We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and a ride to Stansted”
Review of Windsor Day Tours

Windsor Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 22 Tours in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Day Tours offers small, personalised private day tours for up to 6 people from Windsor, Heathrow, Southampton and surrounding areas. Whether it's a day's sightseeing, or a Heathrow Layover, or transfer to your hotel, make the most of your day with a guided visit to the Cotswolds, Stonehenge, Hampton Court Palace, Jane Austen country or similar. Travel in comfort in my top-of-the-range Seat Alhambra and enjoy a day created with your wishes in mind, as well as the ability to get off the beaten track and visit the countryside the big coaches can't reach. Heathrow layovers and Southampton Cruises a speciality.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked a tour of Stonehenge for the early morning hours in December 2013, so we could go inside the circle. Jill picked us up at our central London hotel at 6:00 AM on time, and drove us out to Stonehenge.

From previous emails in setting up the private tour, she paid very close attention to what our interests were and brought aspects to the tour that would be meaningful to us.

After Stonehenge, she drove us to Windsor Castle. Jill is very knowledgable and made us feel comfortable and welcome. She is a very good driver as we felt safe in her capable hands.

Jill then drove us all the way out to Stansted to our final destination. It was nice to not have the stress of renting a car, adjusting to UK roads and cars, and to have pleasant and informative conversation all along the way.

I would highly recommend Windsor Day Tours to anyone. We enjoyed getting to know Jill. She is truly a kind and caring person.

1  Thank TrueBornUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"long layover"
in 6 reviews
"private tour"
in 5 reviews
"english countryside"
in 4 reviews
"visiting stonehenge"
in 3 reviews
"london heathrow"
in 3 reviews
"driving tour"
in 2 reviews
"cruise transfer"
in 2 reviews
"wisley gardens"
in 2 reviews
"thatched cottage"
in 2 reviews
"avoiding traffic"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 2 reviews
"hampton court palace"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 2 reviews
"jill"
in 76 reviews
"england"
in 18 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Jill developed a tour itinerary specifically to meet the needs of my party of three, which included one person with significant mobility issues. My mother had only spent time in central London and wanted to see some of the countryside during our transit day on our way to Southampton for a cruise. Jill took us to a quaint village, giving us the opportunity to take a quiet stroll to enjoy the peace and quiet, then on Winchester Cathedral for some history. We lunched near Jane Austen's home. Our attempt to visit Windsor Castle was thwarted by large crowds and long lines so we moved on to Eton and points beyond. We finished our afternoon with a visit to farm market and a cream tea. It was fabulous and I definitely recommend Jill and Windsor Day Tours.

3  Thank sdquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had only limited time at the very end of a long trip but Jill's tour was fantastic!! We only had an afternoon to visit Stonehenge and environs so our time was quite compressed. On top of this there was a major traffic snafu which required a detour. Jill managed to find an alternate route and we made it to Stonehenge. Jill's knowledge and interest in helping us in spite of the compress time was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed this visit. On the return to Windsor we stopped in Wherwill for a short visit and dinner at The White Lion inn/pub. All in all a great but compressed visit that would not have been possible without Jill. If you visit this area without the help of Jill, you are making a mistake!!

1  Thank UsaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilliganuk, Owner at Windsor Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your whirlwind tour. At least the sun came out for it. I hope I may have the pleasure of your company for a longer tour some time. I certainly know some more places you would love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We would highly recommend Jill for any type of tour but we chose the half day mystery tour. We were looking for something different and not your typical sightseeing tour. Jill came through and provided us with a fantastic afternoon of unique out of the way spots that we would have never seen if it wasn't for Windsor Day Tours. Along our journey Jill provided us with the history of our stops and fascinating facts. We also had our first taste of afternoon tea with amazing scones topped with strawberry jam and clotted cream!

Thank you Jill for the great afternoon and if we are ever in London again we would not hesitate to contact you about setting up another great tour!

4  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilliganuk, Owner at Windsor Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your day ... and clotted cream! And it was as much fun for me putting together a mystery tour for you, trying to think what you would enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Absolutely loved Windsor Day Tours. Jill was right at the port to meet us after we disembarked a P&O Cruise. She was so friendly and hospitable! Our first stop after seeing freely roaming animals (donkeys, cows, horses, pigs, etc) as we drove through New Forest was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's grave (author of Sherlock Holmes) and Jill provided interesting and funny facts about the cemetary. We then headed to Salisbury to see the town and tour the Cathedral. Beautiful. We then headed to Stonehenge. The weather was miserable so we made a brief visit, but it was very interesting. Our final leg of the tour was the town of Bath. Jill dropped us in the bustling town center right near the Roman Baths and gave us free time to tour, eat and shop. We stocked up on snacks at the grocery store for our hotel stay that evening. We then drove through Bristol over into Wales just for a view and quick picks (basically just to be able to say we've been to Wales-haha). Then Jill dropped us at Thornbury Castle where we were staying the night. All in all perfect tour (except the weather, but hey what can you expect in England during winter?).

1  Thank tcacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windsor Day Tours also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing