We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel with my husband and two children aged 5 and 6. It was a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The service we received was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for business, with friends or family. The food was lovely, the rooms were amazing and the staff were so attentive and welcoming. Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If you stay at the front of the hotel you have an amazing view of Windsor Castle. We were in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Straker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, your room and the food you experienced. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 3,001 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was first class in every way. All rooms were exceptionally clean and had every item that you may require had you not brought them with you. The staff were attentive to all your needs, David Lawson, head concierge could not do enough so that your stay at the hotel was memorable. The food was excellent and well presented Both my partner and myself would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Our room number was 205 and if all the other rooms are the same as this one any room allocated would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Looking for a hotel in Windsor for our Wedding Reception, we almost missed the Macdonald with its modest High Street entrance. However, once we stepped through the revolving door we discovered an absolute gem – modern in style but traditional in the quality of the service provided; this classy hotel and its very professional staff were a perfect match for our Guildhall Wedding ceremony on 14th June 2014.

From our initial meetings with Hannah and Caroline, the event co-ordinators, to our final thank you to the Concierge, we found the Macdonald Windsor team had a thoroughly ‘can do’ attitude toward satisfying our requirements. Most significantly this entailed re-configuring Caleys Restaurant to accommodate our 26 guests.

Come the big day, arrival drinks and canapés flowed with ease – followed by a perfectly timed and delicious lunch. Service throughout was excellent from the charming and friendly staff.

All this in the heart of Windsor – superb!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandSue152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your wedding reception at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel!

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your special day with us, particularly the helpfulness of the staff. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I booked an executive double room at this hotel to celebrate my son's 1st birthday with my wife. We arrived and left our car with the concierge as I had booked parking with the hotel, this was a stress free process. The staff were friendly and always happy to help. The room was very spacious even with a cot bed set up. We used the hotel's cot bed which was very clean and lined with clean sheets. The room had modern decor and was clean as was the bathroom. I had booked afternoon tea for the first day which was served in the lounge and it was great. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and the breakfast was nice but the restaurant vegetarian menu was lacking variety. The staff were great and offered the lounge menu in the restaurant. The restaurant staff also brought out a cupcake with a sparkler for my son as it was his birthday. This hotel appears to cater for all, couples, business users and families. Windsor Castle is just across the road, the river Thames was only a 15 minute walk and you can cross the river in to Eton. I would strongly recommend trying to get a castle view room as we had a courtyard view. This didn't really effect our stay but a room with a view would be welcomed by anybody.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sukhjinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked for two nights and I wasn't let down in any way. Room fantastic, food yummy and staff very attentive. Location just great. In all, we had a great weekend and I would definitely go there again. Top marks to MacDonald Windsor.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobdawson1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and your room.

It is great to know that the team were attentive and that you will return - we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Booked at this hotel for two nights and had an amazing time. Had a meal in Restaraunt which was superb. Our room had all the comforts you would expect for this standard of hotel. Staff were really pleasant as well as being helpful. Excellent hotel - highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your room and dinner experience.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our stay at Macdonald Windsor was very enjoyable although a little expensive. It is in an excellent location on the high street just across the road from Windsor Castle and close to restaurants and shops. The hotel has lots of character and is very well presented. We dined at the restaurant one evening which was very good. Breakfast was a bit over priced we felt.

Room Tip: We stayed in in room 404 which was perfect with lots of character. Although on the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speckles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your constructive feedback with the team as I know they will be motivated by it.

Please be assured that I will be reviewing our pricing to ensure that we remain fair and competitive. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: £140 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing