We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Need a hotel in Windsor??...look no further!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying on Saturday of the August bank holiday, Windsor was packed and the initial high street drive past the hotel entrance didn't prepare us for what grandure we were met with inside. Committed staff who genuinely made you feel welcome and cared for, the hotel is a tardice and stretches across the stores below and up to 5 floors and back to Batchlors Acre....(with impeccable views of the castle from the top rooms), saying that we stayed in an executive suite on the first floor. The French doors open to allow in the noise of the streets hustle and bustle to your room but as soon as you push them to, you are emersed into your own little sanctuary. We ate in the hotel and were not disappointed with the wine selection or the varied menu, being a scotish steak house we had to try steak. It was melt in your mouth perfection!!! Finished with three dessert shots which my husband and I shared. Returning to our room we found the bedside lights turned on, smooth radio on the tv and dressing gowns, slippers and handcrafted chocolates placed onto the bed to greet us! What an incredible level of service and a fantastic experience. We only wish we booked to stay for more than one evening!! You will not be disappointed, this hotel really do make you feel like they value your business. I will be recommending it on to colleagues, family & friends. Thank you to Beverley and the team at Windsor Hotel xx

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElainePainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit - we appreciate such a detailed review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for two nights this week, would not stay again! The room was ok large but very dark decor, the bathroom had a hand shower over the bath that when you turned the water on leaked, also black mould in the shower holder and around the bath, not pleasant. We had afternoon tea one day the waiter was rude when we asked for more cream as only given a very small pot for 2 people, we complained to the manager only to be told English is not his first language and he gets it wrong sometimes! When we came to pay he tried to charge us £5 on top of the £40 the tea was going to cost us for the vey small extra pot of cream we had. It did rather spoil our experience at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Denise145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

I was extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of our usual feedback and I have immediately instigated an investigation into your comments. Please also be assured that I will be personally completed a retraining programme with the team so that your experience could not be repeated.

I do hope that with my reassurance, you will return to the Macdonald Windsor. Do contact me direct when you are planning a visit and I would be delighted to take care of the arrangements for you.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Yet another great stay at this hotel... stayed here last year and had to return.
The onsite restaurant was superb as was the afternoon tea.
Very attentive staff as was the case last time so it`s good to see standards reaming the same.
Hopefully to return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your return stay, in particular the service from the team and your restaurant experience. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Located opposite side of the road from the palace, also perfect location for shopping. In spite of central setting, the suite we stayed in was directly above the main street -was very quiet. The steaks in the restaurant downstairs were superb. Excellent place to stay for a couples weekend away.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank magsinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and your dinner experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just spent one night at the Macdonalds Windsor hotel and wish it had been for more. Great location, great staff, great room, great bar staff (thanks for the purpose made cocktail) great breakfast which all added up to us having a great time. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pauleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyedour location, your room and breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel, very comfortable, staff exceptional.
The restaurant food was very good.
We also booked the on site car park, which is expensive at 28.00 a night but worth while for a short stay.
Situated 2 mins from the castle and shops.
If I visit Windsor again I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room at the front of the hotel with a lovely view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Right in the centre of Windsor, this hotel is superb.

The food and the drinks are reasonable priced, the bar is a lovely setting and the service is exceptional.

The rooms are large, modern and comfortable, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I_like_nicer_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: £107 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing