We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Oakley Hall was brilliant, it was light, it was very clean, the service was brilliant the grounds immaculate. . the gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room again was so clean the swimming pool was very warm as for the Jacuzzi was hotter than a bath.
Cannot say a word wrong about the Hall

Room Tip: The Breakfast was all laid out and you helped yourself with everything even for the hot English. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Wendy P

Thank you for your 5* review and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    612
    232
    98
    78
See reviews for
466
947
28
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this lovely hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. We had 13 family members (including a toddler) meeting for a Christmas lunch and had booked a private dining room. We started with champagne in the Library and then moved into a beautiful dining room for our 3 course lunch. The service was exceptional with nothing being any trouble including a couple of last minute changes to pre booked courses. The waiter was very attentive but unobtrusive. They needed the room for another function later but had already prepared a private room for us to move to and at no time did we feel urged to "hurry up". The whole event was extremely relaxing. Whilst other family members left at the end of the afternoon. We (family of 5) had booked two rooms, simply requesting they were near to each other. Our rooms had an adjoining door which was perfect and were beautiful rooms with stunning views (301 & 302) .

Having eaten a large lunch we chose to eat in the bar for supper, again with outstanding service.

Breakfast was busy but well organised with a good range of hot and cold buffet items.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and very well maintained.

I have not experienced this high level of service for a long time and have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel. We are already planning a return visit!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMBMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear SMBMPH

Our aim is to exceed our guests' expectations and provide a memorable stay - we are pleased your family had such an enjoyable time at The Oakley Court Hotel.

Thank you for your compliments relating to our service and team members and we look forward to welcoming you for a return visit.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dondra, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Visited the Oakley Court with a couple of girlfriends for Afternoon Tea last Saturday. We hadn't booked but were able to sit in the beautiful Edwardian Drawing Room with two roaring log fires and views over the lawns to the Thames. The setting was a perfect start to the festive season - could just imagine Father Christmas emerging from one of the chimneys although he might have burned his toes! As the light faded outside the lights festooning the riverbank trees came on and made for a magical, sparkly vista.

The tea itself was magnificent, a generous three tiers each with a good selection of finger sandwiches, fresh fluffy scones and a variety of cakes and fancies. So generous in fact that even though we had skipped lunch and had a good walk in anticipation we still left with doggy boxes for later.

We went for the champagne option and having ordered several extra glasses through the afternoon were surprised at how reasonable to charge was - only £7.50 per extra glass which was cheaper than some second rate pubs!

The service was absolutely charming from the doormen and concierge through to the waiting staff. No one of them could have been more polite or helpful.

All in all a lovely way to while away a weekend afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Katy R

Afternoon tea at the Oakley Court Hotel is very popular and an extremely pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The Mansion House is cosy in the Winter and our grounds provide a stunning setting in the Summer to enjoy afternoon tea.

We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon and thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Such a wonderful beautiful venue, the staff are extremely helpful and polite. Couldn't have been more perfect. Would definitely recommend for a wedding or any special occasion. We all enjoyed a trip out on a boat as well, the grounds and surrounding area are a lovely view.
Great size rooms everything you could wish for. Many thanks for helping make a special day even more special.
Lynsey

Room Tip: River room views are lovely and a great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Lynsey K

My team and I are delighted to read that you had a perfect stay. Thank you for your complimentary review and for recommending the Oakley Court Hotel.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Richard Smith
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

On arrival my wife and i were given a free upgrade to a Suite in the main building which was really nice,if the toliet flushed proberly it would have been faultless,very cosy suite full of old fashioned charm,
Lunch or Tea is also great around £32 each for Tea sandwiches cakes and champage,the other cheaper options were very good,(you can reserve a fire place or window seat).
The major let down was the restaurant "basic errors"food was cold had to send it back twice,such a shame as the staff try very hard to please but the chief just was not up to it,
RE DINNER EAT OUT IN WINDSOR,
The breakfast was great really nice !

Room Tip: suite 102 river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 455pgtlgt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear 455pgtlgt106

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Oakley Court Hotel and offer apologies for the malfunctioning flush system in your room at the time of your stay.

I am delighted to confirm that we have appointed a new Head Chef and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband booked us here for a surprise birthday treat. We were upgraded to a suite, which was fabulous. Beautiful grounds, well located for Windsor and any culinary delights that you might have booked, such as The Fat Duck or The Hand and Flowers. Very comfy, clean rooms and a great outdoor decking area serving food and drinks late into the night. On occasions the kitchen seemed to be under quite a lot of pressure which led to delayed meals, but with surroundings so beautiful, it didn't really matter! We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear curlybap83

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations at The Oakley Court Hotel.
As you correctly point out, we are conveniently located for many local attractions making The Oakley Court Hotel an ideal venue for both business and leisure travellers.

Thank you for recommending and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having stayed away for many weeks with work in the Windsor area I have to say this is the worst hotel of my stay. They put me in an adjoining room with a random couple on the other side who didn't shut up until well into the early hours of the morning. Given I was booking as a single person for business I think the hotel could have showed a lot more consideration. I also do not expect to pay such prices for an adjoining room! Rubbish was also left in rhe room from the previous guest! I will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasalt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Kasalt87

I am extremely sorry to learn that you were disturbed by other guests - it is our intention that our guests leave refreshed and have an enjoyable stay. It is regrettable that we were not made aware of your concerns at the time of your stay as we have a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day and every effort would have been made to rectify the situation or relocate you to another room.

Thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,643 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing