We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely hotel and grounds. Breakfast buffet could be improved. Left on chafing dishes too long and we came down at 7.40 am to find over cooked bacon sausage and fried eggs we spoke to restaurant manager who acknowledged it needs to be improved. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sandra M

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I accept that we need to make a number of changes to our breakfast buffet area, this is in hand will be occurring in the next few weeks, so please come back and see the changes we have put in place following a number of guests giving is feedback such as yours.

Thank you again for taking the time to let me know how your stay went.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    588
    224
    97
    75
See reviews for
437
902
28
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is absolutely amasing. it has the air of royalty about it, the property is large, well kept and with boat access.
The rooms are fully-equiped - ironing set, coffee & tea, led TV with 2014 blockbuster collection and Hollywood favs, bathrobes, A/C etc. Everything is clean, neat and well kept.

The restaurant & bar have a rich selection of foods and drinks and the service is what you'd expect from such a place.
The only thing that made my right eyebrow lift was the squeaky floors, but I was not bothered by it.

Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurentiu_Horubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Laurentiu_Horubet

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the unique Oakley Court Hotel - please be sure to return to us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Dear Mr Smith. I would like to thank you and your staff for the few days stay which we thoroughly

enjoyed. Your staff were pleasant friendly. The gardens look wonderful and the

hotel will look excellent when the refurbishment is complete. When completed we

shall make our seventh visit. Many Thanks J M Rowell.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr Rowell

Thank you for your feedback following your recent return stay to Oakley Court.

I am pleased that our refurbishment of some of the public areas is to your liking, we have a lot more to do around the property but I am sure you will notice even more positive differences when you return for your 8th visit!

I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The grounds of this hotel are large and sprawling. It is a large, extended mansion with all the nooks and crannies retained (a boot room and a snooker room are but two rooms from a world gone by) but with facilities brought up to date. The bedrooms or suites were pleasant enough, the beds being soft but comfortable. A gym, a small swimming pool and a 9 hole golf course are some of the attractions but best of all are the riverside lawns. Whether lazing in deck chairs or eating al fresco on the terrace, watching the world drift pass on the river was so relaxing. Amazing sculptures made out of driftwood adorn the entrance, reception and the gardens. The hotel has electric powered boats to rent by the hour so you can lazily cruise up (or down) river (we made it to Windsor). Whilst not cheap, certainly a hotel to return to at a later date. (The only moan I had was the wifi was weak and very patchy but I understand they are hoping to upgrade this.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrosia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ambrosia46

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you also for highlighting the various opportunities to make anyone's stay a little more special - being so close to Windsor and choosing to get there by river via our electric boats is certainly a special treat everyone should look to enjoy - please do come back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wonderful tranquil spot. ask for room overlooking the Thames and make sure it's on the 2nd floor- ours was very musty smelling - wonderful buffet breakfast! Short drive from heathrow - you May want to invest in gps if you are renting a car as roads are complicated

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaven60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Travelmaven60

Thank you for your feedback posted following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our quite location, even though we are only a relatively short drive away from Heathrow International Airport.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Oakley Court has been recently refurbished and is now a lovely place where you can eat outside looking at the boats passing by on the River Thames.
The menu is varied and the food we chose very tasty, service is also very good. On Fridays they have a saxophone player doing jazz songs.
After dinner, you can take a stroll on the grounds or inside the house to admire the greatly preserved furniture and soft furnishings. THis is a great place to have dinner!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Nask

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Oakley Court.

You are correct in recognising that we have recently undertaken a number of changes around some of our lounges and Terrace dining area - I am delighted that you have enjoyed them so much - plus we have a new Head Chef and he has made a significant change to our food offering, again something you have also positively recognised.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for a short break and loved the setting of the hotel. We decided on the Oakley court as it is near to Brey which is where we were going for a meal. It was only 2 mins drive (£10 in a taxi) away. Its also very close to Windsor, Ascot and Heathrow.

The hotel is a wonderful old building with a lot of film history and the grounds are brilliant. The lawn was huge and the grounds were really nice to walk around. We rented a boat (£50) for an hour which was really nice and provided a nice tour of the nearby area via the lake. The bar and restaurant were excellent. We had cocktails which were great and the breakfast was superb with a full and comprehensive offering. The pool was small but nice, it was pretty busy with Kids most of the time we were there (over the weekend) which made it busy. They have adult only times however these are badly timed over meals times. There were lots of kids around which spoilt the 'adult only' aspect of things in my opinion - families were pretty inconsiderate to kids running around during meals etc which is a shame and the hotel did little to see the impact this had on other guests.

Room was good, nice and big and very comfortable. Some appliance were a little dated and the TV system could do with being updated. The bathroom was a little low on toiletries given the room rate. They provided a cupcake on arrival which was nice.

Staff let the place down a little. A blunt welcome from the receptionist (felt like we were arriving at the reception of MI5) and a bunch of kids for concierges who were pretty clueless and fairly useless at sorting out anything let down the ethos the hotel were aiming for. Restaurant and bar staff were significantly better.

Overall a pretty good hotel. I loved the setting and the rooms was very good. Its a beautiful area to stay in and i would suggest looking around the nearby area (they have bikes to rent as well as the boats).

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Managing Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jamsimsafc

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

Overall you appear to have an enjoyable stay and hopefully will be returning to us in the future - I have taken note of your comments around the Reception and Concierge staff members, I am currently working on the training for these two areas of the hotel and I am positive that a difference will be occurring very soon on the elements we have let ourselves down on.

Thank you again for your feedback, as receiving this information is critical to allow me and my team to make the positive changes we require around the hotel.

I look forward to you returning soon.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing