We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thames Ditton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Glorious medieval castle-type hotel. We had a river facing room with stunning views of the surrounding gardens and gothic castle with it's fancy turrets and gargoyles! We were greeted with a glass of champers, and found another bottle of fizz and complimentary chocolate in our room with a lovely card for our wedding anniversary we were celebrating.

There was a saxophonist playing on our first evening so we had a meal on the terrace. The food was okay but very expensive. However this was outshone by the superb ambience and the attentive staff.

Bike hire was free, super bikes and but for the weather I am sure we would have had lovely cycle along the riverside. However on the Saturday rain stopped play so we had a lovely day shopping and sightseeing in Windsor old town centre.

There was a wedding taking place at the Oakley Court on the Saturday so it was all happening in and around the hotel during the Saturday afternoon, but lovely to watch all the people in their finery having such a super day.

The breakfasts were first class, with fresh poached eggs which were hot and runny, and everything else you needed for a full fry up, including cereals, cakes, fruit and so forth. Excellent breakfast.

There was in indoor leisure facility and we had a fab afternoon swim/steam/jacuzzi which was just what the doctor ordered on a rainy afternoon.

All in all I cannot fault the Oakley Court. Nothing was too much trouble for it's wonderful host of staff, very helpful in reception and helping us with our cases etc, they are a credit to the hotel. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: River facing rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Annie P

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I was very pleased to read that you recognised the service level my team deliver to our guests, your kind comments will be shared with the whole hotel team - we clearly made a very good impression on you and your husband - I was delighted that you were able to make some use of our complimentary bikes.

Thank you for also recognising our food standards, especially at Breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    589
    224
    97
    75
See reviews for
437
903
28
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I cant believe its taken me this long to write a review since i stayed here. I booked this place from australia to unwind with the woman i returned back home for. This hotel is class. We arrived to find we had been upgraded to a wing. Didnt sound great until we saw the room. A huge riverside room which took our breath away. Massive bed and sheer endulgence everywhere you look, the staff, the grounds, the food, the pool and sauna. The list goes on. This beautiful setting next to a meandering river brings a smile to my girlfriends every time i mention it and its been years since we stayed! A place we will cherish forever. THE BEST HOTEL IN WINDSOR. STAY HERE!! You wont regret it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Richard J

Thank you for your feedback following your previous stay at Oakley Court.

WOW! Your feedback is truly stunning, thank you for taking the time to post your comments so long after your stay with us, we clearly made a very positive impression on you and your partner!

Please be sure to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed in East Wing and the following was the problem

The hallway to the bedrooms was uncomfortably hot and humid
Upon entering the room you were hit with a wall of humidity as the air con didn't work and the windows were shut.....in the height of summer!
To add insult to injury the heating was on full whack in the towel rad in the en-suite.
Basically it was nigh on impossible to get a nights sleep especially with a 2 year old who found it seriously uncomfortable.

Opening the windows was a task in itself as they are old sticky aluminium ones with broken down glazing you can hardly see through.

Nice building but not up to the standard required for a comfortable stay...especially at the price they charge for the rooms, food, drinks etc.

If you're booking this place make sure you specify the room has air-con THAT WORKS

Room Tip: Specify air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColmM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear ColmM1

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

Due to a technical fault - unfortunately your bedroom air cooling unit could not be repaired during your stay - please accept my apologies for the discomfort that occurred as a result of this issue, this fault was further compounded by the unusually high temperatures that also occurred during your stay.

Please contact me directly so I can discuss this matter further with you.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night between lunch at The Fat Duck and lunch at The Waterside Inn. Had a gorgeous afternoon on the lawn by the river after lunch. Our room was in the annex (across from reception) and since the walls were very thin we did not get a restful night's sleep. House cleaning also woke us up twice (way before check out time) to clean the room. Lovely grounds and rooms but would have been more restful if house keeping stayed away till after check out.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building may have rooms with thicker walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llyrvak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear llyrvak

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I take on board your comments about Housekeeping being too keen to clean your room early in the morning, I will make some changes within our operation to ensure that this does not reoccur - I was please to read though that you did have a "gorgeous afternoon" at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I have just stayed (for the first time) at Oakley Court Hotel in Windsor, situated in beautiful grounds on the banks of the Thames. We were all immediately impressed by the offers of help with luggage, and/or to park the cars for us, and the glass of champagne to greet us went down a treat.
It got better and better as the rooms were large, clean and airy (hardly any noises, apart from aircraft if one left the windows open), and the excellent choice of breakfast foods (hot foods beautifully cooked by a real chef) set us up well for the day.
Then there are the facilities, which include boat hire (supervised or not), gymnasium, swimming pool, 9-hole golf course, etc. Believe me, even if the weather is bad this is one place that can leave a smile on your face. Thoroughly and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Peter A

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I was delighted to read that although this was your first stay at Oakley Court you were delighted by the service level we provide to our guests and of course the selection of facilities we are also able to offer - please be sure to return to us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you for "highly recommending" us!

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed here numerous times over the years and never been disappointed , now under new ownership it better than ever
Relax watching the river, enjoy tea on the lawn, all rooms are adequate food excellent only negative smoked salmon & scrambled eggs not on breakfast menu as previous visits

Room Tip: Ask overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 321HenryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ian P

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

It was a pleasure to have you return yet again for one of your many visits - I am pleased that you have seen the positive changes that have been occurring at the hotel recently, many more still to come!

Next time you stay please be sure to ask for your scrambled eggs and salmon, it may not be on the menu but we can cater for any special requests.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Went for our 20th anniversary for a special meal with family. The food is of an excellent standard.... We had a few issues with service, but the general manager was excellent and we have had our faith restored and will be back in the near future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Scott M

Thank you for your feedback following your recent 20th Anniversary celebrations that you held at Oakley Court.

I was pleased that once I was made aware of some issues that you encountered that I was able to restore your faith back with us, however please allow me to apologise once more that we did not deliver great service consistently for you and your party, as you are aware I have now dealt with this feedback with my team already.

on a more positive note, I am delighted that the food was of an "excellent standard" and that you will be returning in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to feedback your experience with me.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing