We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is very nice but really not worth the money, I booked a suite and we were very disappointed, we really expected a lot more , we normally stay in Mayfair in a far nicer hotel for a lot less and if I have another function in Windsor I will get a taxi to the event.
The location is great but the hotel is charging far too much for the rooms just because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent celebration stay with family and friends.

I was extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay. We usually receive such good feedback about our suites and I am sorry that you felt you had been overcharged. Please be assured that I will be reviewing our prices to ensure that they remain fair and competitive.0

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    624
    167
    55
    14
See reviews for
426
1,509
67
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here for a two night weekend break at the end of April, the hotel was spotless and the service was fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay, and had a room overlooking the high street and Windsor Castle. Loved sitting by the roaring fire with a night cap each night, after a great meal in the hotels restaurant. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you enjoyed the service from the team!

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very convenient for castle visiting and close to many restaurants. Our room was very comfortable and quiet even though it faced the main street. Friendly staff and the ambiance of the entry and lounge area is very inviting.
I would like to give it 5 stars but a couple of bothersome issues:
The bottom of the shower was in need of some grout repair. Also the shower was door-less and no matter what I tried I could not keep from getting a good deal of water on the bathroom floor. We have been in several other hotels with a similar feature, but this was by far the messiest.
Finally, as I checked out, the clerk commented that he thought I had a high room rate! I had never had anyone say this before and I wish I had the composure to negotiate a lower rate, although we had booked a larger than normal room. I went back and confirmed that it was the rate I booked, but I was taken aback and even now I have this nagging feeling I was overcharged. Any way not the way I wanted to leave a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10071stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your room.

I was sorry to note the problems you encountered with your shower and your concerns regarding your room rate - please do contact me directly (gm.windsor@macdonald-hotels.co.uk) so that I can address these matters with the team and reassure you personally.

We hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited with friends for a great weekend away. Very comfortable clean modern room with all usual facilities. Wide selection of choice at breakfast. Staff very helpful and accommodating as we arrived early. We will return if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the team were helpful and accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night 6th June 2014 in room 320. It was our wedding anniversary and I had been recommended the hotel by a work colleague. From the moment you arrive to have your car parked you are treated like a VIP. The hotel looks small but once in it is very spacious. On checking in the staff wished us a happy anniversary and on entering our room a card welcoming us along with 2 beautiful cup cakes in individual boxes. What a lovely touch! An excellent nights sleep was had, the room was gorgeous! Breakfast was fantastic with a personal service offered. I can't wait to stay again which I will! 10/10 !!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flexyflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel – congratulations again on your anniversary!

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service from the team. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband was working in the area so we combined business with pleasure... And it was indeed a pleasure to stay at this stylish hotel.
We booked last minute and got a good deal.
The hotel is deceptively spacious, no views or windows from the bar or lounge areas, but the decor was modern & extremely comfortable with a ' boutique' atmosphere.
We were very impressed with our room. We were at the front of the hotel with views over the high street. The room was well furnished and well equipped with a large sofa, extremely large comfy bed, and enormous bathroom.
We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant, the steak is their specialty, and it was excellent.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful the hotel is perfectly located and I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the team!

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 times in 2004
Always a welcoming reception. Excellent breakfast and restaurant service. Rooms large and clean. Great bathrooms. Great location (see the guards changing). Niggles:- Bar service can be iffy. If a drink arrives with unwanted ice I do not expect it to be fished out and returned to me! Car park £28 a night! For guests! Sorry that is T T P. You get £10 bar credit which is a nice touch. Overall would recommend for business or pleasure. Avoid Royal Horse Show week, they smash the price up, as do most hotels.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hotel overall, however may I apologise for your disappointment with the shortfalls you experienced. Your comments have been shared with the team so that any similar lapses can be avoided.

I appreciate you bringing such constructive and helpful feedback to my attention.

We appreciate the recommendation and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing