We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, beautiful grounds and very relaxed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, beautiful grounds and very relaxed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I have just visited Oakley Court - twice in four days! Firstly for an afternoon, celebratory tea and secondly for lunch on a summer's day. Service was relaxed and courteous (a tad slow at times, although we weren't in a rush to leave). Fantastic setting. Lovely grounds. Nice food. Apart from the piped music in the sitting areas (you really need to consider something less annoying...sounds like a child experimenting with a piano and really begins to get on your nerves after a while), I can't really fault it and will be visiting again soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2lft-ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear 2lft-ft

Thank you for your comments following your recent two visits to Oakley Court.

I was pleased to see that we were so good you had to return again!

With regards the current music, I am actually in the process of changing the music at the hotel, this should be in place by late July, so please do come back and hear the changes we have made.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    587
    224
    97
    75
See reviews for
437
901
28
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed here several times when going to Royal Ascot but this is the best stay yet. We love the river view rooms in the west wing as they are comfortable & well equipped. The hotel has changed hands since our last visit & there are some noticable differences. The staff were lovely & there is a good atmosphere about the whole hotel it has always been nice but there is something extra now. The evening BBQ is a great idea & afternoon tea is lovely. Ascot week is always expensive but good value at other times with some great offers.
We will be back again next year for Ascot if not before.

Room Tip: River view west wing or main house suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lesley G

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at Oakley Court.

I am pleased that you have recognised several service and standard changes since your last visit, as one of our regular guests this feedback is critical to me and my team - we certainly have a new focus and refreshed determination to make Oakley Court one of the best hotels in the UK - More changes are on the way!

I look forward to you returning sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a lovely location, hotel is right on the Thames. Staff were very polite and professional and the room was perfect and overlooked the river. Spent two nights for our anniversary and was pleasently surprised when we found a bottle of wine on chill and chocolates in our room. Didn't have time to use spa facilities but the pool looked very nice and there are tennis courts and a mini golf course in the grounds and its a very short drive to Windsor town. Will be returning very soon as we enjoyed our short break so much.

Room Tip: If you can get a river view room then do so, we stayed in room 321
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Richie d

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay so much, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Beautiful hotel next to the river, just a little way outside of Windsor we stayed here for valentines day and got a great deal which included a bottle of Rose and a box of M&S chocos.

It felt very special and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear JohnWenham

Thank you for your feedback following your Valentines stay at Oakley Court.

Please do come back to us soon and get to enjoy the hotel grounds now that the summer has finally arrived - maybe book one of our beautiful picnics to enjoy sat by the River Thames and watch the boats pass by?

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

After being in Europe for 6 weeks, arriving here at Oakley Court was like coming home. Quintessentially English. The welcome at 1am (as flight late) was so inviting, helpful and friendly. The staff here really care about you. From reception,to dining,bar,housekeeping in fact every staff member was outstanding with their service. The dining was superb and we thought reasonably priced. A special and memorable experience x thank you Oakley Court we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Kris D

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

I am delighted that my team were able to take care of your needs during your stay at such a high service level, and making you feel you had arrived home after an extended journey, this service level is something that we pride ourselves on delivering within the hotel.

My team and I look forward to you returning soon.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The imposing building, home to many a movie and tv show setting, is your first indication that this is not your ordinary hotel! The gracious staff could not be more attentive (even popped into the kitchen to fix a late night cheese sandwich for us after a long day in Windsor), and the accommodations are lovely. There is dining or "tea" on the outdoor patio while watching the swans, rowers, and boats pass on the Thames. Sound delightful? It is and the food is very good. The breakfast buffet was elaborate and the eggs are so rich and tasty.
Good beds, modern bath, wifi, and flowers, walking trails, etc.
Best is that it is close to Heathrow and Windsor--great for avoiding jet lag.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texas-molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear texas-molly

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the Oakley Court Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the many elements of the hotel - especially the bedroom/bathroom, the food and of course our unique location!

Please ensure you come back to us next time you visit the UK.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just spent a night at this hotel as part of a visit to Royal Ascot race meeting. The hotel is located a couple of miles outside Windsor and convenient for Ascot.
The staff were very welcoming but, as we arrived at 11.00am, our room was not available. However, as we had to get changed to go to the races, we were able to use the changing rooms in the leisure complex. We then had champagne on the terrace overlooking the gardens and the River Thames before we left for Ascot. On returning after the races check in was very fast and efficient and we were soon in our room. This was quite large with lots of natural light. The bed was particularly large and comfy. There was even a complimentary bottle of champagne and bowl of fruit - although at £319.00 for one night I suppose they can easily afford this.
The bar was quite busy in the evening as England were busy losing to Uruguay but the service was good.
The only meal we ate was breakfast and I must say that this was excellent with top quality ingredients - especially the sausage and black pudding.
All in all a very nice stay at a lovely hotel. The grounds are particularly stunning. Not cheap but very high quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZacMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear ZacMonaco

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

I am delighted that you found all elements of your hotel stay to your liking, especially the breakfast and bedroom quality - I am also delighted that you were able to use the hotel during the Royal Ascot week, Oakley Court is certainly an ideal base to use during this unique event.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing