We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have stayed here before but on this occasion only used the restaurant. My wife and I booked a table via email some weeks before arrival and received an instant response. We arrived at 7.50pm for a 8pm booking and were greeted and seated by a very pleasant young lady. The ambiance, food, drink ant service were second to none. Would recommend this restaurant for a good quality meal anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Clive S,

Thank you for your recent review after dining in the restaurant with us. Thank you for your comments about service and the food quality which I will share with the team whom I know will be encouraged by this. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location - very central and handy for key shops , railway and castle. The room was just about 4 * and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and dinner was swell presented and good - if we did have to wait .
The downside for me was not being able to leave my debit card open to charge services for the room. I don't do credit cards.
Parking was good even though it was £10 a night.

Room Tip: We were across the car park which was fine but not once it began to rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Jane046,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about the team, breakfast and dinner. I will also follow up on the comment you make in relation to debit cards as this is something we should be able to offer. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel whilst visiting the Windsor Horse Show. I had decided to stay here as the weekend was a treat for us both and I didn't want the usual 'Travelodge' type of accommodation. However, that is exactly what we got. Despite the fabulous location and beautiful facade of the building, the hotel is totally without atmosphere. Our room was in the annexe and was satisfactory. The bathroom was small and not fully clean and the water pressure was not good. There was a stain on the floor next to the toilet and on the top near the basin were the rings made from a previous occupants electric tootbrushes. The decor in the bathroom and the room itself was tired and the arm chair in our room needed re padding. Car-parking was available (expensive but this seems to be the norm for hotels in Windsor). It was also slightly disappointing that we had to move our car by midday. Breakfast was satisfactory but the service was not as good as it could have been. Did not have an evening meal there so can not comment on the food. I wish now we had stayed in a Travelodge and saved our money. Would have to think twice about booking the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Michele H,

Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us, I will review your comments with the team and address any of the points you raise.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I am not one for posting lots of reviews as you can see but this hotel and its staff deserve to be recognised. My husband booked this hotel as a birthday surprise and it turned out to be a really lovely one at that. On arrival the staff were aware it was a special occasion and wished me happy birthday. We were told that we were been given an upgrade:). We left our bags and went out for lunch, on returning our bags were in our room along with a card and gift:). That evening we ate in the hotel. The service was very excellent with attention to detail as good as in top London hotels. There was a very nice menu with a good variety on offer. When dessert came i got a specially decorated plate - simple to do I know but it is the little touches that make the difference. The staff were all really pleasant, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. This felt natural and there seemed to be genuine team sprit. Other important items you may want to know.... this is an older hotel with character but very clean and well maintained with the all important comfy beds. The hotel is locate just a couple of hundred yards from the castle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear MPgoes,

Thank you for your recent review, I'm delighted that you had a fantastic birthday break with us. I will ensure I share your feedback with the team whom you recognise within your email as all of the team work hard to try and ensure we give our guests the right experience during their time with us. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night after spending the day at windsor horse show. Our room was clean, beds were comfy, bathroom clean with a good shower! We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Check at 12 noon which is great. And they hold luggage for you if you are still in town after check out time. Which was great as we visited the castle. Hotel perfect location to shops and restaurants. Would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at back of hotel and didn't hear any traffic. Think rooms at front could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clumps82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear clumps82,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about your experience with us. I will be delighted to share this with the team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights - very comfortable and a very short walk to the castle. Right on the high street opposite the guildhall. Very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. Quite a lot of stairs which might be a problem for some people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear amarillo,

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you had a very comfortable stay with us and found the breakfast and the team to be very good. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice hotel located right next to the castle, ideal for a stroll around the town. The hotel was good, the rooms clean, the wifi worked and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bathroom was on the small side but that was only a minor point. Would be happy to stay there again. For the taxi transfer from Heathrow I chose Windsor cars as they were quick and cheaper than a black cab.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecosse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear ecosse28,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about your experience at the hotel. I will be delighted to share this feedback with the team who I know will be encouraged by this. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £104 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing