We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had a lovely 2 nights at Oakley Court. Lovely room overlooking the river, clean and comfortable with lots of space. Very peaceful. Good breakfast and a lovely cup of tea. Will certainly stay again. Wish more hotels were as friendly as this one. Particularly like the Christmas decorations think the tree looks lovely - thinking of trying one similar at home, and love the reindeer at the front door!.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river was lovely, wondered if it would be noisier in summer with river traffic?
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear DeidreL

Thank you for your complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,321)
There are newer reviews for The Oakley Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a lovely building, and what a lovely setting in the beautiful park by the Thames. No need to envy the Queen or Russian Oligarks for their luxurious homes downtown London. Here´s one that you can have, and it looks like a castle & comes furnished with a whole crew of really pollite servants! If you ask nicely, you might get a room with view of the park and the Thames. If you upgrade your room and pay a little bit, you most certainly will get it. If you will spend time at the hotel and only sleep and run out into meeings, I recommend that. Or, if you leave some other important person behind at the hotel while off in meetings. What a beautiful place to rest and calm down before big meetings etc. I recommend it. The park is great for a walk, and you can go on past the park onto a wooden trail where you will want a camera or a mobile with a good camera. The huge trees look like they just escaped from a Harry Potter movie or Tomb Raider. It´s really excotic if you´re used to birches or pines or palms.

Did I say movies? The hotel was owned by the movie industry for quite some time and many historic movies such as Frankenstein was filmed here. There´s a hallway full of framed small movieposters, and you´ll probably remember some of these classics.

Oh, and one more thing: The Food is very good! I ate the best burger for dinner I had ever tasted! It was glazed before being zapped with some kind of space weapon and cooked to perfection. And the best fries I ever, ever ate as well!! They gave me a big metal basket full, and against all odds the fries at the bottom were not soggy but crispy and warm even till the last piece. That has never happened to me before! McDonalds and Burger King: Do you hear me? Send all your staff here for Burger School and French Fries School!! And then send me an invitation to try your new recipe! Then, the whole world will live happily everafter!! McDonalds! Burger King! Hardeees!! U hear me?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park and the Thames. If they are scarce, upgrade and pay to get on...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Trond B

Our unique setting is definitely one of the major features that makes The Oakley Court Hotel so special. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and thank you for your valued feedback.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently as part of my 60th birthday celebrations. The setting is lovely and we particularly liked the range of reception rooms, from the lounge to the library, which provide warm, cosy places to eat, meet friends or even play chess. During our stay, we had a celebration meal for extended family. Again the setting was pleasant, the food was good and the staff were friendly and attentive. We would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a view of the river
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pho2mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear pho2mama

We are pleased that you enjoyed the charm and ambience of The Oakley Court Hotel as well as the food and service provided by our team at your 60th birthday celebrations.

Thank you for recommending The Oakley Court Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for my 50th birthday last year and had a fabulous time. I feel I have to reply to the "SHOCKING" report. I cannot see how you can blame the hotel for other residents behaviour when it's not their fault. I am sure that the correct procedure was followed at all times, and you cannot base your stay on that incident alone. Would you complain if a,child was being noisy would that spoil,your weekend I think not, i think it is being blown out of all proportion. The hotel is a lovely place to stay and as I said before we had a lovely time, and would not hesitate to stay here again or indeed recommend it to anyone. Keep up the good work Oakley Court





Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Oxfordelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Oxfordelaine

Thank you for your continued support and complimentary review. The review you refer to was inaccurate; I reported this to Trip Advisor and the posting was subsequently removed.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for an evening with my husband. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean with big comfy beds, good showers & very good breakfast. The grounds are stunning and the building itself is really nice. We'll return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Poopyscoop

Thank you - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Oakley Court Hotel and look forward to welcoming you for a return visit.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here one night on a visit to Legoland. Great location on the Thames. Lovely grounds to walk in . Room was great , overlooking river. Very comfortable bed and good sized bathroom.
Service levels very good. All staff acknowledged us which is really rare today . So well done!
Food was good , ate from bar menu. Drinks quite pricey though . Nice overall atmosphere. Would revisit and recommend .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Newyorkgal72

Thank you for your review and for recommending the Oakley Court Hotel.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed in a riverside room (208) from 30th October and was more than happy with every aspect of our stay. The room was large and luxurious with bay window overlooking the river which far exceeded our expectations. Despite arriving after midnight, the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The double bed was huge and comfortable and all conveniences were provided in the room (ironing board and iron, trouser press, TV with additional optional pay channels, tea making facilities, fluffy dressing gowns etc). The grounds are quite stunning with excellent riverside walks all of which is very cleverly lit at night including coloured lighting, highlighting various features of the building and grounds. There is a very cosy bar area in the main building with open fire where we enjoyed a very pleasant evening. Being so close to London, we will return. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the riverside room that we had but I can say it was very quite and I would opt f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear M K

Thank you for rating our services and facilities so positively. I am delighted to read that you had a "faultless" stay with us at The Oakley Court Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,871 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £152 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing