that I will not be repeating, simple problems which could be easily put right but they owners seem to have slipped into auto pilot and forgotten that we are now in the 21st century.

Room Tip: do not book the single room in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Half the pleasure of B&B's is meeting the people who run them. Dee and Steve were both marvellous. Our room was small - but they always are in British B& B's. The food was great, and we were just a 10-minute walk from the castle - and also a 2-minute walk to some local pubs.
Would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We went there at beginning of august, during the Olympics. The location is very good, you can participially be anywhere in Windsor in ~ 5 minutes.
The rooms are small, but we did not expected more from a B&B. You have you bathroom in the room, which was good. Some rooms does not have a door to the bathroom (our did not have) so if you have a problem with this...
The room is for sleep only (no space for other things) but hey, who goes to Windsor to stay in the room. I would recommend choosing a room which is not in direct link with the lobby/breakfast area, because it can be a bit noisy in the morning or in the evenings.
Apart from that, the owners are extremely friendly, great help including getting there from the airport, so a very nice stay.
For a B&B I would definitely recommend it for a short stay. (few days)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzilardVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of glamorgan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were very fortunate to stay at Dee and Steves for a few days over the Olympic period. Dee is wonderful, warm and kind. We were given an exceptionally clean room, it was compact and bijou but totally adequate. Due to an early event on the first morning we would be leaving before the alotted breakfast time, dee very kindly left out cereals and toast etc. The B & B is a perfect location for exploring Windsor with the city being just a 3 min walk. Parking isnt really an issue, we were able to drop our bags then drive to the end of a short street, turn left and if you continue about 50 yards across the lights and under the bridge you will arrive at a very reasonable long stay carpark, which sits right next to the river. We only paid £12 for the whole weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosValeofglamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

To be fair I had quite a high expectation of this B&B based on the previous reviews but on arrival I was a little disheartened, for example the room I stayed in was probably a 1* standard at best. I think there are other rooms available so perhaps I'm being a bit unkind however, for the price in this area please manage your expectations - it was adequate for a night. All told it was clean if rather tired, though the double bed was comfortable enough, the owner (Dee) was very helpful and friendly and I am sure they try to accommodate your needs. You will enjoy a freshly cooked breakfast (made by Ann) where you sit with the other guests around the breakfast bar - so if you’re not the social type this might not be for you. Parking is an issue on Oxford Road (like most of Windsor) and you find that it is all allocated to residents so you have to park in a nearby car park. Please note that this is not a VAT registered business and they do not take cards which is a pain if you are on business expenses: flip side, just remember these are decent people trying to earn a living in these difficult times (I believe that they also run a glazing business too). I can't comment on the clientele at the weekend but during the week I would say this is not really a couples or family place but more for solo business and contractors. I think that is a fair comment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.5 mi away
Crown And Cushion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dee & Steve's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dee & Steve's B&B

Property: Dee & Steve's B&B
Address: 169 Oxford Road, Windsor SL4 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dee & Steve's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dee & Steve's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing