We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lives up to”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just got back from a nights stay at this lovely little hotel. I was on a business trip with work and had a really nice time. The hotel is literally in the middle of Windsor Town Centre opposite the castle grounds. You couldn't get much closer if you tried. You can walk to the shops, bars and restaurants within minutes.
My twin room was on the small side but was more than comfortable. It had all the usual features - cold water in the fridge, free flapjack, toiletries, hairdryer, TV etc.
The hotel staff were super friendly and looked after our large group really well.
Only downside was the parking was pretty tight but that was just because there was so many in our party. The staff handled this really well anyway and moved all the cars around for us while we checked in. No cocktail menu which was pretty disappointing but they did knock up a great pimms so I was more than happy.
Great value for money - lovely little spot in the middle of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear LucyHutch,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm pleased you and your party had an enjoyable time with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    534
    228
    88
    46
See reviews for
293
799
52
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here, Thursday and Friday. Staff excellent especially Aaron, he was a joy. Well done had a fab time. Food lovely, our room and bathroom small, but very clean and as surrounding area so beautiful you are not in your room very much. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear P M,

Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to see you had a excellent stay with us. I will make sure I share your feedback with Aaron who I know will be pleased to receive this. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, just across the road from Windsor Castle and a short walk to the shops. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I think the rooms could do with an update, especially the carpet and bathrooms. It was a pleasant stay, but for the money it is a little run down.

Room Tip: The Front of the hotel says Castle Hotel so keep this in mind as I was looking for a Mercure sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jill295,

Thank you for your recent review and feedback, especially your comments about the team. We are planning a refurbishment of the hotel from January next year which will address some of the concerns you raise over the bedrooms. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Situated approximately 100 yards from the Windsor Castle main visitors entrance, Mercure Windsor Castle is a superb location for a sightseeing trip. Occupying a much larger facade than a rival hotel chain mere doors away Mercure enjoy a far better position in my opinion. Enjoy the guards procession from your dining table at the front of the hotel or wander down the hill to the theatre or for a stroll alongside the river. Great welcome, car park on site at a rate of £12 per night and a member of staff ready to direct you to a car park space and assist you with your luggage. Breakfast is full English or traditional and even right at the end of the service the food is still fresh and plentiful. Our room was an Executive double which was at the front of the hotel and contained many desirable features including a Nespresso machine and a complimentary soft drinks mini bar. Robes and slippers were available but also an iron and board and well stocked bathroom. All in all great value and unprecedented location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40somethingHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 40somethingHampshire,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and really appreciate your feedback. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked a superior room for the weekend to celebrate my wives birthday. Arrived just after lunch and our room was ready for us upon entering the room hotel had left a birthday card and a box of truffles, very nice touch.

Hotel bar was excellent and the bar manager (I think) a tall scottish gentleman was an absolute star very friendly and chatty and sorted our drinks out for us both nights on returning from dinner. My wife loved her marmalade on toast!

We had bar lunch on the saturday which again was excellent and great value.

Breakfast was hot, tasty and staff friendly and efficient.

All in all a great hotel and a great weekend in Windsor we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear AndySCFC,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the weekend with ourselves for your wifes birthday and will make sure I share your positive comments with the team and Andi our bar manager who you mention. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We went to look around this hotel in view of a function next year. Very attentive staff, all rooms have had a recent refit, suites and upgraded rooms are marvellous. On-site car park. Just on Windsor high st opposite the castle, plenty of shops, pubs & eateries.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Me_Again79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Me_Again79,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments which I will be delighted to share with the team. We look forward to welcoming you next year for your function.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing