We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I selected this hotel from a PH group mailing that was sent to me as a treat for my wife and I on her Birthday which falls between Christmas and New Year.
We only stayed one night but we will certainly be back. The other reviews say it all, this has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a very long time in every respect. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is lovely on the bank of the Thames and in the evening the garden and trees are lit up.
We ate in the restaurant and I took advantage of the meal offer when I booked and saved nearly £25. The food and service were excellent as was the breakfast next morning.
I did read that somebody mentioned the bathroom was out dated, this is true, however, for the money what do you expect. Everything was clean and in good order, the only thing I found which was not working was the heated towel rail in the bathroom as the valve was shut and the knob had been removed (Room 328) if maintenance would like to look into it.
If I had to nominate one thing as outstanding it would be the staff. The only thing I can think of at the other end of the scale is if I were to bring my elderly Mother to the hotel she would find it impossible to get in and out of the high sided bath for a shower which has no height control. Unless the manager who reads this can tell me he has rooms with walk in showers?

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for a river view room - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsince1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Travellingsince1970

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you had a "perfect" stay and your praise of my team at The Oakley Court Hotel is very much appreciated. The shower rail in your room has been investigated by our Maintenance Manager and your feedback regarding “walk in” showers is noted and will be taken into consideration for future plans. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    589
    224
    97
    75
See reviews for
437
903
28
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
towcester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

we enjoyed a lovely stay to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday.upon arrival we were treated to a glass of bubbly,the room was very spacious and clean.we dined in the restaurant on our first night the food and service was superb.all staff were very cheerful and pleasant.a superb setting next to the river thames. thanks for a very enjoyable stay would like to return in the summer to enjoy the gardens and river.many thanks

Room Tip: a room overlooking the river would be very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howardtowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear howardjc,

Thank you for rating our service, food and facilities so positively following your visit to The Oakley Court Hotel to celebrate your wife's 50th birthday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer to enjoy our beautiful riverside location.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

In need of relaxing break, booked Mon-Boxing Day inc Christmas Day lunch - what a wonderful experience! Felt thoroughly spoiled! Peaceful and quiet, stunning architecture, gorgeous rooms and grounds. Bedroom had excellent river view (325) huge comfy bed and everything we needed (though a mini fridge would've been icing on cake) Food was wonderful - Christmas day lunch plentiful and of excellent standard. Coffee and cookies in the library was especially enjoyable. All staff were courteous, cheerful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Short drive into Windsor, close to motorway junctions. Highly recommend this hotel and we'll definitely be returning - next time we'll use the pool too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear JanBristolUK

Thank you for highly recommending the Oakley Court Hotel and for your complimentary review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had our office Christmas lunch here. It is a hotel we use regularly for guests and entertaining which has proved popular in the past. It was our first time using it purely for the office to have a Christmas lunch. The service was poor, considering we had pre-ordered our selections. We waited an hour in the vestibule with one drink whilst they prepared the room. It was a conservatory with no Christmas decorations and all squeezed in. The food when it finally came was no better than average. No atmosphere at all, not even any background music gently playing. I cannot fault the Wow! factor of the old house itself, that always delights, and the setting is pretty special. However, if you are looking for better value for money it is not hard to find in the locale with quite a few venues being able to produce better food for a large gathering with better service and more atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rapunzelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Rapunzelle99

I offer apologies for the disappointing experience you describe. We were not made aware of any service issues at the time however I can confirm that we have since been in contact with the main organiser as we certainly do not wish for our guests to leave disappointed.

Thank you for your review and I do hope that this will not deter you from returning to The Oakley Court Hotel where you can be assured of our usually high standard of food and service.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Our Christmas Eve stay was a surprise and a delight... A surprise because the mean-minded and cavilling 3 and 4star reviews didn't prepare us for the architectural distinction of the old house or the comforts of the new. Who are these bleak-hearted and ever-disappointed complainers? Admittedly we didn't dine, but breakfast was lavish, service perfect ( and charming), and the pricing reasonable. The gardens were world-class, and the river view from our comfortable room was beautiful. This ( Christmas) morning we even found a stocking full of goodies on our door handle. Altogether a 5 star experience by any standard!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Charlie266

Thank you for such a complimentary review.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent quality food and high standards of service - I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Book this hotel for a weekend of peace and quiet. Set in a fabulous location, within walking distance of WIndsor Haven't stayed in such a wonderful hotel for such a long time will be going back. The spa facility's are Clean and well maintained. Staff are excellent and ever so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tankie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear tankie101

Thank you for your 5* review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Oakley Court Hotel is stunning to look at and matches it with a great service and attention to detail. We were welcomed with a glass of bubbles on arrival, the room was clean, large and very comfortable.
We were on a leisure weekend and enjoyed lunch in the restaurant, again beautiful food, well seasoned and good portions; I had lobster and my husband had fish 'n' chips both were excellent.
Service was as you would expect.
The grounds are gorgeous and well worth a short stroll.

Top tip arrive early so you can park near to the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking over the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear EmilyM

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that everything was "just perfect" and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing