We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent our anniversary weekend here and it was just perfect! Our suite was fantastic and the staff had left us a card, cupcakes and our favourite wine to help us celebrate! The staff are so pleasant and helpful all over the hotel and Caleys food is superb. We stayed for 2 nights and had room service breakfast on the first morning. It was brought up promptly and was fresh and steaming hot. The dinners in the restaurant were to die for: filet steak, shin of beef, Sunday roast and the desserts are amazing too! I would highly recommend this hotel and it's amazing staff to anyone visiting Windsor! We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vdavey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel – congratulations again on your anniversary!

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the staff. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    638
    170
    56
    17
See reviews for
432
1,537
69
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A nice pleasant hotel with friendly staff. It's much bigger inside than it appears outside. Convenient location right on the high street opposite Windsor Castle. Check in was smooth. Was given a room on the first floor. Room was nice and every thing was in good condition. Nicely decorated too. Complimentary jug of water and free wifi. Didn't have any view though as the window opened up to some other building. Free wifi which was fast.

Very friendly staff in the lounge. Was working there with a colleague and we ordered some tea. We were also given some biscuits and scones to sample at no charge which was very nice.

Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team were friendly and you enjoyed your room and lounge experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Coming from someone who stayed in over 50 hotels throughout the world last year alone, this one has to be the best service of any hotel.

I booked the parking, although the price was steep the service was brilliant. Check-in was seemless and the whole team are very friendly.

Have to say it's very misleading, a small entrance opens out to a very well presented hotel. Room was perfect, the little touches are what makes a difference. Happy with the speakers in the bathroom as well, great for getting ready.

Best touch was at about midnight, when the next door hotel decided to turn their music up full blast, after speaking with the very friendly night team who tried to reason with the hotel, they instantly gave us a room key for the room opposite and let us stay in there. Brilliant response to a potential dealbreaker for future stays.

Breakfast was exemplary, enough food fit for a banquet and the service was brilliant.

I would recommend this to anyone, staff very helpful and friendly, check-in and check-out was simple, nothing was an issue. If only staff thorughout the world adopted this attitude to clients TripAdvisor would not be needed!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicholas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Weenjoyed a weekend stay in this hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent. Only complaints was not being able to have a window open to let some fresh air in, and the water could have been a bit warmer.
the bar and food area was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to any couple wishing to visit Windsor

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your room and Caleys, however I would like to apologise for the maintenance shortfalls you experienced.

I am pleased that despite this, you would recommend the hotel and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Great staff - nothing too much trouble. Genuinely family friendly; happy to do kids' meals throughout the day and made a fuss of the little ones. The location is superb and made it really easy to do two vists to the castle.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay with your family - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Flawless service from beginning to end, made to feel very special indeed. Our room was really lovely, loved the gadgets, and little extras. The food in restaurant is superb and we had a very good meal and followed this up with breakfast the next morning. Excellent location, and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your visit, in particular the service from the team, your bedroom and your restaurant experience. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, restaurant very good, location excellent, but the stand out point here was the staff and the service. Matthew on reception was particularly helpful and friendly. Our one complaint , and the reason why I have given only a 4 rating, was that our room was above the extractor from the restaurant and smelt very badly of cooking to the point where our clothes took in the smell. Reception did deal with this well but by the time this happened and bearing in mind we were staying only for one night , we lived with it but would recommend not staying in room 425. However the hotel was lovely and we're pretty sure you're safe in most other rooms and it wouldn't stop us recommending this as a great choice

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank faye12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially your restaurant experience, the staff and our location, however may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with the maintenance shortfalls you experienced in your room.

I would like to assure you that this is in no way reflective of our usual standards and please be assured that this matter has been addressed by our Maintenance Manager.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing