We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary reunion ”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Went for our 20th anniversary for a special meal with family. The food is of an excellent standard.... We had a few issues with service, but the general manager was excellent and we have had our faith restored and will be back in the near future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Scott M

Thank you for your feedback following your recent 20th Anniversary celebrations that you held at Oakley Court.

I was pleased that once I was made aware of some issues that you encountered that I was able to restore your faith back with us, however please allow me to apologise once more that we did not deliver great service consistently for you and your party, as you are aware I have now dealt with this feedback with my team already.

on a more positive note, I am delighted that the food was of an "excellent standard" and that you will be returning in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to feedback your experience with me.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Oakley Court Hotel for a friends wedding. The main building, the manicured lawns, and the location right on the River Thames made for the perfect setting. All the staff were friendly and courteous. Drinks and food was a little pricey, but no different to any other hotel of a similar quality.
If you happen to be staying on a Friday and the weather is nice, then definitely make use of the terrace and the evening of Jazz. This was a wonderful experience.
Our only negative would be with the parking. On all three days that we were staying at the hotel, there were private functions that made parking sometimes tricky.

Room Tip: We stayed in the West Wing right by the Boat House and had no complaints. It was lovely opening the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooniemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mooniemad

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay while you attended your friends wedding at Oakley Court.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the regular Friday evening live Jazz we have within our Terrace Restaurant area overlooking the River Thames, this has proved to be very popular indeed, especially on a warm summer evening.

Now you have discovered Oakley Court and the great service and standards we offer, please be sure to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our fourth visit to The Oakley Court and it never fails to please us. Not sure about the new uniforms maybe prefered the more formal collar and ties but staff were as friendly and accomodating as they always were and everything is always very clean. Excellent by all accounts and looking forward to our next visit. D&M Hedley

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear David H

Thank you for your feedback following one of your regular visits to Oakley Court.

I am pleased that as one of our more regular guests you are still enjoying the hotel, especially as we go through some service & standards changes to help improve the hotel overall.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel around noon after a long overnight flight from the US. We were very pleased that the friendly staff was able to check us in early. (I had sent an email request for early check in). Our room was on the lower floor of the West Wing with a Thames River view. The room was large by UK standards, and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed walks around the beautiful grounds, but access to other walks beyond the property requires walking along a narrow path on a busy road.

We had a lovely dinner in the dining room. Our selections of salmon and pork chops were delicious and well presented and the service was excellent. The Terrace Restaurant is a fantastic setting, however the service was not attentive and we were disappointed with our sandwiches there. The hamburger was unseasoned with no offers for ketchup or mustard. The Dressed Avocado Sandwich was not "dressed" in our opinion - just avocado cubes on dry toast with one halved, free-range egg and a plain, lettuce garnish.

Breakfast in the dining room was very good. The only problem being that the bowl of yogurt was warm from sitting in the sun by the window. Complete English Breakfast and Continental breakfast offerings are buffet-style with served tea or coffee.

Over all we would recommend the hotel for it's hospitality, comfortable room and beautiful grounds.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Waypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Waypix

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Oakley Court.

After a long haul flight there is nothing better than checking into a wonderful hotel and being able to unwind and relax - I was very pleased to read that you felt that you could "recommend the hotel for it's hospitality, comfortable room and beautiful grounds" - I accept that some of our menu items were not to your taste, but please be assured we can adapt where required to make any menu item more personal, if required.

Next time you are in England please be sure to stay at Oakley Court again.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager



Over all we would recommend the hotel for it's hospitality, comfortable room and beautiful grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a 40 Wedding Anniversary surprise booked by my husband. Room, hotel and grounds stunning.
Thank you for the added touches of bubbly and chocolate in room. We will come back to your lovely hotel. Thank you to the hotel staff they are all very helpful .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tiredeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear 4tiredeyes

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your 40th Wedding Anniversary with us so much, please make us your regular anniversary location for every year moving forward!

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went there for lunch yesterday and was really disappointed. Whilst the grounds are really nice and the surroundings very pleasant the service was very (!) slow – so slow that I had to ask for our table to be cleared twice. The food was ok but again not executed as it should have been. Our drinks got mixed up twice and our chips forgotten. Staff are friendly but unsupervised and someone should pay more attention to the dress code – dirty and ripped shoes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World traveller W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear World traveller W

Thank you for your feedback following your lunch visit to the hotel.

My team and I apologise that your experience was not as you or we would have expected on this isolated occasion - we have no record of your dissatisfaction on the day, however I am positive that if we had been made aware then we could have dealt with the poor standards you received quickly and made changes where required.

Thank you for now making me aware of the service and standards shortfall you encountered, please be assured I have taken your comments on board.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

this was a last minute and impulse decision which turned out to be one of the best hotels we had stayed, and the day was sunny, beautiful and nearly mid summer day with gorgeous sun shine by the banks of the Thames river with all natural beauty. The service and quality of the food in the bar restaurant was again one does remember for a long time.
over all was a perfect day and the staff were so friendly and helpful made it extra special day,
Many Thanks to all specially Kate

Room Tip: the best rooms with a view of the river of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear ali7744

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I am pleased that your last minute decision to stay with us was so perfect for you, thank you for recognising the service we provide and the high standards we deliver - with more planning next time you return try and visit some of the many local attractions close to the hotel - such as Windsor Castle, and of course the shops in central London which are only a short distance away.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
10 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £163 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing