We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I organised a conference at the hotel last November and I received nothing but good feedback from our attendees. The hotel is a really impressive building, it has lots of character and the grounds are beautiful to walk round (particularly at sunrise).

The conference facilities are of a high standard and includes everything you could want.
Coffee and biscuits were delicious and at lunch and dinner food was plentiful.
Staff were attentive and always on hand to help.
All in all we had a great time and are even looking into holding future events here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4georgie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 4georgie4

Thank you for your comments following your stay at Oakley Ct.

I am delighted that you and your company had such a great conference at the hotel, we pride ourselves on being able to deliver excellent service and standards for all guests, whether here for business or pleasure.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I spent a night here recently; it is a lovely setting right on the River but we found Dinner to be disappointing - rather a fussy uninteresting menu.

In all other ways an excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuirSSarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear MuirSSarratt

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel. I am please to inform you that we have already changed our Restaurant menu, and hopefully our guests will find it much more in keeping with the season and style of relaxed cooking we are now focused on.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great room with view of the Thames, Staff very helpful, Good bar food, Awesome history - Hammer horror Dracula, Rock Hoorror all shot there as Bray Studios. They were shooting a new epidode of Lewis when we arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieandgrahamrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear julgra,

Thank you for your review, i'm so pleased that you thought that the hotel was great value and that you found the staff helpful.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your bar food while watching the filming of Lewis, it's always fun welcoming a film crew onto our perfect location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Oakley Court in the future,

Kindest regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel has undergone major renovation and been brought back to it's former glory. We originally chose this place as it was the setting for numerous movies including Dracula and Rocky Horror Picture Show. (We actually stayed here during the annual Rocky reunion which we found very entertaining as some of the guests were dressed as characters from the film!) We got to stay in the room with the angled windows and gargoyles, which had a four poster canopy bed, fireplace, built in wardrobes, and old fashioned bath fixtures - along with internet and television access. Food here was delicious and a large breakfast buffet is served. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous with the Thames River running along side. There is also an indoor pool available. Definitely at the top of my list as one of my favorite places to stay in Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the original castle as they have the most character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear J S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are proud of our association with all the films that were made at Oakley Court and are so pleased that you were here to see the annual Rocky Horror reunion, it's always a fun filled weekend !
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed every facet of your stay from the wonderful building to the food and location and hope to see you again the next time you visit the U.K

Kind regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One night stay beginning of May 2014.
Arrived on a sunny Saturday afternoon and front of house opened a reserved parking space for us even though we hadn't reserved a space. Nice touch.
Glass of cold champagne at reception. Even nicer touch.
Room was spacious and had a nice view of grounds and Thames.
Played golf on pitch and putt, greens were poor but a nice little feature for hotel.
Taxi ordered was prompt and very helpful guide to Bray where we ate in the evening.
Bar area after our meal out was a nice relaxed atmosphere with a few characters which made us smile.
Pool was small, sauna and steam room was fine, jacuzzi didn't work which is poor.
Relaxed in the grounds which has beautifully crafted wooden animal sculptures made from driftwood.

I would recommend this to friends and family and we're thinking of going back in the future.

Room Tip: Thames view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear G4Z,

Thank you for your 5 Star review

I'm so pleased that our Butler's looked after you upon arrival with a parking space and some bubbly, the only way to begin any visit to Oakley Court!

I'm also pleased that you enjoyed our golf course and leisure facilities, I am sorry that Jacuzzi had a fault while you were here, i'm happy to say that is now bubbling away nicely.

The driftwood sculptures have become a real feature at the hotel and we have new one's arriving all the time so please keep an eye out for any additions on your next visit,

Kindest regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was very surprised when I discovered this hotel backed onto the River - the trees, the shrubs extremely well cared for added to the magical charm of this hotel.

The architectural features are also a delight and a great comparison to many of the other hotels in the area. The aritculation and intricate features dotted throughout the building add a great charm to this venue.

The open grass verge was a great contrast to the detail of the building. The staff were all delightful and being served in the room was as equally as fine as being served in the breakfast room.

One thing I like was sitting outside where they had some laid back music playing just within ears reach.....all very charming.

The approach to the hotel and its grounds was great....

Room Tip: One tip I would say to the hotel and the travellers be mindful is that the room has to be aired. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caitlin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Cailin888,

Thank you for your review, it's so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the hotels magical charm and the architectural features that differentiate us from so many other hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you feel like chilling by the river,

Regards
Richard Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in the deluxe river view room, which lived up to the description! a few metres away from the Thames, overlooking swans and the odd boat going past! The room itself was large and very comfortable, though smelled slightly musty (maybe as it's on a level with the river!). Extra touches such as robes in the room made it very special. The staff could not do enough to help and were all friendly and polite. The only down side was the price of the bar food - relatively ordinary food- such as burgers and "sandwiches" at high prices. Nice food, but not worth paying that much; it cost is over £60 for two for a bar meal, a couple of drinks and coffee. But overall a beautiful setting & fantastic service . Didn't try the spa but it looked lovely.

Room Tip: River view room was excellent if you are willing to pay the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jane I,

Thank you for your review, it was so nice to hear that you enjoyed your perfect location overlooking the River Thames and the little extras like Bathrobes in every room.

Maybe next time you can speak to our Butler's department about hiring a bike (complimentary of course) and cycling along the river into Windsor, a perfect way to spend the day

Kindest regards
Richard Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,953 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £155 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing