We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel *****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for one night and wished I was staying longer. First impressions were great, the location - well you can see Windsor castle while standing out the front of the hotel, step inside to a very warm and welcoming lobby with plenty of sofas. Check in was very fast and the staff very polite and informative.

Room, I stayed on level 3 and the room was very big, from the outside you wouldn't believe the size. Very clean and well presented, both the room and the bathroom. All the amenities you could need for a short stay. Bed and pillows very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely, great service and very tasty food. Plenty of choice from the continental buffet to the menu.

Will defiantly be returning to this hotel, you can not fault it. The location and service were exceptional, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed our location, your room and breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,890)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,792 - 1,798 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband and 9 year old daughter. This hotel is lovely - fantastic location, the rooms are gorgeous (and nice and dark and quiet at night). We were greeted at reception by a lovely lady called Maggie who could not have been more helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The breakfast was beautiful and the concierge incredibly helpful.
I have to say that the only slight negative was that one or two of the male serving staff in the restaurant were a bit 'snooty' and appeared much more interested in attending to the needs of adult only parties and less tolerant of families, (and we have a well-behaved 9 year old who was supervised at all times). I only mentioned this because we experienced this on both mornings we stayed - so it seemed not to be an exception. Having said that, we would definitely stay again based on location, comfort and luxury. Also, given that there did seem to be a few families staying because of the proximity to Legoland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelec69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel recently, especially the welcome you received on arrival, your room and our location. I was however extremely sorry to note that you were disappointed with the service you experienced in the restaurant.

On receiving your feedback I have instigated a programme of retraining with the team to ensure that we continue to deliver the high standards our guests deserve - I would like to assure you that this is not the family focused level of service we usually pride ourselves in offering.

I appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel - indeed to contact me direct when you have a date in mind.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were impressed by the great reviews and were not disappointed. What a fabulous property. Lobby, rooms and location were first rate. The staff make the hotel. The Head Concierge David Lawson and his assistant Ford went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Nothing was too much. From the hauling of baggage to conditioner for my wife. Their top level of service has resolved us to frequent this chic chain of properties more frequently in the future. Highly recommend and the very best hotel out of 7 properties we stayed in during the course of our tour of Historic England. We are actually sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WORLD_TRAVELLER854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely looking, very modern hotel just a stones throw from Windsor Castle - Perfect we thought for a afternoon cup of tea and a cake. How wrong we were after waiting 20minutes for someone to ask us if we wanted anything and being told by the one waiter apparently working that he would get back to us we left!! Thirsty and hungry but luckily the excellent Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel saved the day!!

Upon leaving I was a little perplexed as to why we had to wait for so long to be served when there were about 6 people stood chatting behind reception!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AndySCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest

It was with great concern that I received your review following your recent visit to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel for tea and cake.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment. On receiving your feedback, I have completed a full investigation into your comments with the team, who have asked especially to be associated with my apology.

Please be assured that your feedback is not at all reflective of our usual standards and a programme of retraining is underway to ensure that your disappointment could not be repeated.

I would appreciate the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel - please do contact me directly (gm.windsor@macdonald-hotels.co.uk) should you wish to return so that I can take care of the arrangements for you personally.

We hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just spent 10 days in England on the escorted tour staying in every city for 1 night, out of 10 hotels, this was absolutely THE BEST. I think that we were exceptionally lucky to stay at this hotel as part of our itinerary. You will not find a better location in Windsor and you will not find a better service in England and not just in Windsor. The rooms are modern, spacious, light and comfortable; rooms have safe, mini bar, robes, slippers, ironing board, tea set, large TV, modern shower with lavender soap, and more - everything you need after a day of activities. The restaurant is great, breakfast was delicious, bar service was excellent for dinner and very accommodating. We had a wonderful stay in the hotel and wished we had more nights to spend there. When in England, this will be our #1 choice. Thank you staff at Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

Room Tip: We were in standard rooms and they were great
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dameofspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your visit to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was really pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay and we appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel with my husband and two children aged 5 and 6. It was a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The service we received was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for business, with friends or family. The food was lovely, the rooms were amazing and the staff were so attentive and welcoming. Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If you stay at the front of the hotel you have an amazing view of Windsor Castle. We were in rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Straker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, your room and the food you experienced. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was first class in every way. All rooms were exceptionally clean and had every item that you may require had you not brought them with you. The staff were attentive to all your needs, David Lawson, head concierge could not do enough so that your stay at the hotel was memorable. The food was excellent and well presented Both my partner and myself would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Our room number was 205 and if all the other rooms are the same as this one any room allocated would...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: £126 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing