We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and excellent breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very friendly and excellent breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Travelling with a child was no problem for this hotel as they installed a very comfortable sofa bed in our room. The staff were all very friendly, the rooms were comfortable, parking was easy and the breakfast spread was excellent. We took advantage of an online offer so had a room at the back of the hotel but that was fine. Although we paid for breakfast I was very pleased the child's breakfast was free!

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the front of the hotel but expect to pay more for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Barry L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see you had a good stay with us and found the team to be very friendly and enjoyed our breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kinds Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    529
    222
    87
    46
See reviews for
291
779
51
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
180 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights during a biz trip. First time in Windsor. I was upgraded and my room was in the primary part of the hotel, which was nice. Room was spacious enough and certainly had the unique charm of an old historic property. Big step down to the barroom area and big step up into the shower. Not an issue for me but if you are not in perfect health, could be a real issue.
Floors were super creaky, rooms above as well. Thankfully my above room mate was not a dancer or a late night parties so no issues, but I heard from other biz associates who were kept awake by late night folks located above their room.
Overall I liked this hotel and Windsor as well, very neat town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kenuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear kenuga,

Thank you for your review following your 6 night stay with us. I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotel is right in the centre of Windsor close to the castle and is a great hotel in a Georgian building. The staff were great and very helpful. The ladies in the restaurant during the evening meal were just great. All the others were friendly and helpful The room was good although there was no real view and the detitus by the air conditining didn't enhance what view we had. Being an old building it is a bit noisey.
Breakfast good WiFi connection was a bit difficult to connect to and phone reception was patchy

Room Tip: Upgrade to get front rooms but expect some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Wrappo,

Thank you for you recent review, I was delighted you had a good stay with us. I will pass on your positive comments to the team and also look in to the WIFI and phone coverage points you highlight as this not something we normally experience issues with. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were looking for a hotel where we could relax for a weekend after a hectic Christmas, and we had a lovely stay. The reception staff were polite and welcoming, our room was well appointed and the beds were wonderful. We were going to the Theatre that evening so we had dinner at 6.30 to accommodate this, we were on a dinner B & B booking, the food was well presented and very good, as was the wine. Service was polite, timely and non intrusive. As I always panic about being late I asked for our cheese, biscuits and wine to be taken to our room for when we returned, the maitre d asked for our return time and said he would take this to our room 15mins prior to return so it didn't go soft/hard which he did. Wonderful. The following day we had b'fast at 10am, there was an extensive cold buffet and hot buffet which was excellent and as much tea/coffee/toast as you could want (served at table). After leaving our room we relaxed even further in the bar / lounge and topped this stay off with afternoon tea. A lovely stay in the heart of Windsor. A well appointed hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningchorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear TrishandDee,

Thank you for your sharing your positive experience of the hotel. I will be delighted to share your feedback with all of the team who I know will be encouraged by this recognition. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great hotel, perfect location just opposite to Windsor castle.
Very good service, comfortable room.
Tast breakfast with wide selection (cold and hot buffet)
little bit higher price, but probably equal to location and quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaclav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Vaclav H,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about your experience and in particular your mention of our service levels which we work very hard on trying to ensure we achieve with consistency. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have been using trip advisor for a numbers of years as a reference when looking for places to stay and have been putting off writing reviews until now. The Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel was the catalyst to start my trip advisor reviews. Based on previous reviews I decided to stay here for 1 night. Check in was prompt and courteous but unfortunately that is where it ended. As a regular traveler to the UK and Europe I have stayed in numerous hotels. Staying in a 4star hotel you have certain expectations which the 4 star Mercure fails to provide. The bedroom was very disappointing. You do not expect a 4star hotel bedroom to be heated by an oil filled radiator. While the room was clean the decor needs a revamp. The bathroom was cold and the window with the peeling paint needs a once over. Breakfast the next morning was adequate. Maybe I was unlucky with my bedroom allocation but for £219 I expected a lot more. I have stayed in nicer 3 star hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Paul B,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm disappointed that your experience with ourselves was the catalyst to start writing reviews as either myself or my operations manager would have loved to discuss your comments with you. Please be assured we review and discuss all feedback we recieve and will certainly be looking and addressing the comments you raise and highlight within the bedrooom. I hope in the future we could have the chance to welcome you back to deliver the experience I know we are capable of and to which many of our reviews testify.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.5 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing