We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Can't beat the location - right across from Windsor Castle and a quick drive to the airport. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Well-designed rooms with comfortable beds. Loved the complimentary tea and cookies, especially as it was such a cold day when we arrived. Also enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby; great place to hang out and have drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Catherine F

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular our location, the service from the team, your bedroom and the tea and cookies! We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,902
    621
    164
    54
    14
See reviews for
423
1,495
66
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at the Macdonald Windsor for a long weekend break. The hotel is very well placed directly opposite Windsor Castle and within walking distance of the High Street, restaurants and Eton (although this is a bit more of a walk).

The rooms were extremely clean, spacious and modern. A particular highlight was the bathroom which was very well equipped.

The bar downstairs was well staffed with friendly waiters who remembered names and drinks orders for the three days that we were there and it was great place to start an evening out (although the prices are slightly higher than one would expect).

Although not as close to the river or the railway station as its competitors, we had no issues getting anywhere on foot. Don't let the fact that the entrance to the hotel is rather small and on the roadside or that a portion of it is over a separately owned cafe put you off. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear tasstw

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular our location, your bedroom and the service you received at the bar. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Arriving there by taxi was a bit weird as you need to enter the hotel at the back (not allowed to stop in front of the hotel).
Nothing particular to comment on the hotel. Rooms are very nice, beds are comfortable and shower is wonderful. Breakfast was ok. The area is very nice.
Big advantage is of course the distance from Heathrow airport.
If I would go back to Windsor, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Keppebolletje

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for one night celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary. We booked after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was very stylish and had a warm atmosphere. We didn't book the car park in advance due to an error on our part but after ringing was recommended the king Edward court nearby. We were however able to drop our bags round the back entrance to the hotel and they kept it for later when we checked in. The car park we used was literally a 5 min walk through the shops and was actually cheaper! £20 for 24 hours and by normal hourly charges for anything over. Hotel carpark was £25. We also didn't have to wait for our bags and car to be found on check out which was good as it was very busy on checkout and I'm sure we would have had to wait in a queue!
Check in was smooth although the girl on reception seemed a bit flustered! We had a room on 4th floor. A nice double room but unfortunately it overlooked the back of the hotel! Can't win them all I guess. Lovely decor, complimentary water and tea, coffee etc as expected and bath robes were a nice touch. Lovely bathroom but the shower was a bit of a letdown! It looked lovely but the only way you could get decent pressure was to have it cold! A hot shower produced a very slow faint stream! Annoying! I also couldn't get the heating working when I was a bit chilly so gave up! There was also a rumbling noise constantly and on looking out the window there were massive roof pipes etc. this was annoying but after a while you shut it out!!! that mixed with the obvious plane noises overhead you may need earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I was also woken by what sounded like a whole bin of empty bottles being poured into a truck ! my child free lie in wasnt so peaceful after all!!!!! We didn't have breakfast included in our rate and certainly weren't going to pay £17.50 each. Bit extortionate I thought. There are stacks of little cafes around that looked lovely so would recommend this. Lunch on day we arrived was at two brewers right at the end of the high street. Oldy worldy pub but just perfect for a light bite. Dinner in the evening was at The Green Olive. Gorgeous food and atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend!
I would recommend this hotel but would have given it 5 stars if there weren't a few little niggles

Room Tip: Front of hotel not the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Dawnexe

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall despite the shortfalls you experienced.

I appreciate your constructive feedback, which will be discussed with the team for training purposes, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent two nights here in an executive double room, out the front facing the Castle. Location is excellent for sightseeing (the changing of the Castle guard occurred right outside our window) and close to both stations for travelling to London. The room was of reasonable size, very well fitted-out, comfortable and quiet. The layout of the hotel owes more to history than design, so access to our room involved something of an unguided tour around corridors and up and down steps, from the lifts. The meals in the restaurant were very good, although expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room rate was reasonably high, but appropriate to the season and location and overall represented good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear A53

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stylishly decorated rooms with Bose docking stations. I had a lovely (toy) wooden cow in my room (Ash room) which added a novel touch. The rooms were VERY hot over night and most of our group struggled to sleep because of this. The beds were very comfortable though.

Unfortunately the service let them down upon check out - they offered to put our bags in our cars to help us with a quick getaway after our onsite meeting (it's an underground carpark with a restricted number of parking spaces. They insist on the valet parking service, hence the offer of taking your bags down for you) but the gentleman that was in charge of this seemed to get very confused and made what should have been an excellent customer service touch became a protracted discussion resulting in frustration on both sides.

Breakfast was unfortunately awful! We ordered hot drinks and a hot breakfast with toast. Not remotely complicated! The overcooked, dry baked beans arrived before the drinks and were left going cold whilst we had to repeatedly ask out waiter to bring the toast!

I'd still stay here again though, it's a stylish hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths, so ask if you want one and ask for a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear KirstyandTom

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and would like to apologise for the service shortfalls you experienced which I can assure you is not reflective of our usual levels of service.

I appreciate your constructive feedback, which will be discussed with the team for training purposes, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a smart, stylish, contemporary hotel that is ideally placed in the centre of Windsor. It is very close to the entrance to Windsor Castle and shopping/eating areas and is within a five minute downhill walk to the river and about 10-15 minutes to Eton College. The hotel appears to focus particularly on the needs of business people but is also at home with couples and families.
The front entrance of the hotel is not immediately obvious as it is rather narrow and is taken up principally with a revolving door. Inside is a long, narrow passageway that runs alongside a narrow lounge area.
The venue opens out towards the back into a substantially larger dining area which serves extremely good breakfasts. We assume that evening meals are equally good, but we chose to eat in nearby restaurants instead.
Our bedroom was very comfortable with a sparklingly clean and up to date shower/bathroom.
Serving staff were helpful in their behaviour, but unfortunately made a number of irritating small mistakes. For example, we had the wrong newspaper delivered on the wrong day; a waiter attempted to charge us for two coffees which we had not ordered; an order for a small spritzer was delivered as an excessively large one; a cooked breakfast was provided too soon and when we asked for it to be held back for five minutes the staff just let it go cold. All this happened over just one weekend - not an impressive performance.
We would still visit this hotel again, mainly on account of its excellent location and breakfasts, but we find it sad that a hotel that has the potential to rate "excellent" shoots itself in the foot with so many silly little mistakes. It should do better.

Room Tip: Not all rooms of equal grade are of equal size. Room no. 125 is nicely spacious, whereas room no. 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryphaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Tryphaena

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel
following your stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, however may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with some of the aspects of your stay. I would like to assure you that this is in no way reflective of our usual standards of service and please be assured that I am investigating into your comments to ensure that any future disappointment could be avoided.

I appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to my attention and do hope you will return to the hotel.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing