We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overnight getaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Bought overnight stay via Secret Escapes and did not regret it. View from room was of back of hotel but I didn't go to stay in the room all the time. Complimentary drinks on arrival too. Room itself was beautiful, spacious and free wifi, free bottled water as well as dressing gowns available with complimentary slippers. Bed was soft and really comfy. Ideally situated for Windsor Castle, 2 minutes across the road. Eating places all around however we chose to eat at the hotel's restaurant and were really pleased with the quality of meal, the service and, we received a 20% off voucher. After an excellent breakfast, which was included in the price, the hotel staff looked after our luggage while we went sight seeing. Overall a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of hotel; not a great view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your room, our location and the meals you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,954
    633
    168
    55
    17
See reviews for
431
1,530
68
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms here are beautiful and the hotel is the perfect location to reach all of the main attractions and lovely restaurants and pubs in Windsor. Almost without exception, the staff were lovely and the overall experience was incredible!

The only negatives I have was a maid bursting into the room at 8.30am for no reason and the breakfast order taking 50 minutes to arrive because they'd forgotten us. They then got the order wrong and found the whole thing funny, which it wasn't. The Italian waiter was particularly rude and I didn't care at all for his attitude. He was a mega douche.

However, the rest of the staff were great and the main desk apologised profusely for the issue with breakfast.

All good and overall it didn't take the shine off of our stay! Thoroughly enjoyable and I'd highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ianmartin182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall, however was extremely sorry to learn of the service you experienced at breakfast and the interruption in your room by housekeeping.

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of our usual feedback and I will be personally completed a retraining programme with the teams concerned so that your experience could not be repeated.

I hope that you will return to the Macdonald Windsor. Do contact me direct when you are planning a visit and I would be delighted to take care of the arrangements for you.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was excellent, the staff were excellent, the location is perfect, the breakfast was delicious... I love this place, and so did my wife and daughter. Sure the parking is a little expensive overnight, however that's to be excpected as it's the most downtown you can ever get.

Great, fantastic, stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Enjoyed an overnight stay at this tucked away High St hotel. The helpful service and staff friendliness was a breath of fresh air in a chain hotel. The concierge went the extra mile to find parking (which we had not pre-booked) at a great price, and also provided a first class Mercedes taxi to take us out of town to dine in the evening. We were offered an upgrade on arrival with a fantastic view over Windsor Castle. Our package included a complimentary platter and prosecco which was extremely good quality; and the breakfast was equally enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure trips

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your room and breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice stay in macdonald windsor. Stayed in a standard double room with husband and 5 year old son . 1 double bed and 1 camp bed. Very very small. Probably one of the smallest hotel rooms I have every stayed in. Very nicely decorated but not really keen on a double bed but I did know this when booking. We booked due to the location and closeness to windsor castle and theatre royal but this is probably what your paying for. Definitely a very nice hotel but pay for an upgraded room if you like more space.
Lovely walk in shower although not great to see hair stuck to the bathroom door from the last occupant !! (Room 402)
Nice breakfast and very friendly staff and easy valet parking.
We would stay again but would be looking for a better deal on a larger room.

Room Tip: If you are staying with a child ask for a larger room, very cramped in a double room with camp bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding your room, and I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you and your family in a larger room.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for my husbands birthday, booked via secret escapes, we were given a free room upgrade to a feature room, massive room and supplied free cot. Breakfast was delicious. Location amazing, stones throw of windsor castle. parking at the hotel costs £28 overnight stay a bit pricey but you can use other car parks similar price. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a free room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your room and breakfast experience. The team will be encouraged by your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night in July and it's a lovely hotel. They have offers on their website which you sometimes can't get when booking with brokers. Always check the special offer page we got a glass of fizz each and a big food platter for the same price if we didn't click the link on the offer page. Central location, parking expensive but not a lot cheaper anywhere else. Room great size everything you need. Breakfast vast and great selection. Would hesitate in recommending. Didn't gave a castle view as only the suites do but room at the back was very quiet.

Room Tip: Check hotel special offer page before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing