We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas getaway”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Great experience, fine dining and especially pleasant over the Christmas holidays. Wonderful service - all very friendly and approachable, we were made to feel very comfortable - mention to Beth who answered all our questions and made a special effort to ensure a lovely day

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise-Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Louise-KateB

Thank you for your review. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your Christmas getaway and your comments regarding the impressive service provided will be shared with Beth and the team at The Oakley Court Hotel.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    597
    227
    97
    75
See reviews for
447
916
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for a long weekend as a honeymoon, staff were so attentive and polite, room was clean, large and had a huge bed. Views and grounds were stunning, food was good (but afternoon tea needs improving) overall a lovely break

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peanutss18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Peanutss18

Thank you for your 5* review - we are delighted to receive your positive feedback.

Congratulations and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a treat for my birthday for two nights. It is a beautiful building with a lot of history (several films were made here). We were given a glass of champagne as we arrived and there was a bowl of fruit in the room. The room did slightly smell of must/damp and the toilet handle did not work properly but other than that it was very nice. We decided to have a bar meal on night one but were told meals were served on the low coffee tables for a relaxed atmosphere so we moved to the dining room. We were greeted by a waiter who acted as if it was an inconvenience and said he would try and find us a table, even though the dining room was half empty! We had one starter, two mains and a bottle of wine and this came to £75! the food was very nice but there wasn't enough to fill a five year old, we were still hungry at the end but refused to pay another £16 for dessert. The waiter poured us a glass of wine and then put our bottle in a wine cooler with someone elses at another table, he didn't offer to pour us another glass so I had to get the attention of a member of staff to go and fetch the bottle for us. The breakfast was nice but could have done with being hotter.The staff in the restaurant were not very friendly or welcoming. We would stay again but eat out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Lorraine J

Thank you for your review. I am extremely sorry to learn that you experienced service issues within the Restaurant. We have implemented management changes in this area and I do hope that you return to The Oakley Court Hotel to experience our usual high standard of service.

I am pleased that your enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and thank you for your valued review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, a Christmas present from our Sons.We were booked into an executive double room on B@B. On arrival we were offered a glass of champagne and the offer of our luggage being taken to our room.The room was spotless and very well laid out, could not fault anything. We ate in the dining room that night, the prices were rather expensive,( £16 for burger and more for other dishes, £8 for desserts) but the food was absolutely lovely, fresh and hot.The complimentary bread was a nice thought.The service made us feel very special and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The breakfast was hot and cooked fresh, either full English or continental. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend this hotel to you.Lots of free parking and absolutely stunning grounds and views.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear tobyboy123

Thank you for your 5* review and for recommending The Oakley Court Hotel. My team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you.
We hope to see you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel for a Burn Night celebration. Prior to arrival, I was sent a text saying that a complimentary glass of bubbly would be waiting at check in: this did not appear. The room was in an annexe with a very stiff door (not great in the cold, wet and dark) and had a cracked basin in the bathroom, lined with mildew and other filth. The internet could only be accessed in certain parts of the room but the password supplied did not allow access.

Breakfast was a farce with my wife and I having to ask for menus and coffee from surly waiters. The only redeeming points of the hotel were the comfy bed and the refund of half my bill after complaining.

Unless there is nowhere else to stay, I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AncientEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear AncientEric

It is disappointing for us to read your review as we pride ourselves on the standards of service and cleanliness at The Oakley Court Hotel, as recognised by so many other guests.

Thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I use this hotel a lot of times when I'm in UK.
It's close to Heatrow but absolutely cheaper than others hotel in the airport area. It's a really nice place ( a lot of movies used this hotel as a set) clean and with a lot of services ( I usually rent also a meeting room for my meetings). Really really nice!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Stefano M

We do have an enviable and convenient location making The Oakley Court Hotel an ideal venue for both business and leisure guests. Thank you for your valued review and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the UK.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are old, worn & tired. As are the bath robes. We had empty wine glasses for three days. Room lights that were low and minimal. Service in the bar and restaurant was excellent and the location is perfect for the region. The Concierge and Reception were outstanding

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Gloria s

Thank you for your review. We do not understand your comments, especially with regards to the wine glasses as this is not our usual operating standard. I am unable to offer an explanation, other than apologise if this was overlooked. I am pleased other aspects of your stay were to your liking and thank you for your feedback.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,505 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing