We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Windsor Jan 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Mercure Windsor Jan 2014”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Had a very good stay, the staff at checkin were very good, our room was great (we had an executive room). There was a view of the top/ back of castle. the location is excellent, parking was easy as well, but we was staying at a quiet time of year 4th Jan 2014.
Everything seemed clean, the hotel bar is fine, rather comfy, breakfast service and choice was really good. The only negatives I would probably give is our room smelt rather musty/ old/ maybe of stale smoke? they did offer to move us or send house keeping in, but to be honest it did not really bother us too much. Also the general cooked breakfast is self service, which again is ok, you can order freshed cooked specails off the menu as well so an option.
House keeping was excellent, Im afraid I left some of my clothes behind in the wardrobe and they kindly posted them back to me for the postage cost only. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Nicola H,

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you a very good stay with us and will be delighted to share your positive feedback with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    542
    233
    91
    47
See reviews for
304
823
52
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed Jan 8, 2014 for 1 night in lowest class room. Took bus 71 from Heatrow T5 bus-stop Windsor Parish Church (can also take bus 77 that one is faster shorter but not as scenic). People were VERY nice on the bus and at the hotel., Bus stop is 100 ft from hotel (on same side). Wonderfull !
Hotel is very historic, also looked very chic, and there are many category rooms. We had the lowest since we just wanted a place to lay our heads at night before seeing Windsor Castle the next day and then off to Canada and it was fine (bed, a double, a bit small). Free water though (one still and one sparkling).
Suggest you add on breakfast when you check in and they offer to you. Breakfast was 16.95 pounds (reg price..ouch) but we were offered for 10 ea and I think it was worth it. It was a wide range of buffet (seperate room for eggs (sunny side), scrambled, bacon, susages, tomato, mushrooms, hashbrowns...), also cold cuts, cheeses, breads, fruit, cereal in another room, and you could also order a la catre (eggs benedict for example). So take your time when you sit down and read the menu, since we read it at the end and then discovered the a la catre was also inc in the buffet.
It is 1 min walk from Windsor castle (which is HUGE and wonderfull, alllow 2 1/2 hrs and you have seen everyting with audio guide in a comfortable time).
The hotel is right next to McDonald hotel as well (just in case you are looking at that one).
We took a taxi back the next day to airport. It was 20 pounds (20 min) and was 15 min late showing up (Windsor taxis). Next time I will stick to the bus. If you want you can check your large luggage at Heathrow (close to local UK arrivals point) but it is not cheap (might even out taking cab). The busses have a luggage rack though. For 2 people one way it was 6 pounds total.
Note that we had supper (very good ale and fish and chips at the Duchess of Cambridge, can really recommend this place super friendly, great historic pub, close by and friendly prices !).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Traveler009,

Thank you for your recent review and feedback of your experience of the hotel and Windsor. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and found Windsor to be a very enjoyable place. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team and hope we could welcome you back to Windsor in the future. I will follow up the point you raise about Windsor cars with them also as they are our preferred supplier and normally provide an excellent service.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I boooked the New Year gala package for myself, wife and teenage son. The hotel made us very welcome, parked in the hotel car park for a fee, but very safe and would cost more elsewhere and very convenient for luggage. The rooms are cosy and have everything you would expect for the class of hotel. The gala was wonderful and at a mainly adult event my son was made so welcome. The food was of a very high standard and they gave my son special dishes. The lounge is warm and welcoming and has nice refreshments. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff and and issues were immefiately addressed and they make your stay. Breakfast is unsurpassed by anywhere else we stay. Would always use this chain as first preference, have stay in others in the chain and always excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Amory H,

Thank you for your recent review. I will be delighted to share your positive feedback with the team I know they will be delighted with this as we have wonderful feedback from our guests about the New Year event. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back next New Year or even sooner.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Mecure Windsor Castle hotel, for the NYE one night package.
The hotel is right in the centre of Windsor, yards from the castle entrance and opposite a lovely oldy worldy cobbled street......where pubs seemed to outnumber any other establishment!
We spent the afternoon in an Irish pub, The Blarney Stone...great start to our NYE celebrations.
The hotel was large and very comfortable and the staff very accommodating and willing to please.
The rooms were very nice, nothing out of the ordinary but had all the usual necessary facilities.
The NYE meal was lovely but VERY slow in being served, leaving much less time for dancing the New Year in...but with all the extras...crackers, funny hats, poppers etc to make it an all round fun night and we were lucky enough to have great company on our table (we were a group of four close friends) sitting with six others...
Live music, followed by a disco to finish the night off.
We paid extra to leave the car in the hotel car park, £10.00 for the day, so we could visit the castle on NY Day itself and all in all, had a lovely albeit short stay, in Windsor!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Theresa6666,

Thank you for your recent review and feedback. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in Windsor and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great hotel, nice rooms and fantastic location. Railway station at walking distance and if you have a room on main St you have a priviledged seat to all Windsor events. Parking lot is a little problematic, coming by car is discouraged...and also expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuseppe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Giuseppe F,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments in relation to your stay. In relation to car parking we do charge residents £10 per 24 hours which we feel offers the best value parking charges within Windsor which in general has a shortage of parking available. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We have recently enjoyed a fantastic Christmas stay at The Castle Hotel for our extended family. The hotel and it's staff made it the best Christmas ever - it was that good!

Every member if the hotel staff was attentive and tried really hard to ensure we all enjoyed ourselves and appeared to be happy in their work too. The live music entertainment that accompanied the banquet events was very good and we particularly enjoyed Andy's quiz.

The hotel and our room whilst interestingly quirky was very comfortable and clean. Our room overlooked the High Street, but we were not troubled by noise, possibly due to it being quiet over the Christmas period.

A highlight of our 4-day stay was the very good quality of food and wine with the peculiar exception of the Christmas lunch that was uncharacteristically poor.

The Christmas package as a whole was perfect for us in its varied content and even with premium rooms it represented excellent value, we felt. The location of the hotel was also perfect for what we needed, allowing an easy stroll to shops or sights for those moments when we needed a breath of fresh air. The hotel was very well decorated for the Christmas season and the table decorations in the banqueting hall were particularly splendid, all helping convey the feeling of a very comfortable Christmas.

Well done everyone and many thanks!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Andrew L,

Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to read that you had a fantastic Christmas break here with us and your family. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,290 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing