We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We booked a two-night stay at the Oakley Court Hotel as we wanted to spend some time visiting the area. We have two young children and were originally quoted a cheaper rate for a double room. Upon calling back to confirm I was told that as we have more than one child we would have to upgrade to a family room for an extra £60. However I was told that we would have a garden view.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the approach to the main building is pretty. The old house is elegant but the add-on building looks a little bit like an old people's home. We were given a room in the leisure buidling and we were not given a garden view. The view was of a narrow triangular courtyard. This was a disappointment and we were eventually shown an alternative in the aforementioned care home section but the interior was as old fashioned as the outside and the room much smaller. The good thing about being in the section of the hotle, I imagine, is that you don't have t look at the building you are in.

The leisure club included a gym, swimming pool and sauna. The pool was a fair size and the air temperature warm. There is a hot tub for over 16's too.

The room we had was a long room with a large Queen size bed and a double sofa bed. The bathroom was large and included a bidet.

There is internet access for a charge. Whilst it was a good location for the pool, there are a labrynth of corridors in order to get in and out of building.

We walked around the grounds and down to the river. The hotel lets you hire boats but we did not have time to do this. We did see family go past in one of the smaller hire boats though. They were the only 'traffic' we saw. There are geese and ducks in this area though so bring wellies.

The breakfast was very nice. They had scrabled and fried eggs, sausages, bacon, lovely big mushrooms, tomatoes and hash browns with a good selection of fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, yoghurt, cheese, ham and bread.

Despite the disappointment over the pricing and room view, this hotel met our needs and was well placed for the excursions we planned.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakleyCourt, Executive Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2009

Thank you for the constructive nature of your feedback and I am so pleased to learn that the Hotel overall met your expectations. Your favourable comments regarding our breakfasts and hotel grounds are very well received and we have duly noted your feedback regarding the garden view bedroom and corridors in the courtyard wing. Please let us know if you are staying again and we will do our utmost to accommodate you in a room with a garden or river view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,247 - 2,253 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

weekend break, good location, bar food in hotel good value. service was friendly and prompt. stayed in the main house, no water pressure in the shower would be better using the gym showers. also, toliet would take 30 mins to refill, quite loudly. There was a note in the room saying that breakfast gets busy between 09:30-10:30, this proved the case on sunday having to wait 10 mins for a table at 09:40. gym is small but well appointed, pool and sauna clean but small

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakleyCourt, Executive Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2009

Thank you for taking time to respond following your recent stay, and we are glad to learn that you found the service in the Hotel both prompt and friendly.Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the water pressure, this has been taken on board accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Having just spent one night over Easter at the Oakley Court, Windsor, my wife and I found the Hotel lovely and the staff very attentive, however we felt the food quality and the room left room for improvement. Cost for dinner and breakfast were very expensive for what you get. We booked on HB basis but felt the evening meal fell short for this standard of hotel. The room (booked on a super-break reduced rate, admittedly) was too hot and the windows did not open, the shower leaked all over the floor, the wash basin taps were loose. Otherwise the room was large and comfortable. The leisure center is small (pool especially).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyHeadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

As all other reviewers have noted, the building and the location cant be faulted. However... our room service dinner arrived wrong and a bit later than expected - a chicken sandwich NOT a thai green curry. The air conditioner/fan didnt work at all, and yet even when turned off it still made a noise, which combined with the intolerable heat that came from nowhere, ensured we didnt get a wink of sleep. The plumbing is old and cranky, so the water stops and starts of its own accord, and the pipes and toilet continually rattled...and the showerhead was too low for anyone over 5'6! We couldnt wait to get home to be honest, and get a decent nights sleep... on a firm bed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

As the name suggets, this hotel is an old mansion house, albeit, there would appear to have been several extensions over the years to accomodate additional bedrooms. The entrance is imposing, with gargoyles peering down from the gables. All public ares are immaculate and well maintained, but still retain the feeling of aristocracy - a very difficult balance to achieve . Service throughout is very good and efficient, though unobtrusive and friendly. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable, with excellent standards of cleanliness. I enjoyed a very good nights sleep. Perhaps the hotels highlight is the view you enjoy in the morning. It is located directly on the Thames, with acres of lawn sweeping down to the rivers bank. What a pleasure to view the sunrising over the Thames! There was a wide selection for breakfast, all of which looked very appertising. I plumped for the full English option which was both freshly cooked and tasty. The breakfast supervisor was slightly over zealous though. Overall a most enjoyable stay, and one I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I book this myself by phone. When myself and my wife arrived there we found we had no bathrobes and had to ask for then,they did turn up on the second night when i asked again.As for the restrant, well the staff dont speak english or dont want to understant it. We had the three course meal. When we have stayed before and eaten there they gave you palate refresher between each course but not this time so i asked why not. The manager was realy nasty and said that they had never done so.The next night guess what they gave them to us?
And when we got home we found out that the price we had been charge was wrong for the time we stayed. We had payed £195 pr night not the £175 as they show in there advert online. So all in all not a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank painter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

This is one of my favourite hotels in the area, at a relatively good value. A beautiful old manor house, in a lovely setting by the Thames, with a view of a lovely forest (even if it is a very thin forest covering farmland). The service is absolutely top-class, way above other similar hotels, the breakfast is very good and with excellent variety, check-in is smooth, dinner option is good if expensive. The rooms (and bathrooms) are well appinted, spacious, large beds, flat-tv - but some faults too, namely if you are unlucky enough to have a room such as the one I once had in the "Courtyard" (the old Stables), which had such creaky floors that every time the upstairs neighbour walked it felt like the ceiling was going to come down. Also, although the surrounding is quiet, the windows could provide a better sound and air insulation (the room was somewhat cold as the window was not airtight), and finally the shower-heads are relatively low - not convenient for tall people! Good facitilies (gym, pool, internet even if expensive, and a lot of parking space). Overall I'd come back, certainly a hotel with a lot of character.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hypnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,990 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £147 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing