We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel. Great location. Exactly what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel. Great location. Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked the small double and stayed in room 39. It was great value and recently refurbished. The bathroom was really nice. The room was as it states, a small double so most of the room is the bed but this wasn't an issue at all as it was low cost.

Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice. Bar was nice for a predrink as well.

Overall I would 100% stay there again. Also just a short walk to the castle and you can go through Windsor park which is a nice walk.

It's 4 stars and worth a look at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    160
    130
    40
    21
See reviews for
41
195
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

1st impressions were quite nice. Friendly & helpful staff. The Car park is small & should be booked in advance to avoid any disappointment of parking there. I did not know that but the Receptionist was able to sort it out. Room was comfortable & clean. The only problem I had was it was directly underneath the flight path to Heathrow. I am a bit of a light sleeper & wished I had read other reviews about this. I did book it in a hurry. However I would not take anything away from the service & friendly staff that made the stay enjoyable. Breakfast was very nice, however it does finish early I thought. As I was the last to come down for it another guest came down very shortly after me to be told that they had just finished cooking Breakfast. They offer him the choice of have a Congenital which was a self service before they put it away. I wish I could remember what time it finished cooking Breakfast. So check with the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Chicken21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Four of us had 2 nights here, the hotel is a great location really, short walk into the town and in the other direction straight into the park and the castle is in front of you.

The hotel though - we had rooms 10 & 11 on the top floor, the heat was incredible and the air conditioner neither use nor ornament, I had a coffee and when my husband opened the milk it was off so emptied it away and washed it out - problem - the plug was jammed down in the sink and now we have a half filled sink full of dead floating milk - not attractive. No maintenance man at the weekends either. Our friends also struggled with the heat of their room and in the mornings their air conditioner had soaked the carpet (and Racing Post!) so we all moved rooms. Talk about chalk and cheese with the rooms, they were right on the staircase as you went up the first few steps and at first I thought there would be a lot of passing people, however the room was 100% better.

Breakfast's were pretty good and all the staff were very nice and more than helpful.

Room Tip: Do not have room 10 or 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSunflowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Good location within walking distance of shops, bars and Castle. Small car park at rear but cost £15 per day which is a bit high if you just stay overnight.
Bathroom in room 10 is very small and very difficult to get into! Very good breakfast and very nice comfortable room otherwise. Very clean and tidy and very helpful staff. No lift to upper floors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 186254John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for a night on business, it is a nice hotel, with very pleasant staff.

The building is situated within a few minutes' walk from town centre, and has on-site parking for 15 GBP per day. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the lady at reception recommended a local pub (Windsor Castle Pub) just a few minutes walk up from the hotel for some lunch which was spot on. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Had a Tajine for dinner which had amazing flavours, if the rice and egg aspects were a bit overcooked.

The room was well appointed, I stayed in the converted stable house, which had a lot of character and was clean. I am quite tall, and found that the bed was fairly uncomfortable and short, and the shower was a bit short for me.

I cannot get over the constant plane noise in Windsor (not a problem with the hotel, but in Windsor in general). So I am unsure if I would wish to spend too much time here on leisure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I booked this hotel for one night so we could visit the amazing royal castle. The hotel is in walking distance of the high street, about 15 mins with luggage. Sadly the hotel was a bit of a disappointment. The bed was comfortable, but the room was tired, with cracked tiles in the bath room and evidence of past leaking radiators. Loo seat kept moving and did not feel comfortable in raising this as the initial person we saw on reception was unwelcoming. However the female receptionist was lovely and so were restaurant staff. Just feel this best western hotel needs a bit of renovation to reflect where it is situated.

Room Tip: Book a car parking space, as cannot park around the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS197012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear CAS 197012
Many thanks for your review left on the trip advisor site for others to be enjoyed. Naturally I am disappointed that you found the bedroom not up to standard however I am pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing a major refit which will see the introduction of new furnishings, four poster/tester beds and some bathroom enhancements. I am however pleased to read that you found the restaurant staff helpful and welcoming. Yours sincerely Philipp Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Nice small almost family run hotel under the brand of best western, my room was one of the small doubles ( bed against a wall ) not much space at all & dont drop the soap in the shower its tiny !!!!
that said it was spotless, welcoming the staff were great even making us a take away breakfast .
Top Marks, would stay here again & a refreshing change from the non-descript major chains

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear BernieH888
Many thanks for your review left on the trip advisor site for others to be enjoyed. Naturally I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found breakfast and staffing arrangements to you linking. The hotel is privately owned and as such we pride ourselves with friendly and efficient service and good quality food. We are looking forward in welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Philipp Weiss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
3.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Property: The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing