We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macdonald comes up trumps again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Once again the Macdonald chain of hotels has come up trumps with its Windsor hotel.

Ideally situated in the town centre opposite the quirky Crooked House of Windsor, it's quaint high street entrance complete with topiary hanging crowns, is deceiving to how big the actual hotel is. It has more of a boutique townhouse feel to it, than some of the other Macdonald hotels we've stayed in but that is just the kind of style that we like in a hotel.

It looks clean, modern and sultry whilst also maintaining a good level of customer service. We were greeted by a smiling enthusiastic and chatty member of staff at check-in, who processed our arrival in an efficient and friendly manner.

We stayed in a Classic Double which although is considered the "cheapest" of the room options on offer, it is styled and presented in as equally a high standard as the rest of the hotel. As soon as we left the lifts up to our floor, we picked up on the subtle lavender scent that had been used in the pale purple themed corridors and in the rooms. There is lavender flavoured toiletries and hangers in the wardrobe with lavender pouches also. Small and unexpected touches to make the room feel that bit more special than your standard room.

Free wi-fi and a television with Freeview channel choices were other welcome additions.

We visited Windsor for a weekend break from London, and being new to the area and not knowing where best to go for an evening meal, we opted to eat in the hotel's restaurant Caley's - which is unusual for us, as we usually like to venture out of the hotel for an evening meal. The service was great and the food was reasonably priced for what is essentially a range of steak and meat grills. Both my partner and I were satisfied with our meals. My only criticism was the half-chicken I ordered was fairly small in size and the quality of the meat on the chicken was so poor that I didn't feel I had my money's worth in terms of the meat that would have been nice to eat.

The staff in the restaurant were as attentive and friendly as the staff at Reception.

After dinner we went back to our room and asked the concierge if a bucket of ice could be delivered to the room. This was done no problem and the delivery of the ice was efficient too.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again in the future. We both agreed that we should visit more Macdonald hotels because we are rarely left disappointed by them.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joerack121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear joemcd121

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed with your stay overall and I appreciate such a detailed review. I was however sorry to learn of your disappointment with your meal. I would like to assure you that I have discussed your comments with our head chef who has asked especially to be associated with my apology.

We appreciate such constructive feedback and hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,339 - 2,345 of 2,970 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on a short trip to London. On the whole, top marks. It really puts a lot of London hotels to shame, both in terms of the standard of the rooms and value for money.

The location is pretty good (unless you really want to go into central London). Since I was not going to central London, I decided to stay in Windsor because 1) Windsor itself is a lovely little town with great shops, 2) it is close to Heathrow, 3) it is also close(ish) to west London (Richmond, etc).

The hotel itself is literally across from the Castle, which makes it idea as a base, if you are a tourist and want to explore the area (Windsor, Bray, etc). You can comfortably spend two days in Windsor (including the castle). From the outside, the hotel really doesn't look like much and the first time you go there it is easy to miss the entrance to the hotel. In my view, the selling proposition is the rooms. If you want modern and efficient, you will be pleasantly surprised. However, if you want "charm and character" (i.e. draughty windows, tired furniture and old rooms), this place is not for you. (Getting to the rooms is a bit of a maze, but that is ok unless you have young kids and are dealing with a pram/stroller).

I had food at the hotel (mostly breakfast and one late dinner) and it was ok. Nothing super memorable, but I was not staying at the hotel for the food. Service was friendly and Ok. It could have been a bit more "on the ball", but it was perfectly acceptable.

On the whole, I was pleasantly surprised. I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paisa_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Paisa_on_the_go

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location.

It is great to know that the team were friendly and attentive and that you will return - we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I had a great time visiting the MacDonald. The gentleman who checked me in at 9 p.m. on Monday was exceptionally pleasant and efficient. My two room service experiences while there were both top-notch. The room I was given was clean and spacious. My only complaint, if it counts, is that I was given a room with two twin beds and the one I'd used was very narrow. But it was comfortable and, once I had gotten used to trying not to fall off the bed, it was fine. You can't beat the location on High Street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAEWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear LAEWorldTraveler

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the reception team.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have written a previous review of the Macdonald hotel saying how much I enjoyed my stay there. In fact, I returned several times and when I relocated back to the UK and started a new job, I chose this hotel to stay in. It was 7am on my first day in my new job, the hotel has a concierge service and will bring the car up to you. At this time, I still had a left hand drive car as I was still in the process of moving country and I offered to bring it up myself but they like to do this themselves for insurance reasons - I did check because driving a left hand drive is very different. I looked at my car as it came up and the entire right hand side of the car had been scraped and dented, missing door handle - see photos. It took 9 weeks to get the car repaired. Followed by a further 5 weeks to repair the damage not fixed by the first company. It took nearly 6 months in total - 6 months with no car (the insurance car paid for a hire car for 11 days), paying very expensive insurance, car repayments etc. I was still relocating and so had to return to Luxemburg without a car for my final two weeks in the country. I was eventually reimbursed for flights and a couple of other bits and pieces by the insurance company but the overall stress of having to worry about the car, getting it fixed at a time I was due to sell it in Luxemburg and then ended up with having to sell it at considerably below market value in the UK because it was left hand drive was enormous on top of already relocating. The hotel? They were overall apologetic. They took the cost of a meal off my bill. I paid the rest of the bill in full. That was it. Obviously I won't stay at this hotel again but frankly, after all the hassle, I deserved a week's spa stay in their most lavishing room and with a butler - complete nightmare! Be aware!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
6  Thank Liketravelling37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a beautiful hotel conveniently located in the centre of Windsor. I use this hotel regularly and the staff are so pleasant and welcoming that a spending a night here is thoroughly relaxing and sets you up for a busy following day.

Room Tip: They are all nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EwenColquhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear EwenColquhoun

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Sad we only had one night at this lovely hotel. We did get lost finding the hotel but the very helpful concierge guided us by phone into the carpark.

Reception staff professional and helpful. Our room was the right temperature on our arrival and what a lovely room. We were able to check in early and we found the restaurant and bar staff went the extra mile to make us feel welcome..
What a good location the hotel is and amazingly we found it quiet and the aircraft (in the day every 90 seconds!) did not disturb us.
We did not have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was excellent.
Hopefully we shall visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwiththewind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear johnwiththewind

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your room, the location and breakfast.

We hope to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I have stayed at the MacDonald Windsor on a number of occasions and I am already planning my next visit. I just love this hotel. The staff are very welcoming, the service is excellent. I have stayed in both a classic room and a suite, and cannot fault either of them. It is a wonderful place to stay to have a quiet, relaxing weekend in gorgeous surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Natalie F

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visits. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and that you enjoyed your rooms and the surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: £107 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing