We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
ClarionHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Oakley Court(Windsor)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Eton)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Christopher Hotel(Eton)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Union Inn(Old Windsor)(Great Value!)
US$97
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,053)
Filter reviews
3,053 results
Traveller rating
2,082
699
189
63
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,082
699
189
63
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingcupcakesopposite the castlelovely hotelcar parkhigh streetperfect locationcooked breakfastmini barweekend breakwould highly recommend this hotellovely touchexecutive roomfantastic staylovely roombreakfast was excellentstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
2,517 - 2,522 of 3,053 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Arriving there by taxi was a bit weird as you need to enter the hotel at the back (not allowed to stop in front of the hotel).
Nothing particular to comment on the hotel. Rooms are very nice, beds are comfortable and shower is wonderful. Breakfast was ok. The area is very nice.
Big advantage is of course the distance from Heathrow airport.
If I would go back to Windsor, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Keppebolletje

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for one night celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary. We booked after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was very stylish and had a warm atmosphere. We didn't book the car park in advance due to an error on our part but after ringing was recommended the king Edward court nearby. We were however able to drop our bags round the back entrance to the hotel and they kept it for later when we checked in. The car park we used was literally a 5 min walk through the shops and was actually cheaper! £20 for 24 hours and by normal hourly charges for anything over. Hotel carpark was £25. We also didn't have to wait for our bags and car to be found on check out which was good as it was very busy on checkout and I'm sure we would have had to wait in a queue!
Check in was smooth although the girl on reception seemed a bit flustered! We had a room on 4th floor. A nice double room but unfortunately it overlooked the back of the hotel! Can't win them all I guess. Lovely decor, complimentary water and tea, coffee etc as expected and bath robes were a nice touch. Lovely bathroom but the shower was a bit of a letdown! It looked lovely but the only way you could get decent pressure was to have it cold! A hot shower produced a very slow faint stream! Annoying! I also couldn't get the heating working when I was a bit chilly so gave up! There was also a rumbling noise constantly and on looking out the window there were massive roof pipes etc. this was annoying but after a while you shut it out!!! that mixed with the obvious plane noises overhead you may need earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I was also woken by what sounded like a whole bin of empty bottles being poured into a truck ! my child free lie in wasnt so peaceful after all!!!!! We didn't have breakfast included in our rate and certainly weren't going to pay £17.50 each. Bit extortionate I thought. There are stacks of little cafes around that looked lovely so would recommend this. Lunch on day we arrived was at two brewers right at the end of the high street. Oldy worldy pub but just perfect for a light bite. Dinner in the evening was at The Green Olive. Gorgeous food and atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend!
I would recommend this hotel but would have given it 5 stars if there weren't a few little niggles

Room Tip: Front of hotel not the back
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Dawnexe

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall despite the shortfalls you experienced.

I appreciate your constructive feedback, which will be discussed with the team for training purposes, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent two nights here in an executive double room, out the front facing the Castle. Location is excellent for sightseeing (the changing of the Castle guard occurred right outside our window) and close to both stations for travelling to London. The room was of reasonable size, very well fitted-out, comfortable and quiet. The layout of the hotel owes more to history than design, so access to our room involved something of an unguided tour around corridors and up and down steps, from the lifts. The meals in the restaurant were very good, although expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room rate was reasonably high, but appropriate to the season and location and overall represented good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear A53

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stylishly decorated rooms with Bose docking stations. I had a lovely (toy) wooden cow in my room (Ash room) which added a novel touch. The rooms were VERY hot over night and most of our group struggled to sleep because of this. The beds were very comfortable though.

Unfortunately the service let them down upon check out - they offered to put our bags in our cars to help us with a quick getaway after our onsite meeting (it's an underground carpark with a restricted number of parking spaces. They insist on the valet parking service, hence the offer of taking your bags down for you) but the gentleman that was in charge of this seemed to get very confused and made what should have been an excellent customer service touch became a protracted discussion resulting in frustration on both sides.

Breakfast was unfortunately awful! We ordered hot drinks and a hot breakfast with toast. Not remotely complicated! The overcooked, dry baked beans arrived before the drinks and were left going cold whilst we had to repeatedly ask out waiter to bring the toast!

I'd still stay here again though, it's a stylish hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths, so ask if you want one and ask for a view of the castle.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear KirstyandTom

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and would like to apologise for the service shortfalls you experienced which I can assure you is not reflective of our usual levels of service.

I appreciate your constructive feedback, which will be discussed with the team for training purposes, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a smart, stylish, contemporary hotel that is ideally placed in the centre of Windsor. It is very close to the entrance to Windsor Castle and shopping/eating areas and is within a five minute downhill walk to the river and about 10-15 minutes to Eton College. The hotel appears to focus particularly on the needs of business people but is also at home with couples and families.
The front entrance of the hotel is not immediately obvious as it is rather narrow and is taken up principally with a revolving door. Inside is a long, narrow passageway that runs alongside a narrow lounge area.
The venue opens out towards the back into a substantially larger dining area which serves extremely good breakfasts. We assume that evening meals are equally good, but we chose to eat in nearby restaurants instead.
Our bedroom was very comfortable with a sparklingly clean and up to date shower/bathroom.
Serving staff were helpful in their behaviour, but unfortunately made a number of irritating small mistakes. For example, we had the wrong newspaper delivered on the wrong day; a waiter attempted to charge us for two coffees which we had not ordered; an order for a small spritzer was delivered as an excessively large one; a cooked breakfast was provided too soon and when we asked for it to be held back for five minutes the staff just let it go cold. All this happened over just one weekend - not an impressive performance.
We would still visit this hotel again, mainly on account of its excellent location and breakfasts, but we find it sad that a hotel that has the potential to rate "excellent" shoots itself in the foot with so many silly little mistakes. It should do better.

Room Tip: Not all rooms of equal grade are of equal size. Room no. 125 is nicely spacious, whereas room no. 123 is smaller.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryphaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Tryphaena

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel
following your stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, however may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with some of the aspects of your stay. I would like to assure you that this is in no way reflective of our usual standards of service and please be assured that I am investigating into your comments to ensure that any future disappointment could be avoided.

I appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to my attention and do hope you will return to the hotel.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews