We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous; peaceful, relaxing and fun”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This is a lovely hotel.

There are many things to recommend the Oakley Court but the feeling that struck us most was that we could be so totally relaxed in such fine and wonderful surroundings.

It was so nice to see people lying on the grass, reading the morning paper by the river in the sun, as if in their own garden. It is a place where you can meander through your day, play croquet under the weeping willow, go for a swim, hire a boat, play snooker and just feel a total lack of pressure.

Sitting out on the terrace as the sun set was idyllic. From there you can watch the rowers and boats leisurely float by. Without a building to be seen, just a bank of trees (fantastically lit up in green at night), it really does take you away from it all.

It is not just the outside that is so spectacular. The many drawing rooms are all very welcoming and I would love to revisit in the winter when it looks as though lots of open fires are lit. There is a library and I can’t think of a better place to spend a cold afternoon than sitting by a log fire reading a book. It is a very atmospheric place.

I loved the fact that we were able to drink peacefully into the night with no pressure to leave but was equally happy that a very comfortable and wide bed was waiting in what was a good-sized and excellent room in the West Wing.

The members of Staff were excellent; especially the terrific Scottish girl who brought us drinks on the terrace and also the young Concierge (apologies for not knowing their names) who was incredibly friendly and helpful (we stayed over the weekend of the 9th/10th May and booked with Travelzoo).

There is something of a thrill to be staying where they filmed the Rocky Horror Picture Show (so many gargoyles!) and I suppose my only request would be that they put the film on one of the TV channels on a loop as I’d quite like to see it all how it was.

We had previously stayed in the Sir Christopher Wren which, although central and a great hotel, does not match the Oakley Court. This is a keeper.

It was a terrific stay, a great getaway and we are thoroughly looking forward to returning either later in the Summer or for a cosy weekend by a roaring fire. Thank you very much to Oakley Court!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roleolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakleyCourt, Executive Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2009

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are all very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay. As a point of interest we have arranged for the Rocky Horror Picture Show film to be available on our in house movies during "The Time Warp" weekend in August. I have posted your comments on our staff notice board for all of the team to see. Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,223 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2009

I booked the hotel via a deal through Travelzoo for a one night stay included DB&B for £120 in a deluxe room.
First of all the hotel itself is stunning and its position and grounds are fantastic. Our room in the East Wing was great - complimentary chocolates, bottled water and bathrobes were provided which was an excellent touch. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The three-course meal in the restaurant was some of the best food I have tasted and the additional courses compliments of the chef just added to the experience. The only thing that let it down is that the dress code in the restaurant is smart casual, however, it appears that people are allowed in dress far too much to the casual side and when you are having a lovely meal in lovely surroundings this spoils the experience. Breakfast the following morning was also fantastic, freshly prepared food with great choice.
The only downside to our entire stay was that one member of the bar staff came across as rude and unhelpful and also the fire alarm went off at 12.30am and appeared to be a false alarm after much walking around and not finding any staff to advise as to what was happening. There was also no apology for the fire alarm the following morning at check-out.
Apart from this the stay was impeccable, the room was impressive and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakleyCourt, Executive Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2009

Thank you for taking the time to feedback and I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed so much your stay here at The Oakley Court Hotel. Your comments "impeccable, impressive and excellent" have been posted on the staff notice board for all of the team to see, as it is always motivating to receive positive recognition. Thank you also for your constructive remarks regarding the fire bell and dress code. Once again thank you for your response and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We booked a two-night stay at the Oakley Court Hotel as we wanted to spend some time visiting the area. We have two young children and were originally quoted a cheaper rate for a double room. Upon calling back to confirm I was told that as we have more than one child we would have to upgrade to a family room for an extra £60. However I was told that we would have a garden view.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the approach to the main building is pretty. The old house is elegant but the add-on building looks a little bit like an old people's home. We were given a room in the leisure buidling and we were not given a garden view. The view was of a narrow triangular courtyard. This was a disappointment and we were eventually shown an alternative in the aforementioned care home section but the interior was as old fashioned as the outside and the room much smaller. The good thing about being in the section of the hotle, I imagine, is that you don't have t look at the building you are in.

The leisure club included a gym, swimming pool and sauna. The pool was a fair size and the air temperature warm. There is a hot tub for over 16's too.

The room we had was a long room with a large Queen size bed and a double sofa bed. The bathroom was large and included a bidet.

There is internet access for a charge. Whilst it was a good location for the pool, there are a labrynth of corridors in order to get in and out of building.

We walked around the grounds and down to the river. The hotel lets you hire boats but we did not have time to do this. We did see family go past in one of the smaller hire boats though. They were the only 'traffic' we saw. There are geese and ducks in this area though so bring wellies.

The breakfast was very nice. They had scrabled and fried eggs, sausages, bacon, lovely big mushrooms, tomatoes and hash browns with a good selection of fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, yoghurt, cheese, ham and bread.

Despite the disappointment over the pricing and room view, this hotel met our needs and was well placed for the excursions we planned.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakleyCourt, Executive Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2009

Thank you for the constructive nature of your feedback and I am so pleased to learn that the Hotel overall met your expectations. Your favourable comments regarding our breakfasts and hotel grounds are very well received and we have duly noted your feedback regarding the garden view bedroom and corridors in the courtyard wing. Please let us know if you are staying again and we will do our utmost to accommodate you in a room with a garden or river view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

weekend break, good location, bar food in hotel good value. service was friendly and prompt. stayed in the main house, no water pressure in the shower would be better using the gym showers. also, toliet would take 30 mins to refill, quite loudly. There was a note in the room saying that breakfast gets busy between 09:30-10:30, this proved the case on sunday having to wait 10 mins for a table at 09:40. gym is small but well appointed, pool and sauna clean but small

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakleyCourt, Executive Director at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2009

Thank you for taking time to respond following your recent stay, and we are glad to learn that you found the service in the Hotel both prompt and friendly.Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the water pressure, this has been taken on board accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Having just spent one night over Easter at the Oakley Court, Windsor, my wife and I found the Hotel lovely and the staff very attentive, however we felt the food quality and the room left room for improvement. Cost for dinner and breakfast were very expensive for what you get. We booked on HB basis but felt the evening meal fell short for this standard of hotel. The room (booked on a super-break reduced rate, admittedly) was too hot and the windows did not open, the shower leaked all over the floor, the wash basin taps were loose. Otherwise the room was large and comfortable. The leisure center is small (pool especially).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyHeadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

As all other reviewers have noted, the building and the location cant be faulted. However... our room service dinner arrived wrong and a bit later than expected - a chicken sandwich NOT a thai green curry. The air conditioner/fan didnt work at all, and yet even when turned off it still made a noise, which combined with the intolerable heat that came from nowhere, ensured we didnt get a wink of sleep. The plumbing is old and cranky, so the water stops and starts of its own accord, and the pipes and toilet continually rattled...and the showerhead was too low for anyone over 5'6! We couldnt wait to get home to be honest, and get a decent nights sleep... on a firm bed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

As the name suggets, this hotel is an old mansion house, albeit, there would appear to have been several extensions over the years to accomodate additional bedrooms. The entrance is imposing, with gargoyles peering down from the gables. All public ares are immaculate and well maintained, but still retain the feeling of aristocracy - a very difficult balance to achieve . Service throughout is very good and efficient, though unobtrusive and friendly. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable, with excellent standards of cleanliness. I enjoyed a very good nights sleep. Perhaps the hotels highlight is the view you enjoy in the morning. It is located directly on the Thames, with acres of lawn sweeping down to the rivers bank. What a pleasure to view the sunrising over the Thames! There was a wide selection for breakfast, all of which looked very appertising. I plumped for the full English option which was both freshly cooked and tasty. The breakfast supervisor was slightly over zealous though. Overall a most enjoyable stay, and one I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,953 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £154 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing