We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We must have been lucky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We must have been lucky”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My niece and I booked a coach trip 23 - 27 December last. We had a lovely spacious room in the annexe at the side of the hotel with a view of the street. The internal double glazing ( the hotel is Grade II listed so cannot have modern units) kept the noise and cold out. We had a bath and shower, in a modern bathroom. Other members of our party complained of very small rooms, we had room for a settee and coffee table.
The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and very tasty.The coffee and tea were served in pots and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is very close to the Long Walk and is a pleasant stroll into Windsor town centre.
I would recommend the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis, but the evening dinners for our party were disappointing, but that may have been what our coach company paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for room 307, it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    168
    132
    40
    21
See reviews for
45
200
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
penmaen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

How glad I was to have paid extra for a spacious superior room,as I cannot think what an ordinary room looks like ! Our room had only enough room to walk around the furniture and was devoid of any character considering the age of the property. Etched glass in the double glazing meant that we could not see out at all,quite claustrophobic.the shower room,no bath, was quite new,but had no instructions how to use ,a call to reception they didn't know either.Breakfast was very good as was the service,but the bar/dining room lacks character and would benefit from some music playing to give people a little privacy whilst eating.My complaints about the room were met with a shrug.This hotel does not deserve a four star rating.They also make a charge for paying by card!!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your recent review of The Royal Adelaide Hotel. I read your comments with disappointment as the room is of a comfortable size, totally refurbished and as explained in your review a brand new bathroom with a powerful shower. The windows have been partly frosted to protect your privacy; however the inner French doors do open allowing you to enjoy the view of the famous Long Walk leading from Windsor Castle to Royal Ascot Race course. I am pleased that you enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfast and can confirm that the music system during your stay was not working as it should, however this has now been repaired giving the restaurant and bar the desired effect. All charges in relation to any of our services are clearly displayed in the hotel lobby, guest compendium and on our/3rd party websites. Yours sincerely Mr. Weiss General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We received a last Minute deal at New Years eve and booked superior room. The room was one of the new decorated and everything was o.k. Very clean. Modern shower to walk in etc. The room looked bigger in the Internet, thanks to very good cameras nowadays. I actually called the reception to ask if this is superior room. Well, around London space is rare and sizes are simply smaller..Nevertheless it was fine. Breakfast was very good as well. Everything you need. Continental and english. Yorghurt, cereals, fruits, eggs, Bacon, sausages, beans, toast, jam, butter, Juice, coffee, tea etc.very kind staff, nice, sophisticated atmosphere. Unfortunately parking costs 15 GBP per night, which was expensive. It is really difficult or simply not possible to find a parking somewhere else and Close enough. I haven done 3 Loops. No Chance. We could hear other guest Walking and talking on the aile and above us. It was a bit noisy but it was also New Years Eve...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luftikuss_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel booked by coach holiday company but it was not able to cope with a party of 26. Food was awful and staff were not trained to serve satisfactorily. Stayed 23rd - 27th December expecting an excellent 'festive break' - oh dear! nothing festive about it - could play scrabble or dominoes in the lounge but lounge closed from Christmas Eve until Boxing Day for a private function. Manager NOT available for whole of stay. Bedrooms and bathrooms extremely small and my bedroom had broken radiator and heating via air conditioner not available until been there for 2 days, Whole experience was awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your feedback I am however very disappointed to hear the comments you have made and would like to take this opportunity to respond to you concerns raised.
For the past 4 years we have been successfully looking after the coach party at Christmas time and this year was the lowest number we had (26) – the hotel and its staff are used to look after larger groups including coach parties for up to 170 guests.
I personally was on duty (welcome speech on the bus if you remember, including taking delivery of your bags and serving sherry and wine on check in) and for the whole stay myself and the duty management team where here to look after your needs. On check out I personally made sure that your bags got taken down for the driver for departure.
I am able to confirm that there was a range of games to play (including a selection of card and board games) and that the professionally hosted bingo and race night was enjoyed by most of the party.
I am pleased to confirm that we had numerous comments about the excellent quality of our food and service including some thank you cards which I have passed on to the staff who have been working very hard over the festive period to look after the party concerned including some guests with very special needs.

Sincerely

Mr. Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? Poor impression straight from the start; we arrived late only to find an empty lobby and no Reception staff, rang the bell for 10+ minutes only to have to go "locate" the on-duty guy hiding in the kitchen who then said he had "just stepped away"...

Finding your room in this rabbit warren maze is unbelievable; narrow hallways up/down stairs through multiple doorways and left/right turns, just ridiculous! I wouldn't want to try to find my way out in a fire!

Rooms are small, decor appears to be nice at first but quickly gives way to its tired and tatty underpinnings. Beds are short, too stiff for my liking and the pillows are just awful. Heat is by radiator, either too hot or freezing depending which side of the bed you sleep on. No electrical outlets by the bed mean cpap wearers will need an extension cord for power.

Bathrooms are smallish but adequate and outside noise is low at night but becomes loud from 0600 onward. If you need to park (good luck) there is a private car park but it's tiny and tight, arrive early or it's the street for you. Oh, and it's "resident only" close to the hotel so let's hope it isn't raining or worse when you arrive.

Overall, one of the worst hotels I've stayed at and typical for Britain. Not recommended at all - sorry!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review left on the trip advisor site for others to be enjoyed.

Having investigated your stay I am able to give you some feedback on your concerns raised. The night porter was on his scheduled public area walk to ensure that all doors and windows are locked I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused.

The Royal Adelaide hotel is over 300 years old and is a grade 2 listed building and as such it has corridors which are part of its charm, however I am pleased to report that we have more than adequate fire exits (which are clearly indicted) should such an emergency occur.

All bedrooms have inverter air-conditioning units on top of the conventional radiator, which can be used to provide extra heat should guests require it (the controls are next to the bed). I would like to advise that there is no on street parking in Windsor and that we operate our own car park at the back of the hotel. Parking spaces are limited and have to be reserved to avoid disappointment. Philipp Weiss – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Property: The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing