We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee Morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
windsor
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coffee Morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just had a delightful re-union with some friends at Oakley Court. I would like to thank Tina and Renata for their welcoming service. I dine often in the Oakleaf bar and am never disappointed with the ambience and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear neylon

Thank you for your 5* review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    598
    227
    97
    75
See reviews for
448
920
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I booked the Oakley Court for a well earned night away from hard work and much loved though exhausting family. We were made feel welcome from the moment we arrived.Initially we were offered a room in the east wing outside the main hotel so we asked if we could possibly stay in the main house and we got a lovely room. The receptionist told us that the wifi was not good in that room so it was not suitable for all guests, we loved it, a perfect excuse to put all mobile devices away for at least one night. The food was lovely and breakfast the next day top class. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked Christmas Day dinner there and we will stay on Christmas night with our lovely daughter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear WeekendsLondon

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and a well deserved rest! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel at Christmas.

Thank you for your valued review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I am writing this as an active person who also travels for Business, so this review is based around that pre-qualification.
I should also point out that I do triathlons so my exercise requirements are probably of a specific nature

The Good Points: -
I absolutely cannot fault the staff, they are attentive and polite and do a good job dealing with potentially difficult people.
The rooms are very comfortable and decorated in a way that makes you feel at home
The grounds are lovely as is the building.
The food is very tasty and is beautifully presented
They have free wi fi which works very well
It has a "Gym and Pool" (I have used quotation marks as the caveat will come in the other part of this review)

The Bad Points: -

The gym and pool are really in name only, the pool is tiny and made for splashing about in, there is no way that a swimmer like myself could do a proper swim workout in here, likewise the gym is extremely small, so if there is a rush of people it will be overcrowded very quickly.
Surprisingly though, it is actually well equipped with items including Kettlbells and a cable crossover machine to name but a few.
As mentioned, the food is nice, the problem is that the cost of dinner is more than the amount that I am allowed to claim for, so instead there is an extremely limited bar menu. Which if you were at all bothered by the effect on your figure, then it wont help.
On this occasion I had decided to have an ice cream for dessert, but it didn't arrive as the reason given was that the kitchen were cooking all the main course prior to doing desserts.
My Key card stopped working and the replacement didn't work either.

Would I stay again?
Well, only if the Holiday Inn is full, and that says it all really

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ironmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Ironmorg

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be attentive, your room comfortable and our food to your liking. Thank you also for your evaluation of our Leisure facilities. We hope to welcome you again to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is a little bit on the outskirts of Windsor but ie in beautiful grounds next to the river Thames ,rooms are a very nice size the pool facilities are a little small but ok.Bar very expensive and breakfast not that good,but I do enjoy staying here for various reasons,think you would have to be very hard to impress if you are not impressed driving up to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TimR

Thank you for your valued review. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us at The Oakley Court Hotel and hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The place looks truly stunning from the outside but unfortunately nothing really lives up to that.
The problems started when we booked and they made a mistake with the number in our party and other incorrect info which was rectified but only after a day trying to phone up the booking line. I've sent a note to customer services and have heard nothing.
When we arrived the glass a bubbly was a nice touch but the room we were given was really disappointing - in an annexe next to the pool with hardly any natural light and a view of a dark courtyard. The pool complex itself is good.
The whole place and atmosphere gives the impression that it's slightly run-down and although the setting is lovely, it feels like a place for bus-parties not couples or families. The breakfast was like being at a Travelodge with wood panelling. I think if you're charging this much, it just has to be a bit better.
I would come again for a drink or afternoon tea and savour the building and the gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Mattsterp

Thank you for your review. I am not able to establish from your Trip Advisor name with whom you made your reservation - for example through a third party - as we always respond promptly to enquiries made directly to the hotel.

I sincerely apologise as it seems that your overall experience was less than satisfactory. It is very difficult to rectify concerns after the event however should you return to The Oakley Court Hotel, please contact me and I will endeavour to ensure your stay meets your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here with 17 other members of my family we were attending a wedding. It came higly recommended but what a disappointment. Access to ground floor accommodation was either up and down stairs or by walking out of the building for approximately 50 metres. Not ideal for the two elderly grandmothers who were in the party. Also, the accommodation did not have walk in showers in any of the rooms to cater for the disabled or infirm. Again not ideal for the two elderly members of our group. Dinner on Friday night was spoiled because the starters were cold and had to be sent back, and they took nearly 30 minutes to be replaced. There was no apology, only a comment from the waiter that it was not his fault the starters were cold. Everyone met up on the Saturday evening after the wedding and we all had a very jolly time. Only drawback was that the service staff had to be asked more than once if they could come and clear glasses from the area we were occupying. Service was generally lackluster and definitely not with a smile. The final straw on the whole weekend was having to queue for more than 10 minutes to check out. It was such a shame. The hotel needs to find away for easier access to the ground floor rooms and needs to sort out some appropriate disabled accommodation so that visitors at least can have a shower!! The only good thing about the whole stay was that the grounds of the hotel were lovely. It should have been memorable. Thank goodness the wedding was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW17Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear SW17Girl

We are always happy to accommodate guest preferences whenever possible and we did clarify, prior to your group’s stay that we do not offer “walk in” showers however we are pleased to offer “accessible” rooms, subject to availability if required. This offer was declined in favour of superior ground floor rooms. On a separate note, it is regrettable that you did not have a flawless experience due to service issues – please accept my apologies - your comments will be relayed to my team. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on the last night (Tuesday 29th October) of an extended European holiday, to be close to Heathrow for an afternoon flight.

It is a very large complex, with several different wings/buildings. It would have been much easier for Reception to have a map of the buildings to show guests where their rooms are. We were in the East Wing, which the receptionist tried to explain to us how to get there but it sounded terribly confusing. She arranged for the concierge to take us there, which was very nice of her, but it would be much more efficient to have a clear map of the hotels so reception could simply point out where to go to get to the rooms.

The main car park by reception is not large, and although there were two parks left, the individual parks are so small that we could not park and open the doors of the car to get out – and we only had a medium sized car. I imagine there must be some dents put into cars by doors – it would be very easily done, even being careful when getting out.

Wifi worked well and was free.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel.

Breakfast was fine, quite a good choice of hot and cold foods. The staff were very attentive and cleared the tables quickly after each course.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear KiwiLynda15

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be attentive. We offer complimentary on-site parking and the designated spaces closest to the Mansion House are at a premium during busy periods. The majority of hotels within the Royal Borough charge for parking however at the Oakley Court Hotel we are pleased to offer three further complimentary car parks within our grounds, offering larger than average parking spaces.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oakley Court Hotel on a future visit to The UK.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing