We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy & cosy, with great location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Comfy & cosy, with great location and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel is located in the center of Windsor, just next to the Castle and the shopping area. It is kept in a retro, high-end, cosy style, with deep, plush armchairs and sofas, fireplace next to which you can relax for the whole day sipping on a cider or a hot wine from the bar. The room was spacy and clean, however could use a refurbishing already. The service was very nice and professional. I was visiting in the x-mas season, during which the hotel was decorated and it just felt like staying for the holidays with your loved ones :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamczan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    524
    220
    85
    46
See reviews for
289
765
51
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel is in a perfect position in the centre of Windsor. The rooms are fine although the parking is a little 'tight'. The food and service over the four-day weekend simply could not be faulted - and the music, in a super ballroom, was great!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Room was good, bathroom a little tired and needed a really good clean on the grout to smarten it up a bit, the shower lacked any power and was fixed to the wall but a little too high for a shortie. In fairness I think it needed a re furb rather than not having been cleaned.
There is car parking but it is open to the public which is a nuisance as you can't always get parked - had we realised this then we may have chosen another hotel as we paid a premium to have this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Location cannot be beaten - just over the road from the castle . Own car park is a plus .
Rooms are quite nice from a furnishing point of view . Mattress a bit soft for my liking and bathrooms could do with a refit in all honesty. Flow rate of the shower could have been a bit faster . Service is good though in Bar and restaurant .
Overall price is probably a bit more than it is worth but just about justified by the location - and you'll pay a lot more just down the road .
Second time here ( for business conference ) Would be happy to come again

Room Tip: Try and get a suite upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

From the time you first arrive, you are greeted by friendly staff, great location and comfortable good quality accommodation that ensured we had a good nights sleep after a busy day travelling and sightseeing. With the car park being onsite and central to Windsor high street, we were able to have a very relaxed wander on Sunday morning, check out and travel home - Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here in November when attending a large function in the hotel, which was very convenient. Parking is available at the hotel and it was lovely to be able to walk out into the town and enjoy the sights of Windsor.

However, on arriving in our room we found that it was cold and there was no hot water to the wash hand basin in spite of running the tap for a reasonable length of time. The building is very old and the room was small and looking a little shabby and worn. When we returned to go to bed the staff very kindly provided us with a convector heater. The following morning again after running the water for a while we did achieve hot water in the bathroom. On checking out we mentioned this and were told because of the pipework you needed to run the water for 10 minutes! Get up early if you stay in our room!

The breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryT221111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

There are newer, more "hip" hotels in Windsor but I like the Mercure Castle. The vibe of the hotel is comfortable. It makes me feel like I can relax and put my feet up after a long day at work. I can sit by the fireplace in the lobby and have hot, mulled wine in the winter, then eat some fish & chips in the pub while reading through email that never ends. The rooms are fairly roomy, the beds are comfortable and it's right across from the Castle. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. It's my first choice of hotel when I stay in Windsor.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.5 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing