We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend Break with Spa Treatments”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Girls Weekend Break with Spa Treatments”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Not long enough! Every year I visit Oakley Court and every year I have a great experience. This year being no exception. Unfortunately the hotel was very busy and unable to put us in rooms with a view of the river. We had rooms in the Court yard. WOW! no view but what great rooms. I hope next year to book the court yard again. Very spacious, ideal for us as well as we like to have a morning swim, from these rooms we could walk to the pool area in our robes without going out of the building. Also great as we took advantage of the Spa this year, again wearing our robes down from our rooms. The Spa is a must and I will be doing that again. As the weather was not great this year we gave Windsor a miss and drove up to Westfield Shopping Mall, only took 30 mins. Oakley is a great location for us and we always enjoy our time there, Nice to see Rob still in the Restaurant, he is always very attentive and looks after us very well, as do all the staff. It was nice to to see some of the little changes they have made since our last visit too. Thank you Oakley for yet another great time with you.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Court Yard are very spacious. No view, but then how much time do you spent in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you. We are delighted to read that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. As you correctly state, the Courtyard rooms are very convenient for the facilities we offer. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    612
    232
    98
    78
See reviews for
466
947
28
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed for the weekend (23rd & 24th Feb) - A lovely stay as usual, have stayed several times and always look forward to returning. Polite restaurant staff, and lovely helpful and friendly (and polite) breakfast staff. The beds are so comfortable and a variety of pillows to choose from ( on the bed but variable comfort) Have experienced rooms in the main hotel and the annexe and both are equally as well equipped and comfortable. Experienced the pool and spa on this visit and it was so relaxing. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your valued review following your weekend at The Oakley Court Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed one night on the 9th Feb for a visit to Windsor, just a short drive away. Great sized bed and lovely spacious clean room although the old part of the hotel looked much nicer than the annex (which is where we were). Only minor issue was that when the room was cleaned before arrival they just forgot to put shampoo/shower gel in. On the plus side, the grounds are lovely and we used the gym and pool in the morning which were just what we needed. Would definitely love to head back and try the restaurant on a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your review. Housekeeping send apologies for the lack of toiletries in your room - this was an oversight. We are pleased you wish to return and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

make sure you stay in the main house, the stable rooms are not as good and somewhat dated. The main house rooms are traditional and well equipped. They do an excellent breakfast in the restaurant with good service.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucksCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your valued review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My friend is about to have chemotherapy and this visit was a pick me up. We were impressed when we arrived as the main body of the hotel is stunning, outside and inside. The girl on the reception was aloof (she was a trainee) she said we needed to book dinner, only 8.30 pm was available. Our room was spacious and well equipped, though the drinks tray was dirty, the glass on the coffee table was not particularly safe, little things you wouldn't expect to see in a place of this calibre. We went for a drink but were turned away as there was nowhere to sit! At 8.30 pm we arrived at the restaurant and there was no reservation! We were shown to our table, the table d'hôte menu was not very appealing so we opted to pay the supplement for the a la carte. The food was delicious every course, the starter, amuse bouche was served very quickly but we waited an hour for main course and 45 minutes for desert without an apology or explanation. A sorbet was given to us before the main course but it was sweet and sickly and not appropriate to the meal . When I complained at the end of my meal when leaving I was asked to have a complimentary drink n the bar, which at that late hour I declined interestingly some of our fellow diners had a complimentary wine whilst they waited for their food. Breakfast was mediocre at best, cold cooked food and a sad attempt at continental fayre. I had expected so much and as it was costly I expected more than I got.

Room Tip: If you stay here the river view rooms are more expensive but not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
I am sorry to read of your disappointment with certain aspects of your stay. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed at the Oakley Court for one night last September (2012) prior to a few nights stay in London visiting friends and seeing a few shows. Only sorry our stay was so short so we will have to return soon. We had a large, very clean room overlooking the hotel grounds and the River Thames. Could not fault the room - very spacious, comfortable and relaxing. Walking around the grounds was also so relaxing. All the staff we spoke to were both helpful and informative about the history of the hotel - as well as the recent Olympic rowing team's stay and the earlier visit of the Queen for "swanupping". Breakfast was buffet service with plenty of choices in cereals, fruit, cold and hot food. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Oakley Court and we look forward to our next visit. One note of caution - walking from a room in the annex to the main house for meals is not a problem if the weather is good but be prepared if it's raining !!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the grounds and the Thames is a must although a little more expensive. Look out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your review - we look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Stopped here when we went to the fat duck.
Perfect location for that and for a great weekend in Windsor
Beautiful house and gardens.
Had a wonderful afternoon spent drinking champagne in the grounds looking over the Thames.
Nice leisure complex and good rooms.
Ask to stop in the main house rather than the annexe.
A great find.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joynesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,642 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing