We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Service, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Service, Good Value”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I booked into this hotel for our first night without children or responsibilites in 11 years so had high hopes. It did not disappoint in many ways apart from the atmosphere in the hotel restaurant for dinner that evening. We booked in 1/2 board and had the valentine dinner which was 5 courses; the dinner was very good apart from a distinct lack of vegetables - it looked very pretty and tasted great but one baby carrot and 1/2 a fondant potato made the ratio of meat to veg just plain wrong. The music in the restaurant was truly dull like the bad 'muzac' in a health spa and the lighting was too low giving a very muted atmosphere.

The service from all was very good, helpful and friendly.

We were given a room at the front of the hotel as we requested which was great with a bed so large that you'd have to make an appointment to meet in the middle. It had all the facilites you could need, nice large towels and good toiletries.

All in all we had a great time but if you're looking for a lively night don't eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel gives you a great view on to the street and we didnt hear any noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gidecus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    533
    228
    88
    46
See reviews for
293
798
52
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We arrived at hotel and found immediately good parking free at rear of hotel, a bonus in Windsor.
Staff friendly at reception, first room we booked was a classic double, when we entered room it was a little dated and tired, but the bed was bijou to say the least, two adults 5'9 and over would barely be able to lie flat on it and not have feet hanging out end. Was so small we immediately went to reception and said it wont work. They showed us a king room and upgraded for a few £ and the room was huge, big bathroom,King bed etc.
Breakfast was good and staff attentive. No problems with hotel, we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rothsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

On behalf of my parents who stayed there. I found a great Xmas deal late last year. They were totally blown away by everything at this hotel! The service standards, the ambience, the food and the special Christmas programme were all excellent in their opinion. The price was a bargain too when compared to other breaks at that time of year. They would definately go back and are certainly considering a return trip next year. 5 star all round!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hubbie treated me to a weekend away a couple of weeks ago and I must say I was really disappointed. We were put in a room in the annexe and the heating was not working, they brought a portable heater but this was not really appropriate with having a young child with us. The room was quite large but tired looking and the shower did not work. Windsor itself was fab.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyG957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Nice hotel, good location. Nothing special, but good for a short trip to Windsor!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is in a great location opposite the castle. We found car parking (free) at the rear of the hotel but I understand this gets full quickly when the hotel is fully booked. Check in was efficient if a little clinical. Room allocated was in the 'new' part of the hotel and overlooked the car park. Room was fine but the bed was so soft..almost like a waterbed! That said, we had a very good night's sleep. Didn't use the bar or restaurant. My only 'gripe' is that for a hotel of its stature and age, it lacked character. The reception had been moved to the back of the hotel in a 1990's glass extension and the old part of the hotel at the front now houses a very quiet lounge and the restaurant. But other than that, can't complain!

Room Tip: Room 510 overlooked the car park and although no great view were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing