We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked last minute (the morning of our arrival), we had a family room for 2 nights. The room was very large and well placed as we were right beside the swimming pool which the kids loved.

The location of this hotel is fantastic as it is right on the Thames, set within beautiful gardens and has a great history around the movies filmed there.

We hired a little boat the "half a sixpence" from the hotel which seats 8. It cost us £70 for an hour but it was well worth it for the kids who had a turn at driving the boat.

We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast. The breakfast was plentyful and varied, something for everyone and if you didn't want the buffet you could order from the menu at no extra charge. Windsor is only a couple of miles away and we had our evening meals there.

We went to Legoland for a day and despite the non stop rain we had a great time. Legoland is about 10minutes drive maximum.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Oakley Court Hotel and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    598
    227
    97
    75
See reviews for
448
918
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a large stag party.

The hotel is a bit of a hotch potch of architectural styles with bits added on over time. Some are pretty dire looking but the original building itself is very attractive. It's also set in some beautiful grounds right next to the river soseemed to be popular as a wedding venue.

The rooms are quite big but even when we were staying (cold June 2012) they were very hot. Not sure if they have air conditioning - worth checking if you're thinking about staying in the summer.

There are really two major flaws with this hotel:

1) Attitude toward guests. There were 22 of us sitting outside on the terrace in the sunshine next to the big sign advertising "al fresco dining on the terrace". When we asked if we could indeed dine outside we were told that this wasn't allowed due to health and safety. When we pushed to try and find out what on earth this could mean it was explained that if it rained it wouldn't be safe to carry food out to us. We pointed out that it was sunny with not a cloud in the sky. We offered to collect our own food. This was also deemed impossible. We pleaded, we implored that this was the first sunshine in weeks and that the weather forecast for the rest of the day was pure sun and not rain so it wouldn't be unsafe. Sadly they wouldn't budge so we all had to move indoors and enjoy the gloom.This sort of attitude toward well behaved, well paying guests is a sign of a poorly managed hotel.

2) Showers - ours was either very hot or very cold with little room for manoeuvre in the middle. It was also only suitable for showering under if you are less than 5ft 5 or so. Even then you would end up getting rather badly scalded due to the proximity of your head to the shower nozzle. Why someone thought this was a good way of introducing a shower to the room is beyond me.

Surely there must be better places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one with showers you can actually stand underneath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We provided your large group with a complimentary private room overlooking the lawned area due to the inclement weather and 22 separate meals were delivered quickly and to our usual high standard. We value all guests and their feedback. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Me, my friend and 3 children decided on a last minute trip to legoland and found this hotel by accident on google. We booked it on the same day we were travelling and got a family room. It was great. The room was in the same wing as the swimming pool rather than the main hotel but it was great for us. If I'd been there without the kids I would have preferred to have stopped in the main hotel. When we arrived we went for a wander round the grounds which are lovely, right on the edge of the river. We hired a boat from the hotel and took it out for an hour which was long enough, had a dip in the pool and then drove into Windsor (5 minutes) for dinner - loads of lovely restaurants. It was so nice we decided to book an extra night. The next day we went to Legoland which was absolutely brilliant - despite torrential rain all day and then back to the hotel, dip in the pool and out into Windsor again for our dinner. All the staff were lovely. Breakfast was smashing. Would definately stop here again.

Room Tip: Check if you are in the main hotel or one of the wings. The wing that the swimming pool is in is beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Our proximity to Windsor and the surrounding attractions together with the idyllic location and facilities of the The Oakley Court Hotel is valued by many of our guests who return time and time again. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The location of this Hotel is Truly exceptional set in beautiful grounds right on the banks of the Thames. There is a boathouse hiring pleasure craft and the hotel offer gourmet picnic hampers.
We had 2 rooms for 2 nights and both rooms had a river view and hotel view.
We were there for the Jubilee weekend, so lots of nice things going on.
The staff were very welcoming indeed.
Our 4 children loved playing down by the river skimming stones and climbing trees. As a couple We enjoyed having a cold beer or two on the terrace.Our family visited Legoland only a 10 minute drive from the hotel which we loved.
As a Rocky Horror Fan, i found the whole experience really exciting. To see features of the house, the staircase, the Lobby, various architectural features from the film. In addition to re living the Rocky Horror, the idyllic location on the banks of the Thames made the break really special.
The rooms were of a very high standard, well furnished.
Overall, idyllic location, but spoils you for any where else.

The only downside was the breakfast mayhem. On the second morning my husband and i went down separately, and the waiter crossed my name off the list too and insisted we must pay separately. My husband checked with reception that our breakfast was indeed included, and it was. On returning to the breakfast room, there were no tables left! Although, they did offer coffee and pastries in the bar, we were never called as promised. On returning to the breakfast room for the 3rd time there were people being seated on arrival! We eventually did get a quick breakfast as we did not want to be delayed for Legoland any further.The whole episode seemed to be caused by a middle aged waiter wearing round spectacles.
The only other point was that one of the children's beds had a headboard missing which left two prominent brackets pointing upwards. (This had the potential to cause injury).
Overall, a wonderful experience and i would love to come and stay again.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel has been the setting for many horror films back in the day. No such worries now though. Helpful concierge, great rooms, front desk and wonderful setting. But there is a but... the restaurant. Not sure whether it is the proximity to Heston's empire in Bray but the food (while good) does not warrant the price tag.£30+ for main course and not a Michelin star in sight. Better value to eat out and plenty of places within easy taxi ride. This should not put you off the hotel - just the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palinscamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
I can confirm the price of items in our Restaurant depends upon your choice of menu and is line with other 4* hotel restaurants within the area. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

came here for a wedding what a stunning location, fab staff. love it

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMember1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My family and I have just spent a wonderful stay at this hotel and would like to thank the staff for their true professionalism over such an exceedingly busy time. We will certainly look forward to coming back again in the future.

The BBQ was very good. Maybe the jazz band could have concluded the afternoon with Land of Hope & Glory etc to leave a more memorable impression than When the Saints go Marching in but that at least some some people up to dance!!

However, the use of the boat hire completed a very happy time. Many thanks again to all staff.

Room Tip: Definitely book river view. No lifts in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed the Diamond Jubilee celebrations. Our aim as management of the hotel is to maintain great hospitality, service levels and quality. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,508 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing